Regular price: $31.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The New York Times and number-one internationally best-selling author of The Keeper of Lost Causes delivers his most captivating and suspenseful Department Q novel yet - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson.

Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q, Copenhagen's cold cases division, meets his toughest challenge yet when the dark, troubled past of one of his own team members collides with a sinister unsolved murder.

In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. The case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide investigation from over a decade ago, but the connection between the two victims confounds the police. Across town a group of young women are being hunted. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery.

Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors' expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After an earlier breakdown, their colleague Rose is still struggling to deal with the reemergence of her past - a past in which a terrible crime may have been committed. It is up to Carl, Assad, and Gordon to uncover the dark and violent truth at the heart of Rose's childhood before it is too late.

©2017 Jussi Adler-Olsen (P)2017 Penguin Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    867
  • 4 Stars
    289
  • 3 Stars
    83
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    950
  • 4 Stars
    174
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    756
  • 4 Stars
    281
  • 3 Stars
    98
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    8
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Torn, but great

Disclaimers: Adler-Olsen is one of my top three favorite authors. He never lets me down. Also, unless you have read some of the previous books in this series, it may seem lack luster. (If you are discerning because compared to most other in the genre, even this one stands out.)

On one hand, this latest Department Q edition is the weakest in terms of the mystery/suspense. Even though you have more than one mystery to solve, five to be precise, they aren't as complex and intriguing as the crimes of past books. Plus, I didn't enjoy some of the cliche pot twist tricks.

On the other hand, c'mon this is about Department Q! This book focused more on the characters I have grown to love. It's clear that the relationships are becoming deeper, more real and more sincere. And, still can offer humor. I anticipate that the next one (PLEASE BE A NEXT ONE) will continue on this track.

All in all, when it ended I wanted more. This is a series I continue to support wholeheartedly.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rena
  • Silver Spring, MD
  • 10-07-17

Wonderful as always

Piquant interesting characters, fascinating subplots, and lines that motivate a burst of laughter. The author is at the peak of his talent. Don’t miss out on him.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Stevon
  • Tempe, AZ, United States
  • 01-22-18

Jussi does it again

I really like this series, in fact, I've given my wife and kids the first two books in the series for Christmas presents, one each of the last two years. They've read them and like the series now as well.

As the author develops the characters of the individuals that make up Dept Q, you get more and more into their personalities. It has reached the point with me where Dept Q is as much of the story as the cold case being solved. This book does nothing but add to this and it's done in a seamless, creative way.

In this story there is a serial killer that is going around Copenhagen doing hit and runs that are killing people. As the case evolves Dept Q is drawn in and the current crimes are tied back to some old unsolved crimes, just what brings out the best in Dept Q. Rose plays a key role in this story but not at all in the way you might expect.

I could see this book being turned into a movie someday. It has lots of moving parts and is ingenious in the way it's put together. Bravo to Jussi Adler-Olsen.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Oh Rose....<br />

I very much enjoyed this story. It was very suspenseful ; just the right amount and not as gut-wrenching as maybe one or two in the past; in this series.

We got to know a lot more about Rose. Now if we could just uncover Assad's secrets! And what's the deal with Hardy now? And isn't there more to his original shooting?

Looking forward to more! Thank you for the boredom-free commute, Jussi Adler-Olsen.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good follow on book in Dept Q series

Following the story was a little confusing early on. I like Dept Q series due to the interactions of Carl, Assad, Rose, and Gordon in solving cases, but this book spends the early quarter or so on lengthy flashbacks. Finally got interesting midway thru. The book does provide answers to Rose's problems. Still looking forward to the next installment. I was disappointed in the Danish TV version...gives short shrift to Carl in particular.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous!

Department Q novels are the best for every emotion known. It is a wonderful ride.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Screwy Good!

Plot, plus nonsense, plus character, plus humor = great ride! Why do these snow bound nuts write so well? Wish there were more!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Story + Performance = Excellence

That's it in a nutshell--how would Assad say that?
Eagerly waiting for next book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Adler-Olsen does it again!

This latest installment of "Department Q" was just as intriguing and suspenseful as the others. With heart , ntelligence and even humor he weaves a story that ,while multifaceted,
explores the interconnections between events and the diverse characters involved. The narration is excellent and perfectly suited to the characters, setting and their individual personalities. I couldn't have enjoyed it more!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Terrific story!

Loved it! Karl and the boys and girls are better than ever. Go Dept. Q!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful