1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"Fast, relentless, and impossible to put down. Landon Beach's The Cabin is a must-read for fans of Ted Bell, Clive Cussler, and Bryan Gruley." (The Real Book Spy)

A potential worldwide catastrophe looms large, while CIA Officer Jennifer Lear waits in a Berlin café to meet with her agent who has critical information regarding the chilling emerging threat. But the agent is late, and the meeting turns into a frantic struggle to survive, generating many questions about how it all could have gone so wrong - the first being: Who exactly is Jennifer Lear?

Six months later, Iggi and Maria Hilliard arrive at their secluded log cabin on the southern shore of Lake Ontario to celebrate the 4th of July with two friends. One is a co-worker of Maria's, Haley Girard, who is struggling with the idea of turning thirty and just looking for a place to relax away from Rochester. The other guest is recently divorced Detroit Detective Cal Ripley, a man who has been on the front lines since 9/11 and needs time away from his job and Detroit.

The plan is to relax, reflect on life, and reconnect. Maria is also hoping that Haley and Cal find some chemistry. However, as the weekend unfolds, it becomes clear that not everyone in the cabin is who they say they are.

From the cafés of Berlin to the Roman Colosseum. From the jungles of Vietnam to the streets of the Windy City. From the neighborhoods of Detroit to the shores of Lake Ontario, and from the glamor of New York City to the secrets of Langley, Virginia comes The Cabin, the third standalone novel in the riveting Great Lakes action adventure series.

If you like high-stakes espionage, searing topics pulled from the headlines, and endings you won't see coming, then you'll love Landon Beach's tense political thriller. 

©2019 Landon Beach (P)2020 Landon Beach

What listeners say about The Cabin

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    214
  • 4 Stars
    99
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    13
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    269
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    186
  • 4 Stars
    82
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    11

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unputdownable Thriller

The Cabin is the third unputdownable standalone novel in the riveting Great Lakes action adventure series from Independent Thriller author Landon Beach.

Fast-paced, entertaining and very suspenseful, The Cabin tells the story of four main characters, each of them with his own dark secret, as they are drawn together by an invitation to spend an extended 4th of July vacation at a remote cabin. But not even one of them can be prepared for what follows next!

With The Cabin, the author has delivered his best novel yet, filled with likeable characters, vivid descriptions and driven by a compelling plot. This is a beautifully written story that will pull you into an adventure around the world, where you’ll meet CIA operatives, Russian Spies, Double Agents, terrorists and many more colorful individuals.

Published and performed by Audible Hall of Fame actor, narrator and voice-over artist Scott Brick, the audiobook version of The Cabin is a treat from the tense beginning to its satisfying end. Scott is one of the best in the industry and he brings all the characters to life with credible voices and accents.

Fans of Clive Cussler and Robert Ludlum cannot pass away The Cabin, it is a great read and an even more better listen!
If you liked this review, please vote Helpful below and find more of them here and on theAudiobookBlog.
I also post honest reviews at the author, narrator, or publisher's request, you can get in touch with me for more details.

Thank you & stay safe,
Victor

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Listen!!!

The Cabin by Landon Beach is a fantastic thriller. I loved the espionage aspect to this book. The author excels at the twists. Scott Brick was amazing bringing the characters to life with his voice. He adds the right tone for the gravity and suspense. I really enjoyed this standalone listen.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Masterful

I enjoyed "The Cabin." Compared to Landon Beach's first two novels, I thought this one was much more complex but masterful. I listened to these on audio, and this one, "The Cabin," required me to pay stricter attention and even go back and listen to certain parts again. This novel moves around a lot and back and forth in time, but is very well put together. It kept my attention from beginning to end. I have found that Landon's novels are very educational while still entertaining. The narration was excellent.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

A Riveting Adventure

I enjoyed this book from the first page to the last. The characters are truly authentic and easy to identify with in this fast paced thriller. I felt an undercurrent of anxiety as I read the story because the author keeps hinting something is about to happen. The reader did an excellent job and I will definitely look for other books he has read. This book was so enjoyable and I highly recommend it to anyone who would like to get lost in a well written novel of suspense.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • WB
  • 05-20-21

I want my credit back

This was awful and totally contrary to the reviews. It was an extremely boring attempt to tell a story. It doesn’t stay with any semblance of a plot. It wanders off to the past of not only the main characters but the parents of the main characters who are not part of the sorry story to begin with! After a time you lose track of what the story is...or isn’t. Very politically motivated about gay rights. If I wanted to read a book about that I would buy a book about that. It was awful and I want to return the book. I couldn’t finish it. I also hope they put this review up front so people won’t get fooled like I did. What a waste of my time!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Ridiculous

This book hops around way too much, and the characters are ridiculously unbelievable. The author overwrites everything. I'm sorry, readers are not idiots, you don't have to hit them over the head in hopes they understand something. The only reason I was able to finish this book is because Scott Brick is my favorite narrator. And, as long as I am bitching, the title is stupid. There is a cabin in the book -- a luxurious beach cabin -- but it has nothing to do with the far-fetched, slapped-together, international spy plot.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

earnest and well-meaning

This reads more like a dramatization of a sociology textbook than any kind of mystery or thriller. It has earnest and well-meaning lessons to tell, but it's fundamentally right-minded and didactic . . . meaning dull, to those of us who feel we've already internalized these lessons and are really looking for something a bit more pulpy and engaging on a less high-minded level.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Spot on! Suspense and intrigue!

Landon Beach’s books are top notch and his third novel, The Cabin, a thriller, is even more packed with suspense and surprises. Scott Brick’s masterful narration brings Beach’s tale of intrigue, conspiracy, murder, and espionage to a new level. The skillful description of characters, setting, and impending catastrophe keeps the audience in step with every twist and turn. Who can be trusted and who is putting people’s lives and our country at risk with a threat to modern civilization? Beach does not disappoint and you will be guessing who did it until the end. I highly recommend this book and urge you to share it with others!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

finished this one in a day it just hooks you

another book i cant get enough of i bought all three on audible and did one a day and just caint wait till i can get more

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another good book from Landon Beach

Great story and Scott Brick is one of the very best narrator’s out there.

I’ll definitely be getting The Hike.

2 people found this helpful