• The Bookbinder's Daughter

  • An Absolutely Magical and Gripping Novel
  • By: Jessica Thorne
  • Narrated by: Charlie Norfolk
  • Length: 10 hrs and 34 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (22 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Bookbinder's Daughter  By  cover art

The Bookbinder's Daughter

By: Jessica Thorne
Narrated by: Charlie Norfolk
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Shaking, Sophie clutches her delicate leaf-shaped pendant. It belonged to her mother – who disappeared at Ayredale Library years ago. Now, she’s invited to join Ayredale herself. Is this her chance to finally learn the truth?

Sophie has always believed her mother abandoned her, and tries not to dwell on memories of laughter and bedtime stories. Arriving at the renowned Ayredale Library deep in the English countryside, Sophie feels strangely at home among her fellow bookbinders and the endless shelves of antique books.

But everything changes when a beautiful door – engraved with a leaf matching her mother’s old necklace – swings open at her touch. Sophie gasps at the impossible sight inside: a silver tree growing higher than the library itself. Amidst the gentle rustling leaves, Sophie hears a familiar whisper, although there’s no one to be seen:

"There you are, my Sophie. I knew you’d come back for me."

Reeling, Sophie can’t believe she is hearing her mother’s voice. Could the magical library itself have stolen her mother away? Could the necklace unlock the secrets of the tree?

Asking the enigmatic Keeper of the Library for answers gets her nothing but dire warnings – and when another face from her past appears at the grand doors of Ayredale, Sophie’s blood runs cold at his sinister smile. Will she ever find the truth about her mother – or will Sophie be the next to disappear?

An absolutely gripping listen about long-hidden family secrets and the magic that lurks between the pages of every book. Perfect for fans of The Ten Thousand Doors of January, The Night Circus, and The Binding.

Critics Reviews

“Phenomenal… magical… the perfect winter read!” (@houseofbonesandsorrow)

“Hauntingly beautiful!... will capture any fantasy lover’s heart.” (Fromthebookshelfofdreams)

©2021 Jessica Thorne (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.