adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP

Try our newest plan – unlimited listening to select audiobooks, Audible Originals, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
$7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.97

Buy for $20.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Stephen R. Covey's The 7 Habits of Highly Successful People and M. Scott Peck's The Road Less Traveled, motivational speaker and author Steve Chandler's personal growth gem transcends all categories to impact psychology, business, self-help, and contemporary social commentary.

For the first time in history, listeners have a definitive audiobook on what keeps them from succeeding. Chandler breaks new ground with his startling revelations and fresh interpretations about people as diverse as Elvis Presley, Van Gogh, Governor Bill Richardson, actor Tyrese Gibson, Dr. Andrew Weil, Hugh Hefner, Mark Twain, and the biblical character Lazarus.

By exposing people's stories as the most false and limiting part of their lives, Chandler invites you into a new world of action and creative accomplishment.

©2006 Steve Chandler (P)2007 BBC Audiobooks America

What listeners say about The Story of You (and How to Create a New One)

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    225
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    176
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    199
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Comes across as very smug and disingenuous

I'm not going to focus on the narrator/author's voice, which to me was monotone, slurred, and very difficult to follow, but rather the way his attitude toward people just rubbed me the wrong way.

In his own words, he cites multiple examples of talking down to people, calling them "liars" and even mocking them for not doing as well in business post-9/11 as he did. Much of this book seems to just be the author stroking his own ego and acting smug and condescending toward others.

At one point, he talks about a family who lost everything in Hurricane Katrina and how a church and family in Maryland stepped in to help by putting them up in a renovated farmhouse, rent-free. He went into very specific detail of how the family trashed the house and how the "modern media" spun the story to make them out to be victims, he even went so far as to make fun of a psychologist by sarcastically quoting him as saying "the family was acting quite normally and naturally". However, he never offered up their side of the story.

So I did some research and found out that church members would "come into their house and not knock and tell them it was time to get up and not to sleep so late" (this quote was from Rosalind Blakey, who connected the two families through her grassroots organization, Home Resources Services).

It's hard to find all of the details, so I really don't know the whole story, but the fact that the author presented a very biased and condescending version of events to go along with just a terrible attitude toward the family was more than enough to convince me to stop listening and write this review.

There are better books by better authors who don't put others down for their own self-gratifying purposes. Steer clear of this one!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Most life altering book I have ever heard

I recently became disabled have chronic pain... here comes the story! After Listening to this book, I will put down my story. My depression ADHD (he also addresses how to get motivated when you don’t feel like it, and how to keep going when your thoughts are to stop) , I could go on, but it’s not my story Amy more. I have control. I am not the victim. Oh how I needed others to understand my story and it was devastating if they didn’t. Now I live I put down my story, my duffle bag of rocks, it’s not going to be easy. But not as difficult as what I’ve been through IE telling myself and thereby reliving.

Thank you

I did have to speed it up to 1.2x pace as he does speak slowly. However that’s just my perception!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Eye 👁 Opening Presentation

I love this book! The psychology and points are spot on. I particularly enjoy the part on fundraising! I plan on listening to it again.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pleasant, well prepared material

I’d listen longer! I’ll listen again as I’m sure I’ll gain more helpful pointers. Steve really disliked Bill Richardson’s story, but still time we’ll spent.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just one of many great lessons from Steve Chandler!

F*ing fantastic. Pretty sure Steve Chandler is my spirit animal. You might read the title and decide to dismiss it. Don’t. It’s gold. And if you’re not familiar with Steve Chandler’s life or work… I strongly suggest you familiar rise yourself with it. I would love for this man to be my coach in life. What a genuine soul. He’s also in tune with the way the Universe actually works, despite what the drudgery of our day-to-day lives and the people that control those lives want us to believe. Just listen to it. It’s amazing. And follow it with “Hands off manager” and “100 Ways to Create Wealth” anf “The Prosperous Coach” and any other book he’s had a part in. Especially if he’s read it in audio form... there’s something about having HIM deliver the content that cuts through and makes it all more authentic. I’ve never felt so connected to a personal improvement author... this dude really cares, and he’s the real deal, and I’m my career I’ve implemented some of the action items he outlines and it has made me a better leader and teammate because of it. Listen. But more importantly... DO!! It’s all about the understanding, embracing, and the hardest part... the doing. DO IT.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Helping me rewrite my story with a better understanding of my life. I highly recommend this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen

We'll worth learning your story to find out how to be the best you. You won't be disappointed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wish I had this at 20 years old

Intuitively I knew we made up stories about ourselves and Steve chandler really makes it clear how ridiculous it is to stay stuck in a story we didn't choose, write or even like! Now I have to rewrite my story (again) perhaps daily as he suggests and impart this wisdom to my child and students. Thank you Steve!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Powerfully insightful and practical advice!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Absolutely! All of Steve Chandler's works that I have read or to which I've listened are down to earth advice from a man who once struggled with life's challenges, but who has become the answer man for over 30 Fortune 500 companies, as well as motivational speakers, success coaches, and the common man, like me.

Anyone who listens and experiments with what Steve brings them, are bound to find more satisfaction and productivity in their lives.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes.

Any additional comments?

If you want your life to become more awesome in every way, buy this book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Read this if you are ready to wake up & live!!!

One of the most enlightening books I've ever experienced. When the student is ready....