adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.81

Buy for $15.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the war against Hitler, every secret counts....

Society heiress Evelyn Brooke-Edwards is a skilled interrogator - her beauty making her a non-threat in the eyes of the prisoners.

Farm girl Betty Connors may not be able to type as she claimed, but her crack analytical skills soon find her unearthing covert connections.

German ex-pat Judith Stern never expected to find herself listening in to German POWs' whispered conversations, but the Nazis took her father from her, so she will do whatever it takes to help the Allies end this war.

Billeted together in the attic of Latimer House - a place where secrets abound - Evelyn, Betty and Judith soon form a bond of friendship that carries them through the war. Because nothing is stronger than women united.

Tucked away in the Buckinghamshire countryside, Latimer House, a grand country estate, stands proudly - a witness to some of greatest secrets of WW2.

Used by the SOE to hold Nazi prisoners of war, this stunning historical novel is inspired by the untold story of the secret listeners of ‘M Room’, who worked day and night to help the Allies win the war. A must-listen for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Fiona Valpy and Kate Quinn.

©2021 Jules Wake (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"Shines a light on a part of the British war effort I’d previously not been aware of...a fascinating, informative and heartwarming novel, and I loved it." (Sunday Times best seller Jill Mansell) 

What listeners say about The Secrets of Latimer House

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Story

It's a decent story; maybe a bit predictable, but good. I enjoyed it, & the narration is good. One historical problem - they refer to the USAF. The USAF wasn't called that til a couple years after WWII, I believe. Overall, a pretty good listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I loved every moment of this book! The story and characters are great and the narrator does such a great job with all the voices, it's almost like having a full cast!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

How many times can one roll ones’ eyes and sigh?

I can sum this book up in five words…
HARLEQUIN ROMANCE SET IN WWII. Do with it as you may!