1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.99

Buy for $19.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

This heart-wrenching novel about family and war unearths generations of secrets and sacrifices - perfect for fans of The Paris Orphan and The Lost Girls of Paris.

London, 2017: When Aurelia Leclaire inherits an opulent Paris apartment, she is shocked to discover her grandmother’s hidden secrets - including a treasure trove of famous art and couture gowns. One obscure painting leads her to Gabriel Seymour, a highly respected art restorer with his own mysterious past. Together they attempt to uncover the truths concealed within the apartment’s walls.

Paris, 1942: The Germans may occupy the City of Lights, but glamorous Estelle Allard flourishes in a world separate from the hardships of war. Yet when the Nazis come for her friends, Estelle doesn’t hesitate to help those she holds dear, no matter the cost. As she works against the forces intent on destroying her loved ones, she can’t know that her actions will have ramifications for generations to come.

Set 75 years apart, against a perilous and a prosperous Paris, both Estelle and Lia must summon hidden courage as they navigate the dangers of a changing world, altering history - and their family’s futures - forever.

©2021 Kelly Bowen (P)2021 Forever

Critic Reviews

“Bowen draws on the lives of Nancy Wake and Josephine Baker and the 2018 discovery of a Paris apartment untouched since WWII in this rich historical tale. The stories unearthed in the apartment pique from the first page in this magnetic novel full of tragedy and rich characters.” (Publishers Weekly)

"Kelly Bowen creates an evocative and thrilling glimpse into the lives of two heroic women risking everything in occupied Paris during World War II. A dual-timeline connects past and present; a painting of a house, two matching pendants, and old photographs of a woman act as pivotal clues that bridge between the two, and fine works of art and a heartfelt love story between two people who were destined to meet brings the story full circle. A lovely aha moment at the end and the reminder to make one's life count will make this book and its characters linger long after the last page is turned. A beautiful novel for fans of The Nightingale." (Karen White, New York Times best-selling author of The Last Night in London)

“'A beautifully written cast of characters unraveling the mysteries and humanity of war. Enticing.” (Mandy Robotham, USA Today best-selling author)

What listeners say about The Paris Apartment

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    977
  • 4 Stars
    264
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    879
  • 4 Stars
    222
  • 3 Stars
    62
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    904
  • 4 Stars
    213
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thank you for an Amazing story!

This book, was absolutely amazing. I am usually a reader of syfi or fantasy fiction, so this was out of my norm. I found this book by looking up one of the narrators Marisa Calin, and I am super glad I did. This book is going to go down as one of my favorite books I have ever read. I will also be buying the hard copy of it. This book brings you on a journey of 3 powerful women 2 of them in a time gone past and 1 as she goes through the modern world trying to piece together their story.

One of the things I love most about this book is that this author did not make these women weak and whiny. She did not make them dependent on a man. She made them strong independent women, who stood up for what they believed and fought for those who could not fight for themselves. Women who allowed themselves to feel the emotions of love and loss but never let those emotions over take them. Women who knew what was at stake and did everything in their power to make sure every crumb of information mattered, that every moment counted.

This book pulled you into the story and made you love these characters, and feel their emotions. And most of all this book felt complete. By the end of the story I was crying, both happy and sad tears but I was not left wanting or feeling as if I was missing something. This story is not something I will soon forget.


On a side note: I gave the performance 4 stars only because I dont like when there are multiple narrators only to read chapters from different points of views. But I was able to get through the book and for the most part didnt notice the change because I was so pulled into the book I didnt care.

56 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Rich and compelling story!

This was a well crafted, layered story with rich characters. Reminded me of The Alice Network in its detail and twists. Narration was good though occasionally hard to discern what accent was being attempted. Still a wonderful story and well worth a credit! I wish for more like this!

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exceeded my expectations!

I was looking for something new and have an affinity for historical fiction. The modern setting (2017) of this story caught my interest. Interesting story and characters that kept my interest throughout. Definitely suggest this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Maddening

All I can say is, I’ll never get the hour and a half back. (that’s all I could stand)

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Too Much Swearing!

I could have really liked this story if it wasn’t for taking God’s name in vain! I love historical fiction. Have read excellent stories based on this time period, but they didn’t stoop to the swearing that this author did. Do you really have to stoop to the gutter to get a point across? Did not finish. What a shame!

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good listen

Characters are well developed
Story is compelling
Historical research well done
The narrator was a bit breathy but lovely

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

One of the best books I’ve read in a long time! The story was riveting, painful, and thought provoking!

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Multiple narrators at very different speeds

I enjoyed the book very much and it's the type of thing I'd probably like to listen to again and again except for the performance. I listen on a Bluetooth and each chapter is a different narrator who reads at a different speed.

The one who presented Sophie's point of view was very s-l-o-w so I had to dash across the room, grab my phone and speed her up a bit. Once that was done it was fine, until the next reader when the speed would have to be adjusted down again.

The one who presented Estell's story was the story line I was most interested in but the hardest to listen to. Her reading of dialogue is just fine but when she reads descriptive passages every blooming sentence is delivered in the same 3-fold way. It starts off normally, the middle is delivered very fast, the ending is on a slight up-note in tone and almost sounds like a sneer. This would go on for sentence after sentence in a row. I promise once you "hear" it that's all you hear.

These issues may not be off-putting to most people. I'm sure because they are snug in my ear because of the Bluetooth that they are more apparent to me.

I did enjoy and finish the book itself.



11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A riveting story

The Paris Apartment is both disturbing and moving. The characters were very real to me as I listened and I found myself feeling their fear, their sadness and their joy. I was captivated from beginning to end.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Breathtaking Frightening Inspiring

What a beautiful work of historical art this book portrays. The narrators were the best I’ve ever listened to. It was gut wrenching, heartwarming, alarming, and memorable.

3 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sparky
  • Sparky
  • 04-02-22

Stick to one narrator

Loved the story but the overall experience was let down by the use of multiple narrators one of whom almost had me giving up on this listen. Worth persevering if you don’t have time to read the book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christineb
  • Christineb
  • 01-20-22

Enjoyable WW2 fiction

An array of characters kept pace with an interesting story which held my interest Narration was really good the male narrator was a bit stilted but others where fine

.