Regular price: $20.97

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Stephen R. Covey's The 7 Habits of Highly Successful People and M. Scott Peck's The Road Less Traveled, motivational speaker and author Steve Chandler's personal growth gem transcends all categories to impact psychology, business, self-help, and contemporary social commentary.

For the first time in history, listeners have a definitive audiobook on what keeps them from succeeding. Chandler breaks new ground with his startling revelations and fresh interpretations about people as diverse as Elvis Presley, Van Gogh, Governor Bill Richardson, actor Tyrese Gibson, Dr. Andrew Weil, Hugh Hefner, Mark Twain, and the biblical character Lazarus.

By exposing people's stories as the most false and limiting part of their lives, Chandler invites you into a new world of action and creative accomplishment.

©2006 Steve Chandler (P)2007 BBC Audiobooks America

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    7

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wish I had this at 20 years old

Intuitively I knew we made up stories about ourselves and Steve chandler really makes it clear how ridiculous it is to stay stuck in a story we didn't choose, write or even like! Now I have to rewrite my story (again) perhaps daily as he suggests and impart this wisdom to my child and students. Thank you Steve!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Powerfully insightful and practical advice!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Absolutely! All of Steve Chandler's works that I have read or to which I've listened are down to earth advice from a man who once struggled with life's challenges, but who has become the answer man for over 30 Fortune 500 companies, as well as motivational speakers, success coaches, and the common man, like me.

Anyone who listens and experiments with what Steve brings them, are bound to find more satisfaction and productivity in their lives.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes.

Any additional comments?

If you want your life to become more awesome in every way, buy this book!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Andre
  • irvine , CA, USA
  • 11-25-09

He should've called this "Dull Story"

I made the mistake of not listening to the sample first....this worst sesame street version of psychology I've ever heard...and the authors voice just make you want scream...I made it through 30 minutes..and deleted it..

3 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

BORING and annoying VOICE!!!

Omg I should of got a refund ASAP ughhhh I tried to listen BUT THAT VOICE!!!!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful