The Scarred Woman

Department Q, Book 7
Narrated by: Graeme Malcolm
Series: Department Q, Book 7
Length: 14 hrs and 26 mins
4.6 out of 5 stars (1,605 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.50

Buy for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The New York Times and number-one internationally best-selling author of The Keeper of Lost Causes delivers his most captivating and suspenseful Department Q novel yet - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson.

Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q, Copenhagen's cold cases division, meets his toughest challenge yet when the dark, troubled past of one of his own team members collides with a sinister unsolved murder.

In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. The case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide investigation from over a decade ago, but the connection between the two victims confounds the police. Across town a group of young women are being hunted. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery.

Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors' expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After an earlier breakdown, their colleague Rose is still struggling to deal with the reemergence of her past - a past in which a terrible crime may have been committed. It is up to Carl, Assad, and Gordon to uncover the dark and violent truth at the heart of Rose's childhood before it is too late.

©2017 Jussi Adler-Olsen (P)2017 Penguin Audio

What listeners say about The Scarred Woman

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,100
  • 4 Stars
    373
  • 3 Stars
    109
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,201
  • 4 Stars
    219
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    964
  • 4 Stars
    353
  • 3 Stars
    120
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    11

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Torn, but great

Disclaimers: Adler-Olsen is one of my top three favorite authors. He never lets me down. Also, unless you have read some of the previous books in this series, it may seem lack luster. (If you are discerning because compared to most other in the genre, even this one stands out.)

On one hand, this latest Department Q edition is the weakest in terms of the mystery/suspense. Even though you have more than one mystery to solve, five to be precise, they aren't as complex and intriguing as the crimes of past books. Plus, I didn't enjoy some of the cliche pot twist tricks.

On the other hand, c'mon this is about Department Q! This book focused more on the characters I have grown to love. It's clear that the relationships are becoming deeper, more real and more sincere. And, still can offer humor. I anticipate that the next one (PLEASE BE A NEXT ONE) will continue on this track.

All in all, when it ended I wanted more. This is a series I continue to support wholeheartedly.

23 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful as always

Piquant interesting characters, fascinating subplots, and lines that motivate a burst of laughter. The author is at the peak of his talent. Don’t miss out on him.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Jussi does it again

I really like this series, in fact, I've given my wife and kids the first two books in the series for Christmas presents, one each of the last two years. They've read them and like the series now as well.

As the author develops the characters of the individuals that make up Dept Q, you get more and more into their personalities. It has reached the point with me where Dept Q is as much of the story as the cold case being solved. This book does nothing but add to this and it's done in a seamless, creative way.

In this story there is a serial killer that is going around Copenhagen doing hit and runs that are killing people. As the case evolves Dept Q is drawn in and the current crimes are tied back to some old unsolved crimes, just what brings out the best in Dept Q. Rose plays a key role in this story but not at all in the way you might expect.

I could see this book being turned into a movie someday. It has lots of moving parts and is ingenious in the way it's put together. Bravo to Jussi Adler-Olsen.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good follow on book in Dept Q series

Following the story was a little confusing early on. I like Dept Q series due to the interactions of Carl, Assad, Rose, and Gordon in solving cases, but this book spends the early quarter or so on lengthy flashbacks. Finally got interesting midway thru. The book does provide answers to Rose's problems. Still looking forward to the next installment. I was disappointed in the Danish TV version...gives short shrift to Carl in particular.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Oh Rose....<br />

I very much enjoyed this story. It was very suspenseful ; just the right amount and not as gut-wrenching as maybe one or two in the past; in this series.

We got to know a lot more about Rose. Now if we could just uncover Assad's secrets! And what's the deal with Hardy now? And isn't there more to his original shooting?

Looking forward to more! Thank you for the boredom-free commute, Jussi Adler-Olsen.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best Dept. Q book yet!

The only bad thing about this book is that it ended! Can’t wait for the next installment!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous!

Department Q novels are the best for every emotion known. It is a wonderful ride.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Screwy Good!

Plot, plus nonsense, plus character, plus humor = great ride! Why do these snow bound nuts write so well? Wish there were more!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding

An outstanding series - one of my favorites of the last few years. A big leap forward in backstory of one of the MCs. Wow. Can’t wait to see how the story moves forward. Audible 20 Review Sweepstakes Entry.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Story + Performance = Excellence

That's it in a nutshell--how would Assad say that?
Eagerly waiting for next book.

2 people found this helpful