• Spellbound

  • An Enemies to Lovers Fantasy Romance (Embracing Darkness Collection)
  • By: Rebecca L. Garcia
  • Narrated by: Krystal Hammond
  • Length: 14 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance, Fantasy
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A dark and twisted fantasy stand-alone romance where hate and love collide in a world filled with snarky witches and vengeful gods. Perfect for fans of To Kill a Kingdom and Kingdom of the Wicked.

Grieving being torn from her beloved sister, who remained behind in the human kingdom, Elle makes it her life purpose to become a keeper in her cursekeeper coven.

But this calling won’t be an easy one. The magic possessed by her small coven of four casts them as outsiders throughout the kingdom. Yet when witches are found murdered in the woods, the cursekeepers quickly become the town’s only hope.

Many believe the murders are the work of a god. An old one returned in search of vengeance. Elle, on the other hand, suspects Viktor, the new warlock to town, is somehow linked to the violent deaths. However, his agenda doesn’t stop there.

Infiltrating her coven.

Charming everyone around him.

Threatening her plans to become a keeper.

This rivalry quickly becomes personal.

When the truth behind the murders surfaces, Elle finds herself thrust into a dangerous new world, trapped between twisted hearts and terrifying beings. With the victims piling up, she must decide who to trust and who to protect before it’s too late.

©2021 Rebecca Garcia (P)2021 Rebecca Garcia

What listeners say about Spellbound

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love, darkness, steam, and tension abound in Spellbound

I had the pleasure of reading the Spellbound ebook as an ARC before it was released in September and now I have the pleasure of listening to it as an audiobook. I just love audiobooks so I of course loved Spellbound even more as an audiobook. Thank you to the author for my free audio review copy. It was my choice to read/listen and I’m leaving this review voluntarily.

I like that Spellbound is witchy, brutal, in a world filled with magic and monsters in all forms. I loved how I got God of War mixed with Hercules vibes but if these had a female, witch MC. Unlike the ebook, I’m giving the audio 5 stars instead of 4. The narration and way you can hear the inflection in characters voices etc added to my enjoyment and helped me feel more into the book earlier on. There is a lot of unpredictability and mystery which I also love and I was satisfied with the ending.

The only complaint I have is that I didn’t realize where Elle grew up there is a bit of a country accent so when the narrator started slipping in and out of this when Elle would get upset it was a bit jarring and confusing to me until later in the book where Elle talks to someone from her hometown and Elle refers to the accent in her internal dialogue and the other person has it too. When Elle would slip into this accent sometimes I would rewind to make sure I didn’t miss something and it was actually Elle speaking.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Brilliant Narration with a great story!

First time with this author and this narrator and I'm really pleased with both!

It's also my first time reading fantasy standalone and not a trilogy/full series and i looooved, cause there's never a dragging moment and everything is fast paced.

Elle is a great character full of strength but also a bunch of human fears, while living and growing up between witches. She's trying to fit between them, cause her only blood family is living with the humans.

Viktor is that guy that we hate to love, but do it anyway! He's cocky, handsome, skilled and a fierce protector of her.
Together they're like fire and gasoline going through a love and hate relationship that i couldn't stop listening!

They go from rivals, to friends to lovers, so the romance is slow burn, but there's so much going on with the story, the different enemies and their quests, that it didn't bothered me.

The side characters, the witches, the family build between different personalities on the same coven, Edmund fatherly relationship with Elle were everything that i didn't know i needed!

The fast pace worked for me, since it's a standalone, but i wish the smut part wasn't so rushed to the point where their actions looked out of blue and out of place.

The time period confused me a little, cause one time looked like old times, with a gothic vibe, where a mascara was a huge thing to create on makeup, and in the next she was talking about a cellphone that they didn't have. So I still don't know where they fit and it didn't matter anyway.

