Your audiobook is waiting…

The Paris Seamstress

Narrated by: Penelope Rawlins
Length: 14 hrs and 57 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (146 ratings)
Regular price: $28.50
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale comes an internationally best-selling World War II novel that spans generations, crosses oceans, and proves just how much two young women are willing to sacrifice for love and family.

1940: As the Germans advance upon Paris, young seamstress Estella Bissette is forced to flee everything she's ever known. She's bound for New York City with her signature gold dress, a few francs, and a dream: to make her mark on the world of fashion. 

Present day: Fabienne Bissette journeys to the Met's annual gala for an exhibit featuring the work of her ailing grandmother - a legend of women's fashion design. But as Fabienne begins to learn more about her beloved grandmother's past, she uncovers a story of tragedy, heartbreak, and family secrets that will dramatically change her own life.

Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Books of the Year

Included in BookBub's "Best Historical Fiction Fiction Coming this Fall" 

"Fascinating and impeccably researched." (Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife)

"A fantastically engrossing story. I love it." (Kelly Rimmer, USA Today best-selling author)

"Gorgeously rich and romantic." (Kate Forsyth, author of Bitter Greens)

"Intrigue, heartbreak... I cannot tell you how much I loved this book." (Rachel Burton, author of The Things We Need to Say)

©2018 Natasha Lester (P)2018 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"This rich, memorable novel unfolds beautifully from start to finish. (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

"[A] fascinating and impeccably researched evocation of the New York fashion world during World War Two... and some divine-sounding dresses!" (Gill Paul, best-selling historical fiction author)

"This book was beautifully written and the characters have such rich history! The book is about two really strong women, two different generations, and the secrets that can bring them together or tear them apart. Natasha's style of writing flows easily, and the storyline and love story had me hooked."(Girly Book Club)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    7

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

This book would makes for a mindless read.

I felt this book read like a soap opera full of terrible tragedy. Just when you think the character will be happy the rug is pulled out from under them. Not the best story I've read. I wouldn't recommend it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Focused more on fashion than WWII

Only got about halfway through. Lots of fashion, not much about WWII in Paris. American accents were not very good and distracting.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great!

I really enjoyed this novel. I think the narration was fantastic! I saw others mentioned the male voices weren’t less than satisfactory but keep in mind that this is ONE woman doing all of it! I think the narrator did really well! So many different accents and people. The story line was great as well. Thoroughly enjoyed this and felt emotionally involved

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The voices of the men is horrid!

Oh lord, like the story, but the audio book with the voices of the men. Just kill me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Carolyn
  • Dallas, TX, United States
  • 01-13-19

Excellent Historical Novel

If you are age 17 or 100 and love a novel based on WWII, the fashion industry, the French Resistance, NYCity, and following your dreams read The Paris Seamstress. So many twists that you can’t imagine are woven into this excellent novel.
Thank you Natasha Lester for your research and details in The Paris Seamstress.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Conveys the sense of both Paris & NYC in 1940's

I was very happy with the book overall. It moved well and shapes a good sense of place but several circumstances are
a "reach" with regard to plausibility in the primary story. This is a time/shift tale which I liked. I think the narration was excellent.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellently written historical fictipn.

loved It! Very poignant story of loves in two diffferent times held together by passion and conviction. twists and turns tbat surprise until the end!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

loved the book beautiful story, sad at times wanted to cry ,beautifully written. hard to put down

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW

Incredible love story. Well written and enjoyably read. I was listening to and from work - and found myself sitting in front of my house for 1/2 to finish a chapter each evening.