adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When someone shows you who they are, believe them the first time....

When a woman's body is found in the sea at Blakeney Point with a single blow to the head, DI Tom Janssen and his team must work out who wanted her dead and why. What would drive someone to murder an elderly woman in such a savage and callous manner?

A formidable woman, a watcher of the local nature reserve, who dedicated her life to preserving her natural surroundings, has made many friends along the way...and even more dangerous enemies. A veteran campaigner - just how did she manage to succeed against all the odds when facing those with far greater resources than her own?

Meanwhile, a man is found murdered in his kitchen, showing no signs of having put up a fight. This second case brings murder a little too close to home for the entire team. Tom finds himself questioning the motives of those closest to him, and he must face the uncomfortable reality that you never truly know those around you. 

The team must keep secrets from one another, straining their bonds of friendship in order to catch a ruthless killer before they are able to strike again.

Set within the mysterious beauty of coastal Norfolk, this fast-paced British detective novel is a dark murder mystery with a little humor and a touch of romance, one that will keep you guessing until the very end when the final shocking twist is revealed.

The Dead Call is the sixth novel in the Hidden Norfolk series of thrillers from Amazon number one best-selling crime writer JM Dalgliesh, the author of the Dark Yorkshire books. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, JD Kirk, Angela Marsons, Joy Ellis, and Damien Boyd.

©2020 J. M. Dalgliesh (P)2021 J. M. Dalgliesh

What listeners say about The Dead Call

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good series…

I like the series very much and the character of Tom Janessen.
The other characters are adequate— but always seem to need something “to do.” Overall, I have gotten used to the narrator— but would mind heap someone not as “breathy.” Every word sounds like an exhale! Still, the series is well written and keeps one engaged in the Hidden Yorkshire series. . Looking forward to the next one, as well as what’s next in store in the Dark Yorkshire series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Once Again, Never Saw That Coming!

I love this author's books! Always a surprise ending. Always pulled in on page 1. I can't wait for his next book to be released.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AMCAM
  • AMCAM
  • 07-27-21

Compelling listen

Another engrossing whodunnit from JM Dalgliesh that is hard to put down (so to speak!). I’ve now listened to all his books on Audible and can’t wait for the next. Complex interwoven plots along with observations about what makes people tick (the goodies and the baddies) are done well.
My only criticism is the narrator’s lack of attention to detail, some of his pronunciations are way off such as for ‘Cley’ (which rhymes with ‘sky’, not with ‘clay’). If the author chooses real locations I think this detail is important to get right.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marjory
  • Marjory
  • 08-01-21

Where is kill them cold?

Another great book by one of my favourite authors. His books tick all the boxes for me. I am never disappointed with any of his books. The narrator also is great to listen to.
What I am disappointed in is that we get a section of a new book called Kill them Cold. I was so excited that I had another of this series to listen to only too find out it is not published yet. Poor show Audible. why advertise something when you cannot produce the goods.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 09-15-21

Simply marvellous

On what a great book. And I love Greg Patmores voice it’s like silk to the ears. This was a terrific yarn. Lots of anxiety for our lead. The next book no 7 isn’t there yet. I could buy the paperback but w oils miss Greg’s voice too much.