Your audiobook is waiting…

The HighFire Crown

Blood Magic, Book 1
Narrated by: Roshina Ratnam
Series: Blood Magic, Book 1, Blood Magic, Book 1
Length: 6 hrs and 35 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (29 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

It’s a case she can’t refuse.

Spell-slinger. Vampire-slayer. Magical albino ferret-rescuer. Meet Jacqueline Denna Knight, the best wizard detective in the city.

Jax turns vampires to ash and pain into magic. She also has a knack for finding things. So, when a distraught - and obscenely wealthy - elf calls Jax at midnight to hire her for an intriguing job, she grabs the opportunity with both hands.

But what Jax doesn’t know is that this case is going to unravel her life. She’ll get tangled up with a host of intriguing characters, most of whom are not who they appear to be.

As Jax speeds down a path toward the most powerful vampire clan in the country, she’ll have to put everything on the line. 

Will she be able to use her unique brand of magic to save the Realm?

This is a breakneck-paced mix of urban fantasy, irreverent humor, and detective noir. Fans of The Dresden Files and Jessica Jones will burn through this brand new addictive urban fantasy series.

Get it now.

©2019 Muonic Press Inc (P)2019 Muonic Press Inc

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun

I enjoyed the fast paced story line. The characters are fun and well thought out.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So many bad guys, so few good girls.

What's a girl to do when she is frequently surrounded by those who want what she has? Beat them senseless and move on to the next batch. Good voice acting highlights this story too.

I was given this audiobook by one of the authors and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Decent story good narrator

I like the story and the narrator was good. everything wrapped together too neatly and the last twist :/

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Honest review

I really loved this book. So much magic, witchcraft, and other worldly beings in one book. I love the fact that Jacqueline never gave up. Definitely well put together and narrated. I also need to find out what happened to Gizmo.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great job!

Love love love Roshina Ratnam! I continue to maintain that she should pretty much be a mandatory hire for any author creating a female-perspective audiobook that occurs in South Africa. :) She does her usual great job here.

Oh yeah, there's a book here too. :) It's also excellent. I've enjoyed Ms. Lawrence's cyberpunk stories and so I was looking forward to giving this different genre (and team-up with another author) a try. In short, it was well-done in my opinion. The story sucks you in with mysteries galore, and more is going on than initially seems apparent. It's fun following along as things are unwrapped piece by piece. The main character is also easy to root for, and the magical world the authors created is interesting and treated matter-of-factly which is a nice sort of change-of-pace compared to some stories. It's just where things happen to be occurring rather than something to gawk at, which is a cool approach.

Bottom line, give this one a try. Looking forward to the next in the series.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A lot going on - leading to confusion

I received this book for free. I am voluntarily posting this review and all opinions expressed herein are my own.

There is a lot going on in this book. It seemed to me that everything which could possibly happen, happened. There were more creatures and characters than it was possible to keep track of and enjoy the story. I got lost several times and at the end, I felt exhausted by it all. So, to me, this was just okay.

I really like the narrator, Roshina Ratnam, and will look for other books narrated by her.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Magic, action and supernatural creatures

This story has everything; magic, action and a whole bunch of supernatural creatures. It's a great concept and I was super excited to read another book by one of my favourite local authors. But the problem is, this book has a whole bunch of supernatural creatures. So many in fact, that I lost the plot more than once and could not quite keep track of everything that is going on and who is who. despite that, I still enjoyed the story and some of the characters are really great and there is a magical albino ferret, who does not want one of those? I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the series as I would like to see how all the pieces fit together and hopefully with the first book setting the scene, the rest of the books will be easier to follow.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Quite a book.

First off, the pleasantries. This being an audiobook, the narrator read at a good speed, no need to shift the dial to either side of the line. The pronunciation of some things was a bit off from what I am used to, though that may very well be an issue with the South African locale, rather than a need for a pronunciation guide.

In terms of the source text, Johannesburg was a nice change from the average big city locales, even if just in minor details, opposing such magical places as London, LA, or New York. The characters were well described, and well thought out, and I found myself finishing the book wanting more. If you want everyone to live, though, this is not the book for you. The subtle inclusion of terms and in-jokes from other magical universes was a nice touch, and it definitely makes for some magical and memorable reading.

I requested a free review copy of this audiobook, with expectation of my honest review. Thank you for allowing me to listen to and review the book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can't get enough of this series.

I loved everything about this book. It's fast paced, well plotted, and has fabulous characters. I would have devoured the whole series at once if that were possible.
This book is a must read for UF fans.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A woman and her Ferret.

Great detective story in the vein of Harry Dresden or Mercy Thompson. Fun Characters and rollicking plot along with wonderful narration. I'm looking forward to more. I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. Rowlands
  • C. Rowlands
  • 01-17-20

Typical urban fantasy premise done well

There are a number of common traits in many urban fantasy novels and this one checks off quite a few of them with the main character being a supernaturally-powered, financially hard-up, snarky detective with a tragic past, but the character comes across as far more than just that checklist of tropes and heads up an entertaining and varied cast of supernatural characters. I'm not fully convinced by her practically having a catchphrase to go with her powers though.

The setting for this book is something that could have set it more apart from others in the genre with it being set in Johannesburg rather than London or one of the major American cities, but I didn't find the difference to be that significant as it came across as the author telling us the setting more than showing us, although maybe those more familiar with the setting would appreciate the differences more.

The narration of this book was a definite strength, serving to help to further build the main character and also to enhance supernatural feel of the supporting cast too.

Overall, a fast-paced and enjoyable introduction to this series.

[Note - I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.]