adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An untapped frontier. Reaping and sowing. Redemption through growth.

Matt is running from a life that he no longer wants, and he’s found a solution. By logging in to the newest game, Livia, he gains chances that he can’t get anywhere else. Matt chooses to cut out a new life for himself on the edge of civilization, by venturing to the frontier town of Tallrock. As soon as he gains his class, the newly minted Cycle Mage has one goal: farming. 

Now known in-game as Kastigan, he gains a starting bonus parcel of virgin land that he will need to convert to farmland from the ground up. Kastigan needs to decide what to grow, what animals to raise, and who to hire; all while dealing with a Legion Commander who hates him for no apparent reason, surviving in the wild land where monsters roam freely, and uncovering lost relics from a forgotten time. 

If he succeeds, he will create a new home for himself. If he fails, he will lose not only his farm, but all the workers, crops, and beasts that he has spent every last penny to acquire.

©2020 Xander Boyce (P)2021 Mountaindale Press

What listeners say about Tallrock

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    554
  • 4 Stars
    131
  • 3 Stars
    47
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    597
  • 4 Stars
    70
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    492
  • 4 Stars
    131
  • 3 Stars
    47
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

unexpected results

I will be 100% honest I only got this audio book because of I saw Andrea was doing it in their discord post when it was released. I will say I thought it would have been a simple book about just ah farming and dealing with the local government because of taxes, I was surprised and over joyed to be wrong so thank you andrea for your hard work and showing this to me. And THANK YOU Xander Boyce for taking the time and effort to making such a great book.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good start

Good start to a crafter/farmer type MC. The world needs to be flushed out and the MC needs to get his head in the game and stop lingering on the past, yes what happened was bad but a lot of time has passed. The author also should stop it and get in with the adventures of Matt.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing slice of life litrpg.

Andrea did an amazing job narrating as always. she never fails to impress.

Tallrock is the book i didnt know i needed until i was a few chapters in. It scratched the itch i didnt know i had. The MC is just a simple guy reaching for a simpler life. I know ill be recommending this to the other fans of LitRPG i know.

Xander Boyce only has a few books under his belt but every single one is worth its weight in bitcoins. I eagerly await any of his next books.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fans of The Land and The Wandering Inn Apply here

This is an excellent series if you like the numerical side of LitRPG. it's all build and no dive, and by that I mean it's all about trying to build a settlement logically and thinking about what needs to happen. The main character doesn't make obvious mistakes and then have to pay for them because of a disaster he caused and fight his way out of a dungeon. he says "Nope!" I need to deal with how I'm going to set up my irrigation system.

it's light on action. there is suspense and some surprises but that's not what this is. this is "how many units of food do I need to feed my people, and how deep can I get into this gaming system to avoid dealing with my awful personal life that I don't want to go into right now"

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Excellent One

This is another great performance by Xander Boyce read by the wonderful Andrea Parsneau.

Despite the slow pace of the story it was thoroughly enjoyable.

My only complaint is the nonexistence of any sort of romance. Given our MC's past it is understandable why romance is not an immediate thing. However, in my opinion just a hint of romance would have made this a 5 Star review.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

irl Loss of hope in the death of a loved one in

In the game new life and a new chance after suffering a loss that no man should have to face this is what happens in this story at times you may find out a low heavy when it comes to dealing with what happened to him out of game but in game as exciting and interesting the 1st 3 chapters are a bit of a slog but that's just your character's creation and all the stuff that comes with that this is one of those ones that you think it's unfair due the fact that I want the next 1 to come out next month I want more more more

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The exact kind of book I like

I didn't really like Xander's Red Mage series but I thought I'd give this one a shot since I love Andrea Parsneau's narration. I am so glad that I did because I loved this book! LitRPG is my favorite genre and the laid back nature of this book was really welcoming. The main character is definitely worth rooting for and I was always excited to learn more about the game. It had just the right amount of stats and stat increases, I'm one of the people is really interested in that stuff. I just want more books in this series because the ride was just so much fun! Plus Parsneau does a fantastic job as always!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful narrator for a new series from one of my favorite authors

Definitely a relaxing but fun, well written, well narrated story with likable characters and no “ugh I need a break from this” type moments. Xander’s other series is how I got into listening to LitRPG and Andrea’s stunning character voice range (this was the first book I’ve read of hers - I had to check it was only her narrating cause the old man voices are so on point) just adds icing to the wonderful story. I’ve listened to it at least 5 times through <3

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

She tried so hard to save the book.

Andrea is an awesome narrator. But, she couldn’t even save this book. The book had a lot of potential,a good background story but you can only be excited about farming for so long before you just give up on anything exciting happening, And worse, at the end of the book you are proved right.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

meh

a slice of life kind of story no real drama except for the author dealing with his loss I don't feel sorry for the stupid toxic masculinity author but I do feel bad for the mother who lost her child.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 04-26-21

Great depth and unique outlook

I loved this set up, the building pace of the story and ingame character development tied to a real life back story which progresses as a minor element in the real world.

love a good crafting story!

gnomes rule!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-07-21

Great first book

I really enjoyed this book and the slice of life perspective. looking forward to more

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-05-21

slow than his others but brilliant

if you liked his last two books I think you will love this one

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alex Ironside
  • Alex Ironside
  • 03-02-22

Enjoyable listen

Tall rock was an enjoyable settlement building litrpg, with some interesting characters and world building.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ParBoiled
  • ParBoiled
  • 01-20-22

A Proper Slice of Life

I really enjoyed this book, it is very laid back and gives you a chance to just settle in and enjoy the story, characters and world building.

There are a couple of fight scenes, but mostly it's about a man trying to build up a farm/settlement with a giant dragon lady.

Looking forward to the next book in the series!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 03-12-21

Boring

Boring, this book had a slow pace, with no humor or anything that wants to keep you listening. I'm all for a good slow book, but please give me something to be intrigued by. The main character is as bland as you get them, and with an attempt to give him a sob back story.. But you feel nothing, and everything he tries just happens with out no drama.