The Book Charmer

Series: Dove Pond, Book 1
Length: 11 hrs and 42 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (287 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The New York Times best-selling author of the wildly popular MacLean Curse series crafts a charming and evocative story about a picturesque Southern town, two fiercely independent women, and a magical friendship that will change their lives forever.

The residents of Dove Pond, North Carolina, know three things: They have the finest barbecue this side of Atlanta, their apple festival is the best that ever was, and the town has phenomenal good luck whenever the Dove family has seven daughters. Fortunately, that time is now, because Dove Pond desperately needs a miracle.

The seventh daughter, Sarah Dove, believes in all things magical. Books have whispered their secrets to her since she was a child. Now the town librarian, she makes sure every book finds the reader who most needs it. But recently, the books have been whispering something different - that change is about to come to Dove Pond. Sarah is soon convinced that the legendary Dove Pond good luck has arrived in the form of new resident, Grace Wheeler.

After the tragic death of her sister, Grace has moved to Dove Pond with her grieving young niece and ailing foster mother hoping to retrench financially and emotionally before returning to her fast-paced city life. But she soon learns that life in a not-so-sleepy town isn’t as quiet as she’d hoped. Despite her best efforts to focus on her family, she can’t avoid the townspeople, especially her next-door neighbors, the quirky and talkative Sarah Dove and cynical veteran Chris Parker. Grace’s situation grows more complicated when she assumes her duties as town clerk and discovers that Dove Pond is on the verge of financial ruin.

Already overburdened by her own cares, Grace tries to stay aloof from the town’s issues, but she’s never been good at resisting a challenge. With Sarah’s encouragement, and inspired by the wise words of a special book, Grace decides to save her new town. And in her quest, she discovers the rich comfort of being a part of a loving community, the tantalizing promise of new love, the deep strength that comes from having a true friend, and the heartfelt power of finding just the right book.

With Karen Hawkins’s “fast, fun, and sexy” (Christina Dodd) prose, The Book Charmer is a feel-good story with plenty of heart that will appeal to fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Alice Hoffman, Heather Graham, and Jude Deveraux.

©2019 Karen Hawkins (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

What listeners say about The Book Charmer

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    170
  • 4 Stars
    87
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    163
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    146
  • 4 Stars
    70
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

not very magical

The whole idea of a girl who talks to books seemed very interesting. But that is not what the book was about. The story was vastly over shadowed by a plot about a crabby lady planning a fall festival, and dealing with the suffering of a loved one with dimentia. The interesting parts like the two possible love stories and the whole thing about magical books- were left untold. The boring parts, like who said what at a town meeting, were drawn out forever.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A little bit Fannie Flagg a little bit Good Witch

I love this! I love all the people in this small town and want to know all of their stories. What a great way to kick off a new series. I thought at first it was supposed to be a romance but it is a “small town” narrative on the lines of Fannie Flagg. The town is struggling and Sarah knows that Grace is important to saving it she just doesn’t know how they will get it started. I love how bossy the books sometimes are and how Sarah talks to them as if they are people. I love how people take books she gives them with only reluctant weird looks because she always seems to know they need that one. I love the interactions between the characters. And I love Grace. She is complex and strong and full of wounded love. All of the parts having to do with her mom and dementia are so real. The narrators are excellent too!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A relievingly sweet story with a bit of romance but not about the romance.

This book whiled away some otherwise dull, chore-heavy hours for me. The author’s prior books seem to have relied on “steamy” elements as sell points, so I was relieved to find a clean, engaging story with just enough magic to add a touch of whimsy. I have read enough phenomenal books to be unable to call it that, but it was very enjoyable, and I hope the author keeps to the same vein with the rest of the Dove Pond series.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A warm cozy Feel-Good Read

I love the Dove Pond Series and hope for many, more very soon. There are so many characters with stories of their own just waiting to be told!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Lovely feel good listen

I was concerned that this book wouldn’t live up to my expectations after reading the reviews but I quite enjoyed it! It magically was just what I was looking for. I listened to this during the uncertain times of Covid 19 and political upheavals and it brought a ray of sunshine and joy to my days. At first I wasn’t sure I liked Grace’s narrator, but give her a chance, she'll grow on you. The overall performances were top notch. Yes it was predictable, yes it was a little sweet and tart like an apple pie and it was just what I needed! The Book Charmer certainly picked this one out for me! Enjoy!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The best magical realism since Sara Addison Allen

I loved everything about this book. The narration was spot on, the characters were amazing and I can't wait for the next book in the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful in its simplicity.

Light, airy and sometimes heart breaking. I could feel the pain, laugh at the satire and hope for the future .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable story

I really enjoyed this story and the characters in this book. It’s not a classic just a fun read with characters you wish you knew and a town you would like to live in.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excited to see where this goes

So everything that I love about this book makes you want to be drawn into this world makes you just want to live there in a simple little town. Everyone that is in the book you want to know even the lazy mayor. I am excited that this is the first book of I’m hoping A Series because I need to know if the seventh daughter gets her happy ending

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Delightful

Looking forward to more stories about these new friends in Dove Pond. Nice, easy read during the Pandemic and race riots.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Judith Staples
  • Judith Staples
  • 09-13-19

Better books to read.

Finished it. Story predictable. Two of the character you are waiting for a situation to be resolved and it is over.