adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Out of the frying pan, into the fire...

Wren thought things were bad when her boyfriend's father tried to frame her for murder. But that was before a hostile army showed up at the city gates, ready to swallow Maradis whole. And before guild members began disappearing one by one - including the Confectioner's Guild's newest Gifted recruit.

Wren, suspecting the king is to blame for the disappearances, undertakes a dangerous investigation that sets her on a collision course with old and new enemies alike. Will she be able to find the missing guild members before tensions boil over into outright rebellion? Or are the guilds willing to go further than she ever realized to rid themselves of the king's tyranny...

Don't miss this thrilling second book in the Confectioner Chronicles!

The Confectioner's Exile is a young adult fantasy mystery perfect for fans of Maria Snyder, Erika Johansen, and Gail Carriger.

Don't miss the entire Confectioner Chronicles!

  1. The Confectioner's Guild
  2. The Confectioner's Exile
  3. The Confectioner's Coup
  4. The Confectioner's Truth
©2018 Claire Luana (P)2020 Claire Luana

What listeners say about The Confectioner's Coup

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is a wild ride and it isn't over yet!

Reviewer: Teresa Fallen Angel

Summary:
Wren thought being accused of murder and almost dying was terrible, but things are about to get out of control. Wren kept her past hidden until the man responsible for her running for her life turns up as one of the king’s council. Wren already had good reason to despise the king, but this took things to a whole new level. After being invited by Lucas, her boyfriend and one of the King’s sons, the revelation about her past and the king’s part in it makes everything crystal clear for Wren. Add this to the possibility of an invasion and the disappearance of guild members takes Wren and her friends on a desperate search leading to who knows where. All Wren is sure is that the king must have a hand in this.

Is the king really involved with the disappearing guild members? Will Lucas believe Wren or will she loose the one good thing that has come out of the dangers she has endured? If their city of Maradis falls will things become safer or worse for the guild member?

I for one can’t wait to see how everything turns out.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

More romance than coup

I didn't enjoy this title as much as the first book in the series. There was much more romance than magic and coup. I love the world building and the idea of the magically infused foodstuffs, and the guilds. I won't listen to the rest of the series, although if you like a romance with a little magic you will probably enjoy it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

I'm enthralled with this story! Romance, betrayal,heartache, mystery, adventure, and a masterful world building! The first book there are threats from an outside Kingdom but they are not the centerpiece until book two when they become entwine with our characters and their fight for their kingdom and freedom from a tyrant king. The power struggle for this Kingdom is twofold, from within and without, bringing a whole new level to the plot!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

This was fabulous!

Book 1 was great. Book 2 was even better! This book had everything you look for in a well rounded book. It has love, hate, plot twists, and everything in between. Give it a listen! NOW!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

more political than expected

This is the second book in the Confectioner Chronicles and it picks up nearly immediately after after Confectioner's Guild. The guilds are in negotiations with the king to renew their contract. It is not going well.Wren, Hale and Sable want more information by Callidus is reluctant to talk. Things get more urgent when a hostile army arrives at the gate.
The king has gifted members of each guild kidnapped to try to control the guilds.
Wren and Lucas have issues due to the secret Wren cannot tell.
The danger for everyone grows and tragic events lead to alliances that bring big regrets.
I am glad I listened to this book because there was so much danger and choices that I didn't like I probably would have stopped reading a physical book. There is much tragedy but it is very well written.
The narrator did a marvelous job.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply too delicious to be over!

My goodness, this book blew me out of the water. the story is exact what the author describes it as: Mystery and Intrigue. spiced up with a healthy dose of romance, devestating betrayal, and an unexpected turns, my heart was just ripped out over and over in this incredibly fast-paced second installment of the Confectioner Chronicles. This book may make you cry. It will make you laugh. It will wholly force you to feel the gambit of raw emotions Wren and Hale go through as the two narrators of this story.

once again, the author - Claire Luana and the narrator - Kelsey Navarro managed to bring the story alive. An absolute most for any YA fantasy audiobook lover!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An awesome binge worthy book!

Oh my goodness I didn’t not expect the crazy twists this story took! I was hooked and couldn’t put it down which made this a quick binge worthy read. The narrator did a great job with the characters. I can’t wait to listen to book three!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fun, Imaginative world!

What a fun series! I enjoyed the story line and creative world. I was very surprised by ask the plot twists! I did not see them coming. And although I did not love a few of the twists, it just adds a layer to the great story. Overall a wonderful, creative world.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

overall

I like book one and was glad to be given a chance to listen to this book which didn't disappoint .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW. Just. Wow.

"Those sons of the Huntress!"

This follows Wren and Hale's POV which is seriously entertaining! There are many legit laugh out loud moments. Though there are some heartbreaking moments too. 🥺

I love Wren. She's so feisty and bold.

I really love all the baking related phrases! They're so creative and funny. This is one of my favorites:

"Leave it to Beckett to be up at 5am as fresh as a blueberry muffin"

A fantastic sequel with lots of action, surprises, and swoonworthy moments. Definitely recommend! 💕

The narrator did a fabulous job! I was impressed with her in certain scenes. She puts a lot of heart into her work and really brings the characters to life.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vana
  • Vana
  • 08-01-20

Tragically amazing

Wow. I love this book...I also am not okay. I am heart broken. I did not know it was possible to start a book loving a character and by the end hate the same character. The romance, the love, the heartache, the death and betrayal. Wow this book has it all! So good!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sally Goddard
  • Sally Goddard
  • 07-11-20

When war comes knocking

Narration excellent. Written well.

If you like stories like Game of Thrones this one is for you.

If you like stories about magical food this isnt it.
I felt let down as it's not used.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roger P.
  • Roger P.
  • 07-08-20

Fantastic

The different take on candy and magic is just great. I love the story, the pace of the story, and the people in it. Did a great job with bringing you into it. I'd recommend this series. Cant wait for the 3rd.