Regular price: $27.37

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

His scandal

Her secret

From New York Times best-selling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10 - in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother's home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.

Six years later, thanks to a best-selling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look at the man she married. And when she is asked to defend Jason in court, she realizes that her loyalty to her husband could unearth old secrets.

This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke's Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?

©2018 Alafair Burke (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Xe Sands's delivery grips the listener's imagination and makes Burke's compelling mystery unforgettable." (AudioFile)  

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,839
  • 4 Stars
    1,156
  • 3 Stars
    493
  • 2 Stars
    122
  • 1 Stars
    72

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,832
  • 4 Stars
    835
  • 3 Stars
    432
  • 2 Stars
    188
  • 1 Stars
    107

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,686
  • 4 Stars
    1,018
  • 3 Stars
    471
  • 2 Stars
    132
  • 1 Stars
    77
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great listen

Great story with multiple twist. Love the narration. Don’t hesitate to use a credit on this one.

50 of 50 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

That ending! Holy Cow!

Wow! This was way better than I expected it to be. Don't let the title sway you. This is not generic whatsoever. Highly recommended!

28 of 28 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

Loved it! Ms. Burke is very talented. I can usually figure a book out very quickly. This one kept me guessing .

18 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Alafair Burke’s best book by far

Despite the genre this book is categorized in, as I was listening to it, I thought it was going to be just a drama with a little mystery due to the tone and beginning pace of the story. However, as the story unfolded, new revelations kept emerging and changing the direction of where you thought the story was going. As the story started to wrap up, a backlog of hints came into light and completely altered how and why the events occurred. The character development is so strong and the main character is very intriguing so I never grew disinterested. We also get the perspective of most of the other characters which helped reinforce their roles. I highly recommend this book and of the many Alafair Burke books I’ve read or listened to, this is his strongest in my opinion and definitely my favorite so far.

76 of 80 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Twist s and turns

Alifair Burke 's story is a difficult tale to spin. Expertly told and spoken by a professional reader. Is well worth your time to read to the end. A page Turner for sure.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sense of dread

Ms Burke tells a great story. This was the first of her books I have “read”. I have been an avid reader of her fathers books for years. After finishing his latest, Robicheaux, I gave her book a try. It’s excellent. Her style is of course different from her fathers excellent work. But it is similar in the amazing creation of character and a sense of dread as the mystery unfolds. The main character is very layered and without spoiling the end I liked the way the story ended. Read this. It’s great!

21 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Keeps you engaged, ending felt unfinished

The whole story is intriguing and I found myself switching sides a lot with the plot twists, but was disappointed at the ending, it leaves a lot of questions unanswered.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Surprise ending

I'm afraid to write too much, because I don't want to share any spoilers. I enjoyed it and I would recommend it. I really wasn't sure if I liked the narration or not -- I went back and forth on that. I guess after a while I just got used to it. Midway through the story, I was startled to realize that the main character was in her early 30's, because the voice sounded so much older.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible!

I could not stop listening... The layers to this story make it as good as THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN. I was obsessed. First book in a while that I was sad to be to the end of! Wanted more!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I never saw it coming. Great story!

I thought the characters were well developed and believable. I especially am pleased with the way the author presented diverse characters. It wasn't a blatant show of this character is white or that character is black. The characters were just complex and interesting people. It was a well-put-together and thought out storyline. I loved it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful