Sample

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Tinderbox: Soldier of Indira  By  cover art

The Tinderbox: Soldier of Indira

By: Lou Diamond Phillips
Narrated by: R.C. Bray, Julia Whelan
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $33.90

Buy for $33.90

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

From the imagination of actor Lou Diamond Phillips (La Bamba, Stargate Universe, Prodigal Son) comes an epic and unforgettable science-fantasy tale.

Two worlds at war will bring them together...or tear them apart.

Everson didn't want to be a soldier. His parents forced him to serve, as all good Indiran men should. The only problem? His first battle against their mortal enemies goes horribly wrong, and he winds up stranded on the enemy planet.

Now, Everson has to survive in this strange new land where everyone is out to get him. Not to mention the planet Mano is covered in unforgiving desert. And he's the target of traitors who want to use him in a dastardly plot to overthrow their mad king, Xander the Firm, by having him retrieve a piece of mysterious and powerful ancient technology known as the Tinderbox.

But everything changes during a chance encounter with the king's daughter, Allegra. Despite her station, she's in as grave of danger from her own people as Everson is. And though their peoples have been at odds for centuries, an unlikely spark forms between them.

As their worlds come crashing down around them, their forbidden love might be the only chance to end this war forever. Or it might just be the doom of everyone....

Imagine the intrigue of Game of Thrones mixed with the star-crossed romance of Romeo and Juliet - but in space! Inspired by Hans Christian Andersen's famous fairy tale of the same name, Soldier of Indira is perfect for fans of Outlander, Dune, Aurora Rising, and Stardust.

Includes a special note from the author.

©2020 Aethon Books (P)2020 Podium Audio

What listeners say about The Tinderbox: Soldier of Indira

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    271
  • 4 Stars
    97
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    309
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    244
  • 4 Stars
    78
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

It’s very rare to get a book that has a moral message in it as well as some amazing fiction. The story is a big of an allegory but who knew that Lou Diamond Phillips was/is such a prolific author? The performance is amazing and the story is top notch.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fun & Interesting!

The story was interesting enough to keep me going, wanting to hear what is next.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good read, strongly recommend!

I was first drawn to this book by the author and knowledge of his acting career and ability to portray his characters so well.
Good read. Well written and built! Thank you.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

enjoyable read

overall I enjoyed the story. a few earth terms snuck in which felt jarring. with the rich world and vocabulary created to hear human used seemed odd

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

homerun

tinderbox was outstanding. the battle between good and evil, light and dark played out wonderfully. and the narrating duo of rc and Julia again brings the story and characters to life. well done!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A total surprise.

I got this book because it is written by Lou Diamond Phillips because I wanted to see if he can write as well as he acts. I was surprised for the plot is gripping and captures your interest and holds it as it makes you want to finish the story and outcome. It would be nice to see more of Mr. Phillips talent in his writing so I hope he will have more books coming in the future. Mr. Phillips, well done and continue with the good work for it was a pleasure to hear your book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sci fi meets Fairy Tale

Wasn’t sure I liked it until 1/2 way through and could not stop listening. A good break from my usual military sci fi focus.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall