Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Now with new narrators!

Ever since Riley Thomas, reluctant medium extraordinaire, accidentally released a malevolent spirit from a Ouija board when she was 13, she’s taken a hard pass on scary movies, haunted houses, and cemeteries. Twelve years later, when her best friend pressures her into spending a paranormal investigation weekend at the infamous Jordanville Ranch - former home of deceased serial killer Orin Jacobs - Riley’s still not ready to accept the fact that she can communicate with ghosts. 

Shortly after their arrival at the ranch, the spirit of a little boy contacts Riley, a child who went missing - and was never found - in 1973. In order to put the young boy’s spirit to rest, she has to come to grips with her ability. But how can she solve a mystery that happened a decade before she was born? Especially when someone who knows Orin’s secrets wants to keep the truth buried...no matter the cost.

This paranormal suspense will appeal to fans of Wendy Wang, Cheryl Bradshaw, and Heather Graham. Grab your copy today to join Riley on a twisty path toward answers in a decades-old cold case.  

©2018 Melissa Erin Jackson (P)2019 Melissa Erin Jackson

What listeners say about The Forgotten Child

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An intriguing paranormal thriller!

This was an intriguing paranormal thriller! It was exceptionally compelling and drew me in from the first chapter. The story has a creepy vibe to it and was very well written. The narrators did a great job un bringing this story to life.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Looking Forward to More!

So good! Hauntings, mediums, cheesy ghost hunters, romance, serial killer, and unsolved murders. So much going on, and yet it all goes together in a seamless and well written way. The audiobook version is very well done, and is one of the few cases of using a dual voice that I think works!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A love this story

I can’t say enough good things about this book. Erin Jackson is amazing story teller and has created a hero I can’t wait to see in more adventures. I loved how Riley and Matt relationship developed and was worked in seamlessly with the larger story arc. the story resolution was credible and lays the foundation for a continuation Riley’s medium ability. The narration by Virrareal and Turner was excellent and added to the story. Victoria Virrareal performance really brought Riley to life for me. I hope she narrates future stories. Overall I highly recommend Melissa Erin Jackson and both narrators An instant new favorite!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect amount of creepy and emotions

I usually stick to romance, but I gave this a try and absolutely loved it. This audio was definitely worth listening too. It had the perfect amount of creepy and emotions to keep you on your toes. I felt a constant need to know what will happen next. I really loved the narrators and how well they fit into the characters of the story. Will definitely be ready more from this author!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hooked!!!

This story was so, captivating and engaging!!! Not my normal read but, WOW!!! It flowed so, well and was told amazingly!! I couldn’t put it down!! I hope the Author will continue on and make it a series. The narration was superb! It’s a must read!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heads in jars oh my God

I love this book the gored the better, put suspense with that and you have an excellent book. I couldn’t stop listening what a story I recommend this book to all you fiction hoarders out there. Excellent story, with excellent narration which is so important in the book of this genre.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Creepy and Heartbreaking

The Forgotten Child is a horrific story that will chill you to the bone. This book is so well written that it brought tears to my eyes and will definitely make me more careful of my surroundings. Narrators Victoria Villareal and David Clifford Turner did an amazing job bringing the characters and story to life. I highly recommend this book. I received this book for free and this is my honest unbiased review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Paranormal Triller!

The plot was well developed. (and the subplot could’ve been flashed out just for closure, but that didn’t interrupt the book in the least .) Quality character weaving done by the author. Well worth the listen! I will be looking for more books by this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ghosts, True Crime and Reluctant but smart physic!

Riley is the reluctant psychic. The back story is riveting!! The Narrator is fantastic and perfect for this book! She really pulls you into the story! If you like books about Ghosts, Mediums, or True Crime books this is all of those and more! I’m particularly fond of books that have the main female character, as using their brain! It also helps if they are street smart. Riley is one of those! She’s not one of those that sticks her head out to take a peak when the Serial killer is around the corner! I was only an hour Into the story when I had to know if there’s a book 2 in Audible (nothing visible yet). I had 55 minutes left and had to know if there’s a book 2 in print yet! There’s a second book!! It’s to be released May 2021! I have over 800 Audible books in my library. I haven’t been very good at writing reviews. I never wanted to be in a spotlight. Then I realized the authors need word of their books to pass to more readers. So this is a shout out to anyone looking for a fantastic book! I highly recommend this book!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

GREAT READ...SO WHERE'S THE NEXT CHAPTER

just waiting on the next chapter of Riley...her story has to.be continued ...definitely will reccomend!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Inishowen Cailin
  • Inishowen Cailin
  • 11-21-20

Absolutely brilliant

Scared myself being home alone on a dark night and listening to this!! it's so flipping spooky!! The scene where Riley hears Oran's voice for the first time made me jump! The story was sad in places, scary, humorous, and suspenseful. I was kept on the edge of my seat all the way through. If this is how good the first in the series is I really can't wait to read what comes next. I voluntarily reviewed an audio review copy.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Katie
  • Katie
  • 05-02-20

A Good story

I really enjoyed this book. it wasn't what I was expecting, but it was still good. I will listen to it again.