adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP

Try our newest plan – unlimited listening to select audiobooks, Audible Originals, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
$7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.97

Buy for $27.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“For fans of The Matrix and Memento, a twisty, exciting adventure!” (Diana Gabaldon, number-one New York Times best-selling author of the Outlander series) 

The basis for the major motion picture Infinite

Discovered as three notebooks in an antique store in Rome at the turn of the millennium, The Reincarnationist Papers offers a tantalizing glimpse into the Cognomina, a secret society of people who possess total recall of their past lives.

Evan Michaels struggles with being different, with having the complete memories of two other people who lived sequentially before him. He fights loneliness and believes he is unique until he meets Poppy. She recognizes his struggle because she is like him, except that she is much older, remembering seven consecutive lives. But there is something else she must share with Evan - she is a member of the secretive Cognomina. They are, in effect, immortals - compiling experiences and skills over lifetimes into near superhuman abilities that they have used to drive history over centuries.

Poppy invites Evan into the Cognomina, but he must face their tests before entering this mysterious society as their equal.

©2021 D. Eric Maikranz (P)2021 Blackstone Publishing

Featured Article: All the Best Literary Screen Adaptations to Stream in 2021


There is so much to look forward to in film and TV this year—and so much audio to make you the ultimate insider. You may be surprised by how many movies and TV shows were adapted from excellent audiobooks. Get ready to dig in, because this covers just about every great adaptation for 2021, and then some. Find something great in this guide whether you listen before you watch or take a deep dive after the credits roll.

What listeners say about The Reincarnationist Papers

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,437
  • 4 Stars
    782
  • 3 Stars
    317
  • 2 Stars
    93
  • 1 Stars
    59
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,652
  • 4 Stars
    584
  • 3 Stars
    111
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    10
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,193
  • 4 Stars
    703
  • 3 Stars
    311
  • 2 Stars
    109
  • 1 Stars
    63

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lost myself in it

As I sat here crocheting a triangle shawl, promising myself to go only so far then pause, I listened deeply. I became lost from the room surrounding me. Time was no longer of value and its restraints no longer bound me. I love the metaphysics of reincarnation and views set forth in this book. Im ready for new trips to come and hope they will.

74 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Entertaining

If you can entertain the premise of reincarnation, and not be offended by consideration and negative reviews of faith based religions, not to mention references to drug use and explicit sexuality, then you will be in a position to appreciate what the story does well. The narration is good, and I enjoyed the footnotes, even though who knows if they are actually authentic. In any case, they do little to distract from the suspenseful plot. If you enjoy historical fiction, you should like this. I hope that there are sequels which one would only expect from the premise. I wouldn’t worry too much about what others say about the ending, since indeed it makes perfect sense in light of the idea of reincarnation. It’ll be interesting to see if the people who produce this as a film will resist the temptation to change it.

48 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

ended blah!

I wanted to love this book. However the end was nothing.....liked the story but it went nowhere.

36 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Weird

I can’t believe I listened to the entire book. Hard to follow in areas. Just not enough of a story line to make it interesting. Don’t waste your time. Another flop from the Plus “free” selections. I’m finding the “free” ones a total waste of my listening time so far.

24 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Story, Well-Narrated

I am so pleased to have found this book! The story is fantastic, and the narration is some of the best I’ve come across. I gave it five-stars across the board.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

An essay on the virtues of nihilism

God is dead, hedonism is the apex of virtue, and suicide is as close to divinity as humans can aspire.
The author assumes that imperfect existence proves the absence of the divine, but concludes that his own consciousness is proof that humans transcend mere causality. He is then forced to conclude that continued awareness beyond physical death would eventually become torture. So, in the end, nothing matters, and there is no escape.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Slower than evolution

After following the hero all the way to Europe, I decided to not waste anymore time on this decidedly unthrilling thriller. The characters kept me invested at first, and the realism of the early—but prolonged—account of am arson-for-hire scheme, while not exactly gripping was comparable to the writing found in above average crime fiction. Once the hero (literally) falls into the main story arc involving reincarnation, the narrative turns slow as Sunday afternoon at a rest home. The reincarnation mythology, as it was shaping up where I gave up, is not compelling or inventive, and lacks any sense of menace. The author’s writing style shows promise, but needs tightening, sentence for sentence, and pacing and plotting could be sharper. It’s not my place to tell a writer what to write, but I can’t help but think the early set-up, the characters, and the book overall would have been better served in the absence of the supernatural subject matter, which seems to draw the author away from his natural strengths as a storyteller

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unique Story

I loved every moment of the story, I just wish it were longer. The ending was a bit abrupt, like maybe there will be a part two.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thought provoking, well performed and interesting premise.

This story has an interesting premise that allows the inclusion of a bit of philosophy of life. The story and presentation keeps the listener engaged and the philosophical elements are presented quickly enough that they don’t distract.
My only criticism is that the description of the arson fire is a little too long.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply fabulous in its simplicity and mundanity. More please!

There is something about a fantastic tale told in the mundane manner of the real world that makes that tale more believable to me. Science fiction and fantasy that I can imagine possible to exist because of the abundance of the mundane in the telling without all the spectacle and suspension of disbelief is a delight.

I do love my fantastic tales with all the visual and mind-bending twists and turns of new worlds. However these stories told so plainly and poignantly really stick with me and resonate.

This tale of immortality/reincarnation will stay with me a long while. I do hope the author is as prolific as his characters and stays with this story telling a very long time.

Oh yeah…totally worth your time and credit. The voice actor is amazing and painted a wonderful picture of each character. Well done!

6 people found this helpful