🎧 About the Audiobook Narration 🎧

The narration was brilliant!
I really have zero complains about it and it definitely helped me to love the story!
Usually single narration ain't my thing, but she was incredibly talented with the details and intonation, bringing emotion and life to every scene!
I'll definitely be looking forward to her audiobooks.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enemies to Lovers Fantasy Romance

Spellbound by Rebecca L. Garcia is an enemies to lovers fantasy romance that I listened to on audio narrated by Krystal Hammond. The book is part of the Embracing Darkness Collection and can be read as a standalone.

This is the first book of Rebecca's that I have read, and it definitely won't be my last. I was pulled in from the first chapter and couldn't wait to see what was going to happen next. I really enjoyed the relationship that bloomed between Elle and Raiden.

I can't wait for the next book in the collection Heart Of A Witch to be released on audio.

Krystal did an amazing job on the narration. I really enjoyed that she used different tones/voices for each character. She really brought the story to life. I look forward to listening to more of her work in the future.

I would recommend this book if you like fantasy romances or enemies to lovers romance.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Good Dark Mystical Adventure

This is my first book by this author, I had very little idea what to expect from the book, true I read the blurb which I found intriguing and although the story was lengthy at nearly fifteen hours I found that parts of the book were a little rushed, almost every conflict or fight being resolved quite quickly without any true depth. The same applied to the main character, Elle, she didn't really come across as a person with a depth of character and because of this, I found it hard to connect with her. Viktor though was a much more interesting character, easy to relate to and very well-drawn. That said I did love the chemistry between Elle and Viktor, which was very well done, it was palpable and full of sexual tension and heat from the moment they met.

The storyline on the whole is a good dark mystical adventure that takes place in a world full of forgotten gods, dark magic, spells, witches and our two lost souls who come together in a love-hate love relationship. The plot was fast-paced and apart from things I've already mentioned most of the characters were well written. The world-building was good and the found family trope added a good spin.

The narration by Krystal Hammond was well done and added to my enjoyment of this book

I was given this audiobook as a gift and am voluntarily writing my review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Embracing Darkness Collection

Spellbound (Embracing Darkness Collection) is a thrilling novel intricately weaved romantic fantasy with a fascinating well-detailed world building. Two realms, enemies to friends to lovers romance and a spellbinding new world with mythical creatures. Brimming with danger and mystery; gods, humans and witches bring a tantalizing plot that unfolds seamlessly. Absolutely prominent, highly recommend.

Krystal Hammond A1 performance was phenomenal. Her inflection was smooth and changed with the different emotions.

Highly recommend listening to this audio.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best story ever!!! 5+++++ stars!!!!

Spellbound, an Audiobook by Rebecca L. Garcia is the PHENOMENAL story of Viktor and Elle. This story brings paranormal romance to a whole new level!!! I was under the spell of this book immediately and that spell never let up!!!! Elle wants to be a Keeper….but, has problems with self-doubt. Enter a ‘new’ addition to the coven, Viktor….who seems to complete everything effortlessly.

There is so much more here than meets the eye!!!! There are secrets that Viktor is keeping…and life-threatening dangers lurking throughout….evils, threats, death….so many things surrounding these two…and yet……Fantabulous Audiobook!!!!
This story was narrated by Krystal Hammond whose lyrical, haunting voice brought this story to a whole new level!!! Her performance brought chills down my spine!!! Whew!!! She’s fabulous!!

I am volunteering to leave a review for an Advance Reader Copy of this Audiobook.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fun, twisty fantasy book

The narrator was amazing. The inflections and accents were done to perfection and she brought the characters to life. Her voice was easy to listen to, clear, with no mistakes that I could hear. Five stars

The book itself is fantastic. It's set in a land divided between witches, gods and humans. The side characters were fun to listen to (especially Maddox) and came to life on the page just as much as the main characters,
Elle was a great character to follow and her enemies to lovers romance with 'Viktor' was done well. This is a standalone so there's no need to get tied down to a series, and everything wraps up nicely. There's found family, enemies to lovers, and secret identities. Well worth a listen.