Your audiobook is waiting…

The Favorite Daughter

Narrated by: Kathleen McInerney
Length: 9 hrs and 31 mins
4 out of 5 stars (60 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

“Will hit you right in the heart” (Bustle)

A PopSugar Best Book of Spring! 

“An exceptional psychological thriller.” (Publishers Weekly

“Compulsively readable and deeply satisfying psychological suspense.” (Christina Alger, USA Today best-selling author of The Banker’s Wife

“Leaves you wanting more.” (Liv Constantine, author of the national best seller The Last Mrs. Parrish

From the author of Best Day Ever, another gripping novel of psychological suspense set in an upscale Southern California community, for fans of B.A. Paris and Shari Lapena. 

The perfect home. The perfect family. The perfect lie.

Jane Harris lives in a sparkling home in an oceanfront gated community in Orange County. It’s a place that seems too beautiful to be touched by sadness. But exactly one year ago, Jane’s oldest daughter, Mary, died in a tragic accident, and Jane has been grief-stricken ever since. Lost in a haze of antidepressants, she’s barely even left the house. Now, that’s all about to change.

It’s time for Jane to reclaim her life and her family. Jane’s husband, David, has planned a memorial service for Mary, and three days later, their youngest daughter, Betsy, graduates high school. Yet as Jane reemerges into the world, it’s clear her family has changed without her. Her husband has been working long days - and nights - at the office. Her daughter seems distant, even secretive. And her beloved Mary was always such a good girl - dutiful and loving. But does someone know more about Mary, and about her last day, than they’ve revealed?

The bonds between mothers and daughters and husbands and wives should never be broken. But you never know how far someone will go to keep a family together....

©2019 Kaira Rouda (P)2019 Harlequin Enterprises, Limited

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Must Read and/or Listen!!!

Couldn’t stop listening. The author did a phenomenal job portraying the character’s personalities. So many emotions were felt for the main character: compassion, empathy, anger, suspicion, and even sometimes pride

Narrator did an amazing job telling the story

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good but ...

i felt a little letdown by the ending. The story moved along with interesting characters - none of which I really identified with, but still interesting. i was especially enjoying the sarcasm. But the ending was anticlimactic and expected. i needed a nice big twist at the end to give this one more stars.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story

I wasnt sure who was the crazy one for most of the book. Good entertaining read, unrelateable characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved every minute of it! couldn't stop listening!

I loved listening to this book sooo much! I couldnt stop listening to it! I love psychological aspects of the way it is written! you find yourself identifying with the main character! the farther you get in the story, the more you realize how Jane unravels!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Narration

I absolutely loved this woman’s voice. I might just look her up and read all her books.
Loved this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Deliciously delusional character and fantastic narration!

Kathleen McInerney nailed this book! She brought Jane to life and made the dialogue versus her inner monologue pop (something that can be hard to distinguish in audiobooks sometimes). Jane is the most delusional, fantastic character I’ve read in ages. The story is so twisted and wonderful. I loved it!