adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $34.99

Buy for $34.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the imagination of actor Lou Diamond Phillips (La Bamba, Stargate Universe, Prodigal Son) comes an epic and unforgettable science-fantasy tale.

Two worlds at war will bring them together...or tear them apart.

Everson didn't want to be a soldier. His parents forced him to serve, as all good Indiran men should. The only problem? His first battle against their mortal enemies goes horribly wrong, and he winds up stranded on the enemy planet.

Now, Everson has to survive in this strange new land where everyone is out to get him. Not to mention the planet Mano is covered in unforgiving desert. And he's the target of traitors who want to use him in a dastardly plot to overthrow their mad king, Xander the Firm, by having him retrieve a piece of mysterious and powerful ancient technology known as the Tinderbox.

But everything changes during a chance encounter with the king's daughter, Allegra. Despite her station, she's in as grave of danger from her own people as Everson is. And though their peoples have been at odds for centuries, an unlikely spark forms between them.

As their worlds come crashing down around them, their forbidden love might be the only chance to end this war forever. Or it might just be the doom of everyone....

Imagine the intrigue of Game of Thrones mixed with the star-crossed romance of Romeo and Juliet - but in space! Inspired by Hans Christian Andersen's famous fairy tale of the same name, Soldier of Indira is perfect for fans of Outlander, Dune, Aurora Rising, and Stardust.

Includes a special note from the author.

©2020 Aethon Books (P)2020 Podium Audio

More from the same

What listeners say about The Tinderbox: Soldier of Indira

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    201
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    228
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    183
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Who would have thought?

I never would have guessed that Richie Valen could write. We all know R.C. Bray and Julia Whelan can perform anything, but Lou Diamond Phillips gave them something gorgeous to work with. I would absolutely read another one of these in a heartbeat. More please?

28 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Phillips misses the mark

What could have been an entertaining book slips into a progressive agenda laden work. Phillips could have described the characters so that the readers would be familiar with who they are. But to over and over and over again to focus on the color of their skin was an unfortunate distraction. As with most of those who’s self righteous attempts to bridge social gaps only to create a larger abyss, Phillips work reviles his own bias.

26 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LDP

Beyond impressed with this debut. I’ve heard Lou Diamond has written screen plays, but I had no idea he’d do so well with long form fiction. Well done! Get this book if you are even considering it.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another World has opened up in my imagination

Original and Fresh in many ways. Although I couldn’t imagine a poor product when it was compiled by so much talent.
The best narrators in the earBook biz / an over-achiever in the entertainment field....how could this fail.

You’ll need to get through some of the story’s pacing issues and far-too-fairy-tale events. But that isn’t necessarily a negative.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book experience.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is like a gift unfolding!

Don't you totally love starting a new book? You've already taken an educated guess... you'll probably like it, but you're never sure until you've actually started it! And when you're right, It's like a surprise, a gift unfolding...
I had read/heard that the story was a fairy tale that takes place in space and automatically assumed that it was a retelling of some old story that had been dusted off and given a new grand backdrop of stars and sky, (because currently, retellings seem to be all the rage among fantasy authors.) But! No! To my surprise and delight I discovered a new, completely original piece of literary fiction! A story that can stand up to the test of time, and be rated right up there with the classics!
This is a classic story of star crossed lovers, and the need to set their worlds aright! A story of an age old prophecy... with space ships and guns, castles and swords, superstition and secrets... You might wonder why Lou Diamond Phillips isn't narrating his marvelous tale, but in an interview, he pointed out that the book needed more voices, and RC Bray and Julia Whelan were simply fantastic choices for the narration. They ran with Lou's wonderful tale, all the way to the finish line!
This is the first time I've listened and simultaneously read the Kindle version, just because! And I didn't want to miss the great illustrations included in the book!
5 Gold Stars all Around!!! ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
2 Thumbs Up... WAY UP! 👍👍
You get the idea! 😊

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The When is Where of The Why to See How the Which

If you read this you will know why the when is where of the why to see how the which. Its a child's fantasy book. If that was in audibles description I wouldn't have wasted my time and have to send it back.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An Excellent Debut From an Established Entertainer

Lou Diamond Phillips has created a set of incredibly compelling characters that were magnificently brought to life by the incredible talents of R.C. Bray and Julia Whelan in this novel take on Hans Christian Anderson's classic The Tinder Box. Phillips flawlessly incorporates both classic and pop culture elements that add to the unique nature of his story, despite its established roots. I was drawn in by the magnetic broad swords and the intricate societies and cultures, but I stayed for the humble heroism and emotional intelligence of Phillips' intrepid heroes, who you can't help but root for. An excellent read that I would readily recommend, and I hope to see more from Phillips in the future!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A total surprise.

I got this book because it is written by Lou Diamond Phillips because I wanted to see if he can write as well as he acts. I was surprised for the plot is gripping and captures your interest and holds it as it makes you want to finish the story and outcome. It would be nice to see more of Mr. Phillips talent in his writing so I hope he will have more books coming in the future. Mr. Phillips, well done and continue with the good work for it was a pleasure to hear your book.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Whoever holds the Tinderbox can fulfill prophecy

I have to admit when I heard that Lou Diamond Phillips had written a book I was a bit curious. I saw some of the ratings and decided to check it out. I can say in general I was not disappointed. Overall, very descriptive, well thought out and nice world building. I would be curious to see his next book and hope he continues to grow in his story development.

Two Worlds that were at war. In historical times, they were a united people. Now they have been fighting for so long, they don’t know why. Their technologies and advancements are all geared towards fighting.

There is a prophecy that could possibly end the war. But everyone who has attempted it has failed and died horribly. Everson who is technically a solider but not a good one at that, was deployed on their enemy’s planet on an offensive. The enemy has a trick up its sleeve and they must evacuate. Everson gets separated from the unit and is stranded on the planet by himself. The rest of the story which I will not spoil goes into how he survives and if he is possibly part of the prophecy.

Narrators did a great job. RC Bray as always solid.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a gem

Wonderful storytelling An absolute delight. Great for all ages. Can’t wait for the book from LDP


6 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for karin
  • karin
  • 03-04-21

A little predictable

I expected more, a little slow in places and worn story lines nothing original and fresh .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Martin Smith
  • Martin Smith
  • 03-01-21

Great book

Well crafted story echoing the classic folk tale, with a great performance from both narrators very enjoyable

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elmamaria
  • Elmamaria
  • 01-28-21

Loved it

Loved the characters and the different indigenous people. Especially loved Taj(sp?) The tech divide between the two planets was interesting and the way it was all resolved was great. A happy ending. I totally recommend it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr Michael J Price
  • Mr Michael J Price
  • 11-08-20

Fractured Fairy Tale

The author has taken Hans Christian Anderson's short story "The Tinderbox" and reset it in a futuristic science fiction world, where the Dogs are not canine but acronyms for a greater technology and the "Which" was a seer, rather than the usual type.. I am accustomed to reading science fiction that has more basis in science than this book, which is much more fairy tale than science. How can a planet be split in two and yet the two halves be restored to habitability? Nevertheless I found the book entertaining and enjoyable.