Your audiobook is waiting…

The Intern: A Dark Thriller

Brooke Walton, Book 3
Narrated by: Stephanie Dillard
Series: Brooke Walton Series, Book 3
Length: 7 hrs
4.5 out of 5 stars (17 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From Amazon best-selling author Jenifer Ruff, a dark suspense thriller featuring a fascinating, twisted protagonist. 

Brooke Walton will make you wonder just how well you know your friends, neighbors, and classmates. Fans of James Patterson, Karin Slaughter, Hannibal Lecter, the Dexter series, and Gone Girl will be hooked. 

Two young American tourists are brutally murdered in Cancun. A private investigator in Connecticut is desperate to uncover the truth about a missing coed. At the heart of both matters is Brooke Walton, a young medical student. When her summer internship in a medical examiner’s office exposes a disturbing mystery and her ruthless brilliance, authorities take a closer look. 

Can Brooke save her own beautiful skin with someone watching her every move? Will one more murder solve her urgent problems or dig her an even deeper grave?

©2018 Jenifer Ruff (P)2019 Jenifer Ruff

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Brooke Gets a New Job

There is a jump in time from when the second book abruptly ended. You get a brief update on what transpired between the two stories, but I wanted a bit more follow up to the last conversation Xander and Brooke had. I would say at this point in the story that you need to read them in order. Coming into this one without reading the previous ones will leave you lost and most likely not enjoying it.

I felt like this book definitely turned the corner as Brooke’s extra-curricular activities really seem to be catching up to her. I feel like the books are maturing as she does and I liked her finally having a job and not focusing on school work all the time. This really was plot driven more so than the previous two books as it focused on the mysterious person following Brooke and the cops who start questioning the deaths surrounding her. I really liked the setting of the morgue as it adds to the darkness of her life at this point. I’m not sure why, but I enjoyed that she lived in an unfurnished place. I’m sure that this speaks to something greater than just her inability to assimilate with her peers, but I found it pretty funny that she wanted a lawn chair versus a living room one.

Throughout the story you realize that something is afoot. She is being followed and the police are talking to her. Her family is more involved and we meet new characters with Xander and Robert having minimal involvement. We meet someone who is just as depraved as she is, in different ways, and while there interaction is too short in my mind, it did provide the path for the twist to the story. I really would have liked to see their story expanded upon a bit more. I have to say the turn that this book took at the end was not expected. I knew something was up, but Ruff really brought this to a new level. I was becoming tired of the dots not being connected and this new turn, although quite unbelievable, definitely woke me up. I look forward to seeing where this goes.

Stephanie Dillard continues to do an amazing job. I am glad she has stayed the narrator as I really like her character voices. She does a great job adding tension and suspense to the story and really brings it to life. After listening to the book I started getting paranoid about cops chasing me because she does such a great job bringing you into the story.

I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I love this trilogy. The narrator does a fabulous job at sounding just detached enough to be perfect for the character. I hope there’s more to come.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I Need More

So I reeeeaaaaallly wanted this character to get what she deserved, but by the time everything was revealed in the end, I couldn't help wanting her to succeed and I am eager to hear more!!! I hope Jenifer continues writing her story! The narrator killed it. SO easy to follow the story. Outstanding job!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • timj26
  • ontario canada
  • 03-17-19

Excellent

read Everett and rothaker first
This is a great series
Book 3 follows closely after book 2 Brooke lands her dream intern job during the summer wile trying to keep her past secret
Stephanie Does a great job Narrating This series
Can’t wait to see whats next for Brooke highly recommended
I received a free review audiobook and voluntarily Left this review

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Good read / listen

The Intern: A Dark Thriller: Brooke Walton, Book 3. This book lives up to it's title. Gripping and enthralling from 1st page to the last. Is Brooke the heroine or the villain.
Superbly narrated by Stephanie Dillard.
A great read and very entertaining.
I was given a free copy of this audio book at my own request, and voluntarily leave this review.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow, great book 3!

This was an excellent third book in this series. I was glued to it, listening intently to hear what happens next. I have to say, the ending was unexpected and fantastic! I would love to see this book made into a movie. It is difficult to figure out what is going to happen next. Brooke Walton is a fascinating, intense and deadly character. In addition, there are some new characters who bring a lot of intrigue to the story. Stephanie Dillard does a tremendous job of voicing Brooke. With her feminine, yet strong voice, it is easy to picture Brooke plotting, scheming and going crazy on her victims. I can't wait for Book 4!! I was voluntarily provided this review copy audiobook at no charge by the author, publisher and/or narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great series

a very very good series I liked the whole three books they were very interesting and the narrator was great a very good series to listen to
I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Intern

Excellent! The 3rd book in this series and I can't wait for more! Brooke is working in a morgue,her dream,when all heck breaks loose over her past descrepancies.There MAY be a way to blame someone else for some of it,but she'll need to be a good actress too.Stephanie Dillard was the perfect narrator.
I was given this book by the narrator,author or publisher free for an honest review.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Book 3

Just ok. You can’t read it and understand what is going on if you haven’t read the first and second books. I felt like the story was all over the place.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie
  • Julie
  • 09-08-19

Just gets better and better

I liked the first book Everett, I enjoyed the second book Rothaker but loved this one. I just hope the author has plans for another book!!! This book continues from where the previous books left of and I highly recommend you listen or read them before you enjoy this book. I spent the whole book wondering who was going to get killed next, was she going to finally get caught? and then got hit by an ending I didn't see coming.
Brooke has finally made it through the first year of medical school and needs a summer job to pay for next year. She is lucky to land a job in the medical examiner's office but it isn't quite up to what she is hoping for. Until she starts to notice discrepancy in the paper work and she finally gets the chance to help with the autopsies. Things are looking up until a detective comes around asking questions about Jessica and Rachel, just two of the obstacles Brooke had to move out of the way. At the same time two missing boys bodies are discovered in Cuba who happened to go missing when Brooke and her family were there on vacation. As Brooke beings to feel the noose tighten around her delicate neck can she put her high IQ to the test to find a way get awy from the ghosts that haunt her.
I really like this narrator and think she did an excellent job with all three book, so if there is another book I hope she sticks with it as I can't imagine Brooke being read by anyone else.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J Smith
  • J Smith
  • 03-07-19

Best so far!

I honestly don’t know what it is about this series that I find so enjoyable! It’s nothing like my usual go-to reads, but I love it!!
Well written and fantastically narrated... Stephanie has a great skill of portraying the intensity of the situation without just ‘reading faster’ like some narrators.
There’s a lot more going on in the 3rd book and I probably enjoyed it the most out of the 3. I also like the way it’s heading at the end and really hope we’ve got more to come!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful