Your audiobook is waiting…

The Blackest Heart

Narrated by: Tim Gerard Reynolds
Series: The Five Warrior Angels, Book 2
Length: 36 hrs and 24 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (107 ratings)

Regular price: $41.99

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Gladiator. Assassin. Thief. Princess. And the slave. The five warrior angels have been revealed; one by one, the mystical weapons they once wielded are being found, and an ancient prophecy is finally being fulfilled. Or is it?

For when it comes to recorded history, much is intended to manipulate and deceive.

Returning to the kingdom of Gul Kana, Princess Jondralyn has suffered a devastating loss, discovering that not all prophecy is to be assumed, not all scripture to be trusted. At the same time, her younger sister, Tala, has found faith within herself while facing off against villains, who are using her for their devices. 

Hawkwood, the former Bloodwood Assassin, is captured. And the knight, Gault, betrayed by the Angel Prince, can only wonder of the fate of his daughter who has fallen into terrible hands. All while Nail embarks upon the deadliest quest the Five Isles has ever known.

©2019 Brian Lee Durfee (P)2019 Recorded Books

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    91
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Your new favorite fantasy series!

This sequel to The Forgetting Moon (first in The Five Warrior Angels series) is every bit as overpowered, action-packed, and relentless as its forebear. I saw that Barnes & Noble and Publishers Weekly said The Blackest Heart is a superb follow-up to The Forgetting Moon. In fact The Blackest Heart just may be the best fantasy novel I've ever read. Durfee's cinematic shifts of perspective and his artist’s eye for shades of atmosphere propel this enormous tapestry of human frailties and will keep fans of grand epic fantasy turning the many, many pages.' for fans of Game of Thrones, Wheel of Time, Mark Lawrence and Joe Abercrombie. With nearly 1,000 pages to film, Dufree indulges in all the genre has to offer—fantastical creatures, immersive worldbuilding, brutal action, and massive adventure. Fans of gloriously over-the-top epics will find this one earns that substantial page count.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • D. Dial
  • Warner Robins, GA United States
  • 04-22-19

Better than the first

This was a great book. I found the first book irritating because not one of the young people could adapt to the trauma they experienced. Working with traumatized teenagers almost daily, this has not been my experience. Some are very flexible and resilient, many adapt and succeed only to have to face their demons on down the road. The first book had a bunch of kids saying this can’t be happening for weeks or months. This has not been my experience do I found that difficult to get past,

This second book was much better, in my opinion.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable duo of books

You have to listen to book one before the second one. Quite an epic journey for the characters in these books.
Some things unexpected and others make you hope that the bad guys and girls get what they deserve. This does not always happen when you think it would. Some non type human characters make the book even better. I would recommend these books and narrator very highly.
The narrator does a superb job all the way through. If not for him it would not be as good.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Grimdark Series!

Excellent story, dark and twisted characters. An excellent Grimdark tale. Definitely Not for the squimish.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

Best series of books I've listened to in a long while, can't wait for next

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ryan
  • Pittsburg,KS
  • 03-17-19

Even better than the first!

Mr. Durfee is on a roll and the story gets even better in this second book in what's shaping up to be one of the best series of our time. I can't wait to see where he takes the story from here!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The cake is a lie. There is no cake.

This is how I feel after reading the first and trying to finish this book. I like finding out secrets but what if those secrets have secrets. AND those secrets are lies. What if the lies have truths and then some of the truths have lies. But some of those lies by the way are true. Feel like you need some sort of explanation? Nope. You aren't going to get one. Why? Heck if I know. That's the feeling you get when you try to understand what's going on in this book. You have what everyone believes is true. which is of course false. Then you have what the enemy thinks is true which is false, then you have what the book in little sections before the chapter claims is true. And then you have a super secret society that believes they know what's true but then they are so super secret nobody tells each other what is true. THEN you have another confusing society of assassins who are against the truth. Plus each main character in the book have their own version of what is true. Sooooo it's a bit confusing. And if you think reading the second book will be of any help or thought the title of the book was indicative of something, or thought that the books description meant anything that is also not true. Just like in the first book the author seems to forget his own title. And everything about forgetting moon could be summed up in 250 char tweet. "It was found under a mountain, he carried it on a mule and then lost it after his first fight." It's about as interesting as it sounds. And Blackest heart isn't any better. "They found it under a mountain, lots of ppl died, she took it, and then the graditor did." All in all it got fired like twice. very UNDERWHELMING. So the book lies, the titles a lie and the content is about ppl lying to each other.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t Take It

Mr. Durfee is a talented writer. The thing that frustrated me with his writing is that there doesn’t seem to be any character development past their insecurities or their arrogance. Despite all the evidence, main characters still associate with people they don’t trust and provide them with information that they shouldn’t be privy to. Then they are stunned, over and over, when the “bad person” they associate with breaks their trust again. I just got tired of the foolishness of the main characters. I couldn’t sympathize with that level of stupidity.

I did like the way the author wrote about atrocities committed by the antagonists. His unflinching detail made me hate them all the more.

Mr. Reynolds, as always, did an outstanding job as narrator.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

This story is sh!t.

I’m sorry. The author has too much promise to immerse his audience in such drech. The story has great promise but I’m too repulsed at the needless violence to follow it any longer.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good read, struggled to finish.

The story was great, and the narration was good. However, the characters are a bit one dimensional which got tiresome after awhile.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful