The Favorite Daughter

Narrated by: Kathleen McInerney
Length: 9 hrs and 31 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (236 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $25.09

Buy for $25.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“Will hit you right in the heart” (Bustle)

A PopSugar Best Book of Spring! 

“An exceptional psychological thriller.” (Publishers Weekly

“Compulsively readable and deeply satisfying psychological suspense.” (Christina Alger, USA Today best-selling author of The Banker’s Wife

“Leaves you wanting more.” (Liv Constantine, author of the national best seller The Last Mrs. Parrish

From the author of Best Day Ever, another gripping novel of psychological suspense set in an upscale Southern California community, for fans of B.A. Paris and Shari Lapena. 

The perfect home. The perfect family. The perfect lie.

Jane Harris lives in a sparkling home in an oceanfront gated community in Orange County. It’s a place that seems too beautiful to be touched by sadness. But exactly one year ago, Jane’s oldest daughter, Mary, died in a tragic accident, and Jane has been grief-stricken ever since. Lost in a haze of antidepressants, she’s barely even left the house. Now, that’s all about to change.

It’s time for Jane to reclaim her life and her family. Jane’s husband, David, has planned a memorial service for Mary, and three days later, their youngest daughter, Betsy, graduates high school. Yet as Jane reemerges into the world, it’s clear her family has changed without her. Her husband has been working long days - and nights - at the office. Her daughter seems distant, even secretive. And her beloved Mary was always such a good girl - dutiful and loving. But does someone know more about Mary, and about her last day, than they’ve revealed?

The bonds between mothers and daughters and husbands and wives should never be broken. But you never know how far someone will go to keep a family together....

©2019 Kaira Rouda (P)2019 Harlequin Enterprises, Limited

What listeners say about The Favorite Daughter

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    61
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    13
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    114
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    54
  • 2 Stars
    25
  • 1 Stars
    20

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Must Read and/or Listen!!!

Couldn’t stop listening. The author did a phenomenal job portraying the character’s personalities. So many emotions were felt for the main character: compassion, empathy, anger, suspicion, and even sometimes pride

Narrator did an amazing job telling the story

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not one like-able character

I would have quit listening but had already made too much of an investment. I couldn’t wait for this to be over. It could have accomplished the same thing in half the time. The protagonist is the most annoying character ever. The performance was believable though- I believed she was Jane...yuck!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good but ...

i felt a little letdown by the ending. The story moved along with interesting characters - none of which I really identified with, but still interesting. i was especially enjoying the sarcasm. But the ending was anticlimactic and expected. i needed a nice big twist at the end to give this one more stars.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story

I wasnt sure who was the crazy one for most of the book. Good entertaining read, unrelateable characters.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Deliciously delusional character and fantastic narration!

Kathleen McInerney nailed this book! She brought Jane to life and made the dialogue versus her inner monologue pop (something that can be hard to distinguish in audiobooks sometimes). Jane is the most delusional, fantastic character I’ve read in ages. The story is so twisted and wonderful. I loved it!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I DON'T UNDERSTAND THE GREAT REVIEWS

I haven't finished this yet and am on the fence about doing so. I don't really understand why everyone finds Jane so fascinating. I'm not the kind of reader who has to find something likeable or redeeming about the characters, but Jane starts to become SUPER annoying somewhere around chapter 7. She is so repetitive; I keep waiting to learn some new aspect to her, but she just goes on and on about her husband/daughter/in-laws and their betrayals. Hopefully, it will get more interesting.

The narrator is fabulous, though - one of the main reasons I keep listening!

And now I've finished. It was as bad as I expected it to be.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Great narration!

I love the narration the narrator did an awesome job! The story was a little repetitive and definitely predictable. I may have to relisten to the last few minutes because one of the mysteries about Kylie -I don’t think was addressed in the end?
Not my favorite but absolutely loved the Narration so I continued to listen hoping it would get better!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Twisted tale

This was such a twisted tale - i thoroughly enjoyed it ! Neurotic, jealous, paranoid, selfish, evil Jane - i just loved her crazy character and the terribly dark storyline. A fast paced thriller and one I would definitely recommend !

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent psychological thriller

NPD is truly having its moment as the personality disorder everyone thinks they know, and as usual with any trend, it finds itself in fiction, especially a thriller eventually. Sometimes, it’s well done, other times it feeds into vile stereotypes but this is one of those times that ring true both in terms of personal experience and studying & other peoples anecdotes.

This is about a family who has just had one of the two teenaged daughters die. The cause isn’t said beyond a cliff being involved in the beginning (not finished yet but several hours in now & having Thoughts), but it’s clearly had an impact on family dynamics.

The story itself is told from the perspective of the mother who clearly suffers delusions of some sort & is an unreliable narrator on EVERY single aspect of the family. She is unlikeable and I find myself wondering how someone like her could trick someone into marrying her & staying married for at least 20 years, and how anyone who has to be around her didn’t already go to prison for at least attempted murder but as usual with most disorders of empathy, she was wearing a completely different personality from her true one until the daughter, Mary, went to university.

Then, the mask started to slip and as she admits freely, “my true self made herself known, she’d just been in hiding these past years.” I’ve met too many people like this for it all to seem too extreme & I almost returned it because memories popped up but the writing & narrating is so good, I kept reading & I am so glad that I did.
5/5 stars.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not my favorite

I could’ve stopped reading this book, but gave it the benefit of the doubt. You could easily figure out the plot. It could’ve been more suspenseful in my opinion.