Regular price: $28.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale comes an internationally best-selling World War II novel that spans generations, crosses oceans, and proves just how much two young women are willing to sacrifice for love and family.

1940: As the Germans advance upon Paris, young seamstress Estella Bissette is forced to flee everything she's ever known. She's bound for New York City with her signature gold dress, a few francs, and a dream: to make her mark on the world of fashion. 

Present day: Fabienne Bissette journeys to the Met's annual gala for an exhibit featuring the work of her ailing grandmother - a legend of women's fashion design. But as Fabienne begins to learn more about her beloved grandmother's past, she uncovers a story of tragedy, heartbreak, and family secrets that will dramatically change her own life.

Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Books of the Year

Included in BookBub's "Best Historical Fiction Fiction Coming this Fall" 

"Fascinating and impeccably researched." (Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife)

"A fantastically engrossing story. I love it." (Kelly Rimmer, USA Today best-selling author)

"Gorgeously rich and romantic." (Kate Forsyth, author of Bitter Greens)

"Intrigue, heartbreak... I cannot tell you how much I loved this book." (Rachel Burton, author of The Things We Need to Say)

©2018 Natasha Lester (P)2018 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"This rich, memorable novel unfolds beautifully from start to finish. (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

"[A] fascinating and impeccably researched evocation of the New York fashion world during World War Two... and some divine-sounding dresses!" (Gill Paul, best-selling historical fiction author)

"This book was beautifully written and the characters have such rich history! The book is about two really strong women, two different generations, and the secrets that can bring them together or tear them apart. Natasha's style of writing flows easily, and the storyline and love story had me hooked."(Girly Book Club)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

This book would makes for a mindless read.

I felt this book read like a soap opera full of terrible tragedy. Just when you think the character will be happy the rug is pulled out from under them. Not the best story I've read. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW

Incredible love story. Well written and enjoyably read. I was listening to and from work - and found myself sitting in front of my house for 1/2 to finish a chapter each evening.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • I. Miller
  • 10-19-18

This book would makes for a mindless read.

I felt this book read like a soap opera full of terrible tragedy. Just when you think the character will be happy the rug is pulled out from under them. Not the best story I've read. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Donna Barbot
  • 10-16-18

WOW

Incredible love story. Well written and enjoyably read. I was listening to and from work - and found myself sitting in front of my house for 1/2 to finish a chapter each evening.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • I. Miller
  • 10-19-18

This book would makes for a mindless read.

I felt this book read like a soap opera full of terrible tragedy. Just when you think the character will be happy the rug is pulled out from under them. Not the best story I've read. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Donna Barbot
  • 10-16-18

WOW

Incredible love story. Well written and enjoyably read. I was listening to and from work - and found myself sitting in front of my house for 1/2 to finish a chapter each evening.