The Girl in the Castle

A Novel
Narrated by: Genevieve Swallow
Series: The Deverill Chronicles, Book 1
Length: 17 hrs and 26 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
4.5 out of 5 stars (518 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Ireland. The early 20th century.

Two girls on the cusp of womanhood. A nation on the brink of war.

Hear their story - and see why Jojo Moyes says that "Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore". 

Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill grows up in Castle Deverill, on the sunning green hills of West Cork, Ireland - the same place her ancestors have always dwelt. She isn't fully Irish, as the son of the local veterinarian likes to tease her; but this doesn't stop Kitty and Jack O'Leary from falling in love....

Bridie Doyle, daughter to Castle Deverill's cook, cherishes her friendship with Kitty. Yet she can’t help dreaming of someday having wealth, having glamour, having...more. And when she discovers Kitty's darkest secret, Bridie finds herself growing to resent the girl in the castle who seems to have it all.

As Irish and British forces collide in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight - and Kitty throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But her allegiance to her family and her friends will soon be tested...and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she’s ever known are threatened. 

A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland - perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and Kate Morton.

Also published as The Irish Girl available in paperback.

©2015 Santa Montefiore (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    290
  • 4 Stars
    137
  • 3 Stars
    64
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    15

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    317
  • 4 Stars
    108
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    7

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    258
  • 4 Stars
    131
  • 3 Stars
    56
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    14

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

That's it?

I loved the book until the end. I felt like the book needed a few more chapters. I understand the beauty in not laying out everyone's ending but I felt that I got zero closure as the book ended with massive gaps and not enough information to come up with an ending on my own. I'm loved the final twists but still think that the ending was majorly lacking. I can't say that I'd recommend this book to others.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Shallow

A very shallow story......Everytime the author could have created depth and imagery to the characters she rushed on. Very hard to get into. The narrator is very good though.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Loved it until the last five minutes

I so thoroughly enjoyed this book until the very end. But the last five minutes were so unsatisfying it felt like the book was unfinished. Like maybe the author had a deadline and just had to cut off and turn it in. There were 4-5 story lines that were left completely resolved. Bridie & Kitty? Kitty & Jack? Kitty & Robert? Michael Doyle? Bertie & Maude? All left ambiguous and unfinished. But the first 17 h 23 m or so were a delight!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • JM
  • 08-25-17

No ending

Long listen without adequate conclusion. Story interesting but abruptly ends. Had I known this, probably would not have purchased.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Girl in the castle

This is a great book!!! You are taken back in time and you never want to put the book down. I did not realize this was the first book of the series I am delighted I get to read more. A must read

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

What? No ending!

Help !! Nothing was resolved. What happened? Too many questions remained. Is there a sequel? Now what am I going to do?

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful story

The narrator carried me through the turbulent times of early Irish freedom set to the lives of this Anglo-Irish family. It was well worth the listen.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible Ending

Didn't care for the main character but listened to the end of the book. The ending was confusing and left all of the main characters up in the air. I haven't rated a book this low before but this was just a sad unsatisfactory novel.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great narrator!

great narrator. Enticing story. kept me coming back for more. A bit disappointed by some loose ends at the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Explicitness

I enjoyed the book in the beginning. I have listened to several of this author's book. This one is a disappointment . There were times that a cuss word or two or a sexual reference was made prior to chapter 8 after that I could listen no more due to language and explicit descriptions-became to much ! Why good stories become so unnecessarily explicit that it ruins a good book from a talented writer

to

14 people found this helpful