1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Paris, 1940: He pressed the tattered book into her hands. "You must go to the café, and ask at the counter for Pierre Duras. Tell him that I sent you. Tell him you’re there to save the people of France."

Sliding the coded message in between the crisp pages of the hardback novel, bookstore owner Laurence slips out into the cold night to meet her resistance contact, pulling her woolen beret down further over her face. The silence of the night is suddenly shattered by an Allied plane rushing overhead, its tail aflame, heading down toward the forest. Her every nerve stands on end. She must try to rescue the pilot.

But straying from her mission isn’t part of the plan, and if she is discovered, it won’t only be her life at risk....

America, years later: When Jeanne uncovers a dusty old box in her father’s garage, her world as she knows it is turned upside down. She has inherited a bookstore in a tiny French village, just outside of Paris, from a mysterious woman named Laurence. 

Traveling to France to search for answers about the woman her father has kept a secret for years, Jeanne finds the store tucked away, in a corner of the cobbled main square. Boarded up, it is in complete disrepair. Inside, she finds a tiny silver pendant hidden beneath the blackened, scorched floorboards.

As Jeanne pieces together Laurence’s incredible story, she discovers a woman whose bravery knew no bounds. But will the truth about who Laurence really is shatter Jeanne’s heart or change her future?

Inspired by true events, an epic and emotional novel about one woman’s strength to survive in the most difficult circumstances and the power of love in the face of darkness. Fans of The Alice Network, The Nightingale, and The Lost Girls of Paris will be completely gripped.

©2022 Siobhan Curham (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Paris Network

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well written, beautifully narrated!

This book was thoroughly enjoyed from start to finish. It felt slow to start but hang in there, the story is definitely worth the time listening! I will definitely read more from this author and listen to more from this narrator!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well Worth Reading

This book brings to light the struggles people had during WWII. It also examines the strength
and perserverene of the resistance. the book is well written. The characters are well developed. The narrator does a great job.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for patricia darling
  • patricia darling
  • 09-19-22

Glimpse into the brave resistance of france liberty & love

Well read book with engaging characters, set in occupied france in ww2.
Eye opening detail on the nazi aggressors, & the bravery of the French resistance. Sometimes the book is mightier than the sword , & the word more long lasting than the gun.
I will remember this story of banned books, writers, & courage .
A very well crafted story …

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for N D Evans
  • N D Evans
  • 05-06-22

Captivating listening

Really enjoyed listening to this story. Made even better by the narrator. I listen whilst walking the dog and with this story the dog had many long, long walks as I couldn't wait to hear how the story panned out, bringing the past to the future or the future back to the past.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for cj
  • cj
  • 02-28-22

Another book ruined by terrible narration

The book isn’t too bad in itself but the narrator kills it, why use an over exaggerated American accent to narrate then use silly parodies of French and German accents for individual characters. It was ridiculous and irritating. The narrator made Laurence sound like a child. Who even approves these shocking narrators for audible? Going to cancel the subscription and go to Kobo because this isn’t a one off it’s literally every boom now

.