The Last Puzzle

Cherringham. A Cosy Crime Series - Mystery Shorts 16
Narrated by: Neil Dudgeon
Length: 2 hrs and 43 mins
4.6 out of 5 stars (297 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $2.73

Buy for $2.73

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When amiable old village eccentric Quentin Andrews dies, the good folk of Cherringham are astonished at the crowd that turns up to his funeral. But even more astonished are the beneficiaries of his will: Quentin has left a veritable fortune to whomever is the first to solve an intricate "Cherringham crossword". That puzzle is only the first of many that Jack and Sarah will uncover as they follow the treasure hunt for clues and learn the truth about who Quentin Andrews really was... and the biggest mystery of them all... was he - in fact - murdered?

Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick listen for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa.

For fans of Agatha Christie's "Miss Marple" series, Lilian Jackson Braun's "The Cat Who" series, Caroline Graham's "Midsomer Murders", and the American TV series "Murder She Wrote", starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series "Cherringham".

Now into its second season of 12 novellas, Cherringham is popular around the world and has been adapted as a series of audiobooks in Germany.
©2017 Bastei Lübbe (Lübbe Audio) (P)2017 Lübbe Audio

What listeners say about The Last Puzzle

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    211
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    210
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    191
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Returning - already purchased in 16-18 grouping

One thing I wish Audible would work on is the way titles are listed - please use same first word when possible for a series - and why sell 16, 17, and 18 as a group then break them apart and sell separately?

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous these are great

I really like these the only thing wrong is that music is to loud stop that music and its perfect

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Last Puzzle

A really nice cozy mystery, enjoyed it. Narration was very good. Will certainly read some more.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beware this is also included in series 16-18.

I really enjoyed this but was disappointed that it was included in another set. I thought it was only available as a single book. Wasted a couple of dollars.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Checkmate

Who really knew Quentin? He was someone different to many others that's for certain! Someone has a Diabolical plan, but Quentin has the last laugh.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it! .

The narration is as good as the writing. Enjoyed the series, looking forward to the next one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Always enjoyable

I'm always learning something new while listening to these stories, and the reader makes our even more fun.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ok ending

The ending seemed to come out of nowhere. Neil Dudgeon is excellent an excellent narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love the series

cherringham, what a delightful series, i have enjoyed each episode and wish there were more episodes.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good stories

Enjoy this series very much. Will continue to listen to this series of stories, yes.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Moonsongbirmans
  • Moonsongbirmans
  • 01-10-18

Loved the book

Neil Dudgeon is great reader, hope I can find more by him. Really enjoyed his performance.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ronald
  • Ronald
  • 03-06-20

Why?????

Why isn’t this a tv series?!?! So relaxing & enjoyable! Trouble is that’s it’s addictive. You can’t just listen to one episode.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-21-19

Love this crime series

Love listening to Neil Dudgen narrating. Brilliant light crime stories. Neil makes each character sound different.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mike T.
  • Mike T.
  • 03-25-19

Unique story setup does not save a dull episode.

Starts out interesting enough. A crossword puzzle must be solved to inherit a ton of money from a perhaps murdered man. Pretty unique setup. Then it all fizzles out. Story goes nowhere. Uninspired writing and totally uninteresting throughout. The least enjoyable Cherringham Mystery Short so far.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Love to read
  • Love to read
  • 04-29-18

How Not To Write a Whodunnits

Agatha Christie’s this book isn’t,dull uninteresting & with almost no plot a waste of time. I shall certainly not be listening to more by these writers

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hawthorn🦋Cottage
  • Hawthorn🦋Cottage
  • 03-12-18

A puzzle to capture you to the end 🔱

every story is different this one keeps you guessing to the last chapter. GREAT read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for 🦋 Percyville 🦋
  • 🦋 Percyville 🦋
  • 03-10-18

'Light hearted reading'

I love these short stories of people solving crimes in this beautiful English village. A great read!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-04-18

It was excellent!

My first intro introduction into audio books. I was enthralled to the end. Thank you