• The Silver Ladies of Penny Lane

  • By: Dee MacDonald
  • Narrated by: Judy Sweeny
  • Length: 9 hrs and 19 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (113 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Silver Ladies of Penny Lane  By  cover art

The Silver Ladies of Penny Lane

By: Dee MacDonald
Narrated by: Judy Sweeny
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $12.10

Buy for $12.10

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Tess and Orla have been best friends throughout most of their adult lives. So when life gave them lemons and their loved ones let them down, they pooled their resources and bought a dressmakers shop on the corner of Penny Lane. And they’ve been doing just fine ever since.

But one day, while studying her tired eyes and shapeless figure in the mirror, 62-year-old Tess realised that she doesn’t want her life to be just fine anymore. She wants it to be extraordinary. For as long as she can remember she’s put everyone else first. Now she wants to rediscover herself - and experience the kind of whirlwind adventure that will have the power make her smile when she’s confined to the armchair of a retirement home.

With the encouragement of fun-loving and quirky Orla, Tess joins an over-the-hill dating agency, and the two friends book a singles cruise around the Mediterranean. And that’s when their adventure of a lifetime really begins.... 

A totally uplifting, heartwarming, hilarious listen about embracing the moment, learning to love again and the joy of second chances. Perfect for fans of The Kicking the Bucket List and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.

©2019 Dee MacDonald (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about The Silver Ladies of Penny Lane

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Just OK.

As chick-lit novels go, this is an acceptable one. At least the subject matter is original, in that it deals with older women (not the usual, cliche' 20-something space-cadet girl who fumbles around until Mr.-Right-and-Together comes to make her life great).
The end felt really rushed; while other parts (such as the description of a trip to Greece, for example) were unnecessarily long and wearisome.
The thing that bothered me the most was the reading style of the performance. Judy Sweeny syllabicates her words and slows her sentences as if she were an old librarian reading to three-year-olds. It ruined the enjoyment of listening to the book for me.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Caution: Dieting and fatphobia

I read another title by this author, The Getaway Girls, and absolutely adored it. I liked the general storyline of this book but there is a LOT of discussion of dieting and of course the main character only achieves happiness when she’s lost weight. If you’re looking for a book that lets you know you’re beautiful at any size, this ain’t it! Very disappointed.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book

Beautifully spoke. It was a great story from start to finish. Had me hooked for hrs of happy listening.
Characters were warm and real.
I loved it .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

Don’t usually like doing audio books but really enjoyed this one. Keep my interest throughout.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Funny well-written and read

Fun story the book a well-written and read with a great flair to portray the characters. Well done!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So enjoyable!

You cant help but to fall in love with all the book ,so sweet !

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

third book I've read by this author

I read the the authors stand alone book and the first book in this series. Sadly, I must confess I did not enjoy this one. Connie's two traveling companions are not likable to me. After three books of 60 and 70 year old women obsessing about their looks and ogling men of all ages I was steadily becoming disenchanted with this writer.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Come for the fat phobia, stay for the sexism and casual date rape!

The entirety of the storyline not to mention the way that the author describes the heroines and the other people in the book made me extremely uncomfortable. Every page was dripping with fat phobic remarks and sexist ideals about womanhood being a quest for beauty in search of a man. Barf. I would have immediately returned it and not finished, except my book club has a rule that you can’t rank the book unless you actually finish it. I really wanted for the story to turn around and not be a ridiculous farcical tale about a perfectly capable independent woman dragging herself through the mud to fit an unrealistic beauty ideal and find an escort to her daughter’s wedding, but it did not! Do not recommend the story, I will never read this author again, and I hope everyone who comes across this book knows that these are completely inappropriate ways to talk about other people and themselves. I’d give it zero out of five if I could.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Life begins after 60

Fun story about how you are never too old to find a perfect match.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sassy silver story

Really cute story, enjoyed listening - a little peek into Tess’s reality. She wants to enrich her life although she’s not sure what she’s looking for exactly, and her journey is fun

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trevelyan
  • Trevelyan
  • 04-19-21

Absolutely lovely!

A really enjoyable, funny romp. Loved the ladies and their friendship. Must go on a diet!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-13-19

Another gen m

Another great story from this author I love the characters and the story made me chuckle sonny times.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janet Alderson
  • Janet Alderson
  • 09-30-19

Disappointed

So disappointed in this audio book! Loved The Runaway Wife and The Getaway Girls, really good listens, great narration, lots of laugh out loud moments. The Silver Ladies didn’t flow, couldn’t really follow the story, had to grit my teeth and stick it out just to complete the book! The narration was terrible, accents appalling, pronunciation was laughable! Sounded like it was read by Anita Manning off Bargain Hunt!! So disappointed!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for R. Red
  • R. Red
  • 08-17-19

Drivel.

Drivel.......hard to think of something positive about this book. Don’t bother. Runaway wife is so different as if not written by the same person.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rory
  • Rory
  • 07-14-19

I liked it

Good storyline until the predictable ending.

I liked the characters and was interested what happened to them.