Stone Hill: Shadows Rising

A Supernatural Thriller, Book 1
Narrated by: John Pirhalla
Length: 8 hrs and 32 mins
Categories: Fiction, Horror
4 out of 5 stars (12 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Pastor John can cure what ails you. For a price.

In the vein of Stephen King, Stranger Things, Dean Koontz, or H. P. Lovecraft.

A subterranean horror suspense thriller full of monsters, action, psychological thrills, and mystery.

Shadows creep beneath the sleepy, small town of Stone Hill.

Michael came to visit his grandparents, but the home he once knew has changed beyond recognition. A demigod church leader is in control and performs bizarre miracles to a congregation all dressed in white. His followers patrol the streets by day. Phantoms roam the woods by night. People vanish without a trace. Michael wants to go home, but now his grandfather has disappeared too.

In a race to rescue him, Michael stumbles into an ancient labyrinth of tunnels below the church and discovers an evil that has terrorized the town for years.

Deep underground he will face his most disturbing fears within unimaginable darkness, but will he live to reveal its secrets?

©2019 Dean Rasmussen (P)2019 Dean Rasmussen

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A gamble worth taking!

It's been getting more difficult as each credit rolls around to find a book I enjoy. A book that has a good story, a perfect narrator and it's too short (length)...aren't as plentiful as they once were. Luckily sometimes you'll find yourself a book like Stone Hill, which completely took me by surprise & exceeded my expectations.

PS. My only complaint...a certain character who's always whining about doing something. I can't be the only one who felt like slapping this character!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Start To A YA Series—Classic Horror

Great story for teens or teens at heart. Very suspenseful with little gore. It’s a great old fashioned horror story that keeps you engaged by ramping up the suspense and mystery. The characters are likable and realistically written—realistic dialogue. The plot does have a few holes, but they weren’t that distracting.

The production and narration was really well done. All characters have distinct voices.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen.

It is a great start to a series. I can't wait for book 2 to come out.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Compelling Story!

Dean Rasmussen is a new author to me, so I wasn’t sure what to expect when I added Stone Hill to my library. Its slow start quickly ramps up, revealing a tale that reminded me of classic horror stories I read as a teen.

It’s well written with creative descriptions and plenty of creepy moments. If you’re a fan of H.P. Lovecraft and classic supernatural horror stories, Stone Hill is a fun ride! Looking forward to learning more about Stone Hill in Book 2.

I enjoy listening to audiobooks and the narrator is a big factor of whether I enjoy a book. John Pirhalla’s narration was excellent, offering a wide range for the various characters; young and old, male and female. John was a perfect fit for Dean’s story in my opinion and I hope to see more from this duo in the future.