Regular price: $28.51

Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free, plus 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals to get you started.
  • After trial, you'll get 3 titles each month: 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals of your choice.
  • Don't like your audiobook? Swap it for free.
  • Cancel anytime and keep your audiobooks.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

With echoes of the alchemy of Practical Magic, the lushness of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt, and the darkly joyful wickedness of the Witches of East End, Ellen Herrick's debut novel spins an enchanting love story about a place where magic whispers just beneath the surface and almost anything is possible if you aren't afraid to listen.

The Sparrow Sisters are as tightly woven into the seaside New England town of Granite Point as the wild sweet peas that climb the stone walls along the harbor. Sorrel, Nettie, and Patience are as colorful as the beach plums on the dunes and as mysterious as the fog that rolls into town at dusk.

Patience is the town healer, and when a new doctor settles into Granite Point he brings with him a mystery so compelling that Patience is drawn to love him even as she struggles to mend him. But when Patience Sparrow's herbs and tinctures are believed to be implicated in a local tragedy, Granite Point is consumed by a long-buried fear - and its 300-year-old history resurfaces as a modern-day witch hunt threatens. The plants and flowers, fruit trees and high hedges begin to wither and die, and the entire town begins to fail; fishermen return to the harbor empty handed, and blight descends on the old elms that line the lanes.

It seems as if Patience and her town are lost until the women of Granite Point band together to save the Sparrow. As they gather, drawing strength from each other, will they be able to turn the tide and return life to Granite Point?

The Sparrow Sisters is a beautiful, haunting, and thoroughly mesmerizing novel that will capture your imagination.

©2015 Ellen Herrick (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    90
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

plants hold magic

I enjoyed this book very much. I believe in the magic of plants and the people who hold the gift to use them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderfully written and performed

As readers/listeners, it can be hard to find the type of story that fits, but this one definitely hit the mark for me. Its the type of story that, as you go through gives you bits and pieces of the characters so that you have an overall view of what's going on and at the same time you get to watch the story unfold as the characters figure things out.

Fans of Deliverance Dane and Practical Magic will love this book as it is a mystery with a subtle hint of magic. In a day and age where herbs and herbalism are becoming more acceptable but still have trepedation surrounding them, this story is a good example of these clashing opinions.

I finished this within a day, sad that it wasn't longer, but am just about to purchase the second book in this series.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Good narrator, weak story

Cassandra Campbell has a lovely voice that enhances everything she narrates, but she can't make this debt novel anything more than what it is....a first attempt at magical fiction. Alice Hoffman does MF so much better. Maybe this author will improve with practice, but I just found this story predictable and unenchanting.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not terrible but slow and so many technical issues.

Not a horrible but, in my opinion, not worth a credit. I hate how disrespectful he is about herbal options. How he can’t even fathom the concept that no, of course it’s not magic! Digitalis is a perfect example of how often our pharmaceuticals started with plants. Yup, sometimes we need antibiotics. But sometimes other things can work too. He doesn’t even consider that he could look up the safety and efficacy of some options.

Then there’s SO many HIPPA violations that are like... incredibly serious.

Also, authors SERIOUSLY need to get some actual information before they talk about birth and homebirths (also that homeopathy isn’t the same as herbalism, but I digress). First, he acts like it’s super concerning that her contraction pattern is accelerating so soon after her water breaks. Newsflash - THATS NORMAL! While membranes can rupture at any point in birth, or even not at all, it’s MOST common for it to happen at the onset of transition. At which point birth is usually eminent. Also, if you’re planning an out of hospital birth, your care provider (usually a midwife but in this case a dr) has very specific instructions. LIKE TELLING THEM WHEN YOURE IN LABOR! There’s NO way that any sane mom, who knows she’s in labor, putz around the office for HOURS without letting her Dr know she’s in labor when the dr has to leave what she’s doing and come to her.
I was OUTRAGED (like I would have smacked him for it later and that would have been the end of any relationship) when he tells her to shut up upon encouraging the mother that she’ll be ok without pain meds. Not because she’s against mom having meds but because options are limited and she needs to feel encouraged. Really!? She (mother) is OBVIOUSLY FINE and so telling her helper to shut up is so inappropriate. THEN he wants to brush off her thistle for milk supply. Uh- dude, modern medicine is almost completely useless if a mom struggles with nursing and milk supply, thistle really IS one of the best options. The info on the birth in particular... of you’re going to write an out of hospital birth, could you please, I don’t know, talk to a freaking out of hospital midwife.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful & magical story of healing & remorse.

Loved this story of a close knit family of 3 sisters & a small town. Lots of magical emotions, friendships & forgiveness.

Narrator was spot on with her timing & emotion.

I am going to find the sequel right away!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fun

This was a fun listen. Nothing to learn from, but fun none the less. A good chewing gum book.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Easy

While I enjoyed this book, I already had it figured out within the first few chapters. It is still worth listening too if you figure it out

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

both need to work with a different genre.

This book was picked for me by my book club. The synopsis sounded like it could be OK but it wasn't really.
The story was lacking. There was an incident that really. old have added a nice climax to the book that just dropped dead. The characters were very one dimensional like the author had a good idea for a book but never really explored or learned about the characters she was writing about. It is very evident that this is her first book.
The performance and book together remind me of more historical fiction instead of something modern. The whole time while listening I was picturing something entirely different and then forced to come back to reality when this gs like cell phone and Iraq War were thrown I .
I didn't hate but I wouldn't recommend it. Writer needs to take more time with the next book.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Unfulfilled

I purchased this book hoping for magical intrigue and it completely fell short. Although I did finish the book nothing about it truly gripped me. I'm a huge fan of Sara Addison Allen and so many reviews compared this book to her style and I was left waiting page after page for that to become apparent to me. I felt very let down by the plot and how it ended spinning into a court battle. There were so many opportunities for this book to have taken a different path and I finished it hoping that would happen. Needless to say I was left wishing I had made a better purchase.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Boring and ridiculous

Its not like I can't be into a story that has some other worldy aspects to it. This book was boring and the lead character was whiney. I was just so tired of hearing this character contstantly whining about her :gift" . This book is sold as a mystery, thriller but not so much. More of a romance that kinda sucks. Don't waste your credit on this one.