adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $16.95

Buy for $16.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Supernatural meets The Boys.

Hemorrhoid cream commercials or monster hunting?

He’s your average, struggling LA model just trying to book his next gig. When John finds out that the supernatural live among us, it's game on.

Sign-twirling and rideshare-driving while waiting for his next casting call soon take a backseat to hunting the supernatural for a pretty penny.

But not all is as straightforward as it may seem. There are those close to John who are more than they're letting on and that spells trouble for our reluctant hero - big trouble.

For fans of Larry Correia's Monster Hunters International, Jim Butcher's Dresden Files, and M.D. Massey's Junkyard Druid comes your next romp in the graveyard. 

Buy the audiobook and start listening now!

©2020 Archimedes Books (P)2021 Archimedes Books

What listeners say about The Suck: A Supernatural Monster Hunt

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I like it

one of my favorite parts is the girl scout talk. the mom was like please quit talking and John was like,and another thing. lol looking forward to the next audiobook.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Where have "All the Men Gone!"

I liked this book... But did not like the hint that a man is not a man. this character seem to a cross between both sex. For me with 24 yrs of service and 70 yrs of living, You are either Man or Women not both... Cry babies don't rule they get destroyed!!! "An Old Soldiers impression!" Thank You

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A MUST LISTEN TO BOOK

This is a first time read by this author for me and I listen to 3 to 5 books a week if I could give more stars I would. I absolutely love this series so far I'm on book 2 now and it's even better than the first book. what you get is a very well written book I love books that you can't pick a favorite character because there all written well they have issues and flaws and you'll want to know about each one. there's action and lots of humor. far to many time an author will try to hard in the humor or action nope not here the story flows perfectly no drawn out areas at all well balanced and WILL not let you put it down. the only issue I do have is that it's taking far to long for the Audible book to come out really wish this wasn't so . the performance is outstanding Barnett is so so good he has this voice that reals you in and brings a book to life. truly a magical duo Yanez writing with Barnett narration this was a home run. Highly recommend.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Better Than I Anticipated

I am a big fan of this genre and was looking for something similar to Monster Hunters International, Bubba the Monster Hunter and the G.O.A.T Harry Blackstone Dresden. This could potentially turn into that kind of series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

John is everyone's hero

There are a few slow parts but this book still keeps you guessing. I'll definitely check out the next in the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fun ride

So, first of all....how can you not like a book titled The Suck? heh. I enjoyed the premise of the book, and that it didn't get bogged down in describing & detailing supernatural creatures. The fight scenes were great. The snark was outstanding. The characters were genuine, with plenty of room for future development. They also didn't go from novice to pro fighters in one book - they got their butt kicked while attempting to do good. There is some mystery with 'The Court' and other organizations (again - plenty for future books). I also now want a hell hound. If you enjoy UF, books with more than just fight scenes and MC who mope around and then go from zero to hero instantly, this book is for you.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

1st in series Urban Fantasy

Interesting and humorous a fun urban fantasy story. First in series so a lot of world building in the beginning. Story includes Models, Actors, Vampires, Witches, Hellhounds and Hunters.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Just not quite there

The synopsis compares this to Dresden or Monster Hunters….nope it is not the same class. It just feels a little scattered ….like it has too many random story lines. I despise that the main character keeps getting called stinky by the incoming love interest …. Are they 12?!?

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Action packed

The story was a little slow getting started, but I understand why it was necessary. There is a lot of fighting/action. I liked the characters. It took a minute to get used to the narrator, but he did a great job keeping my interest and making it easy to listen to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the suck: a supernatural hunt

this is a great book, that's going to be a great series! I've started listening to the beginning of the second book already & I thought Steven Barnett did a great job on the 1st book, but he's even better on the second one! his female voices r excellent & u have no problem telling the difference between each character. and the story kept me involved the whole time w no boring parts. I'm totally enjoying this series & highly recommend it!!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark “Tom” Clancy
  • Mark “Tom” Clancy
  • 04-21-22

Great Supernatural Monster Hunter book

So I started listening to this book with a little trepidation as this normally isn’t my genre of choice and I was glad I decided to give it a listen , it took me a little time to get into it but when I did I found a highly enjoyable story, which builds a world as it progresses and introduces us to another side to life. Jonathan the author has done a fine job with this book and the narrator Steven adds to the characters without going over the top. Well done all on a fantastic story and I look forward to listening to more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debbie McLean
  • Debbie McLean
  • 11-20-21

Great

I admit I want sure about this book by the title but as an avid listener I decided to give it a go and was pleasantly surprised about how good it actually was.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lorna
  • Lorna
  • 03-31-21

Funny and entertaining!!

This book drew me in straight away and I was there alongside Johnny, Evan and Shannon. Vampires and other things exist as Johnny finds out when he sees his room mate Evan feeding on a girl. However Evan is a 'good vampire'. Chaos ensues as Johnny makes friends with Shannon, Mrs Grundy and Odin the very large dog with yellow eyes. No spoilers here but it's just a fabulous book. Plenty of action and storyline. I even cried a little bit near the end.
The narrator is easy to listen to and I enjoyed his take on the characters. I was sad when the book had finished and there wasn't another one out yet.