Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Their baby was supposed to be mine....

No relationship is perfect. But since the birth of baby Mabel seven months ago, Amber and George have been in desperate need of a night away. Mabel is all that Amber has ever wanted, but she can’t deny that sometimes she struggles to cope. George has booked them into a luxury hotel, and Amber’s sister is babysitting. Yet just as they are ready to leave, Amber can’t suppress a feeling of worry....

Amber is right to be anxious. Because as she and George sip cocktails at the hotel bar, what she doesn’t know is that her little girl is in terrible danger. Somebody has been following her every move, taking note of her habits. Somebody who desperately wants a child of their own. Somebody who believes that Mabel is supposed to be theirs.

When Amber’s sister reports that Mabel’s crib is empty, Amber’s world implodes. She knows that if her baby is not found, she will never forgive her sister.

But Amber also has a secret, hidden from those she loves. Is the only person who knows the truth out to make her pay? Amber will do whatever it takes to get her daughter back...but could her lies have put her little girl at risk?

A truly gripping psychological thriller of manipulation and betrayal from best-selling author Jess Ryder. The Night Away will have you hooked until the final devastating revelation. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train or The Woman in the Window.

©2020 Jess Ryder (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Night Away

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

4.5 Stars!

THE NIGHT AWAY was a fast-paced psychological thriller with many twists and turns. Yes, it only takes one night to destroy a family and this book is EXHIBIT A. Author Jess Ryder did an excellent job pacing the storyline and developing an intriguing plot with compelling characters. Although most of the characters were not very likable (with the exception of younger sister Ruby), I really felt like I knew each character's pains/challenges and understood where they were coming from. Also notable was the author's decision to unfold the storyline with multiple POVs from the main characters. Sometimes using this strategy makes a book difficult to follow but this author made it work. The book's narration was superb. This book's ending is why this book did not earn a 5-star review from me. The ending was abrupt, contrived, and borderline disjointed. I felt like the author lost steam in the last stretch (been there, done that!) and this was disappointing. This was my first Jess Ryder book and I will certainly be looking forward to enjoying this writer's future books.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Solid Thriller- Title Is Deceiving

The Night Away was a fairly good read and I enjoyed it. I wish that the title of the book were different, because I think it sort of throws off the reader/listener. There is indeed a night away where the main couple in the book go for a mini break but it seems really minor and not important to the story. The book is about a baby being kidnapped while sister babysits for an exhausted couple. It's fairly fast paced, but the characters aren't the most likable, and the story itself is a bit underwhelming yet still, a solid psychological thriller. -Wendi