Regular price: $15.98

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Twenty years running from your past. Today it catches up.

A gripping psychological thriller for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

Leah Mills lives a life of a fugitive - kept on the run by one terrible day from her past. It is a lonely life, without a social life or friends until, longing for a connection, she meets Julian.

For the first time she dares to believe she can live a normal life. Then, on the 20th anniversary of that day, she receives a card. Someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won't stop until they've destroyed the life Leah has created. But is Leah all she seems? Or does she deserve everything she gets?

Everyone has secrets. But some are deadly.

The Girl with No Past spent over four weeks at number one in the Amazon chart.

©2015 Kathryn Croft (P)2016 Audible, Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    242
  • 4 Stars
    178
  • 3 Stars
    98
  • 2 Stars
    32
  • 1 Stars
    22

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    310
  • 4 Stars
    147
  • 3 Stars
    48
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    10

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    221
  • 4 Stars
    150
  • 3 Stars
    96
  • 2 Stars
    31
  • 1 Stars
    27
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Dribbling the Plot

The author can write well with a wonderful turn of phrase but she needs some help with the plot. The later story was a solid mystery if a bit predictable but chapter after chapter of the earlier story was badly paced. I kept thinking, "Get to the point already...". The early story was needlessly tedious. The ending was also no big surprise.

Narration was spectacular.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

S l o w

I just kept waiting and waiting for this book to get better- it did towards the end. But the end.... ugh.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good book!

A bit slower than my usual selection, but great story! I would definitely recommend it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting Until The End!!

I really loved this book, as I do everything I’ve read by her. This was my 4th Croft title and I enjoyed even more than the prior 3. I loved the way the story altered between flashbacks and current time and slowly built the story and background at the same time. I also really loved The narrator. The ending was a surprise and I really loved how we were given closure for the main character!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Just Average

I didn't love this book. The narrator did a good job but the story was ... not great. The main character is weak not to mention the worst judge of character ever. The supporting characters (high school friends) are annoying. I kept waiting for something to happen. It did pick up a little towards the end but, overall, I wasn't very impressed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I had high hopes

The story had potential and I stuck with it, hoping it would finally take off. It didn't.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mind blowing!

Loved this book. Incredibly written and narrated! An absolutely must read (or listen) with great twists

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Struggling for self-acceptance

It was slow listening to the protagonist’s maladaptive response to an awful event that is not fully explained till the very end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heart-Pounding Read

If you love psychological thrillers, this is a real page-turner and worth your time. Highly recommended for it's taut and emotionally-believable narration of the story. It makes you wonder who is responsible for what and keeps you guessing throughout until the end, which is unexpected but seems believable. Love Lisa Coleman's narration.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Leigh Mills - the girl who wants to lose her past

What made the experience of listening to The Girl with No Past the most enjoyable?

The book is really two books; one is Leigh's past and the other is Leigh's present. Each chapter relates to one of those periods; no two consecutive chapters related to the same period.

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

Yes, the past is only revealed in small parts yet the past in total explains the present. Thus, as the author relates bits and pieces from the past, the reader begins to understand the present.

Have you listened to any of Lisa Coleman’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No, but she is perfect for this book

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Not so much moved but the next to the last chapter was somewhat of a surprise and somewhat mystifying. I don't want to reveal the plot but one wonders how she survived.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • cynical chick
  • 07-26-16

Readable but not memorable

I enjoyed this book in parts and it had the potential to be a captivating thriller. Told in first person, the story flits between events in the past and events in the present. However, I found so many of the actions of the main character completely unrealistic, far more than bad judgement and just ended up irritated. I wanted to read to the end to gather all the pieces of the story but I wasn't wowed by the quality of the language, which as it's told in first person is speech like. Readable definitely but I'm glad it was on sale.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 09-30-17

Disappointing ending

I was really enjoying this but found the end really disappointing. I won’t say why as that would spoil it. It was compared with the likes of Gillian Flynn novels which it shouldn’t be because it’s not in the same league.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Susan Alibone
  • 07-14-18

great

Great story, well presented. was not the ending I was expecting. I would recommend this.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-03-18

Gripping but too much of violence in the main plot

Gripping but too much of violence in the main plot. Good description of the main character.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Bean
  • 02-28-18

Only kept listening to find out who bad guy was!

Not an ideal review but I had to know who was Leah’s tormentor - lacked something shocking even the last chapter was not a surprise

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • S. Christie
  • 02-09-18

A good, if a bit drawn out, read

Enjoyed this book but felt it was a little overlong. The story was good was there was too much scene setting and too much time spent on over description. Saying that it is a good thriller with plenty of twists and turns and is quite a page turner. I enjoyed and would recommend.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • J Croft
  • 01-22-18

Can’t quite put my finger on it...

...as to why this book left me feeling quite unsatisfied. Really well written teenage characters that I could identify with - Adam was vile beyond words, but I definitely knew more than one of him at my school. But something about the adult version of the lead character did not quite work for me, which was disappointing, and the lack of communication by the friend at work / new man didn’t ring true somehow. I really didn’t like the lack of explanation as to what happened after the crash - the ending just felt rushed. And I wanted to know more about the police and their investigations, given multiple sideways references to it.

The performance was mostly excellent but marked down because the recording/editing let it down. I listen a lot through headphones and the recording kept stalling very momentarily (slightly hesitant, or a quiet spot), which made me think my phone was about to ring. Very disconcerting!

But don’t let me put you off. Overall I really liked this book and look forward to reading more from this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kate
  • 11-02-17

Excellent!

Thoroughly enjoyed this Audible book. The storyline was gripping and the characters realistic. Very well read too. Ending was totally unexpected!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • charlotte potts
  • 09-13-17

Captivating!

Truly amazing book! Listened to in just a day! Gripping from the get go with some stomach churning sections. A twist that you do not see coming at all and beautifully narrated. Could easily listen to this again in a years time and still enjoy it. Thank you for an all rounder.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Susan Random
  • 08-05-17

The Girl With No Past

I would say that this book was a little too slow to start and therefore may put some listeners off. The central character, Leah, is a librarian (What *is* it with thrillers featuring librarians?) and quite honestly, even the cheapest smallest flat in Wandsworth would be out of the price range of a public sector worker.

It was a bit like re-living a bizarre dream. The crime Leah and her teenage friends carried out was so serious, one really doubted the outcome?