adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $34.22

Buy for $34.22

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“An epic reading experience.” (San Diego Union-Tribune)

Acclaimed, New York Times best-selling fantasist Raymond E. Feist gets his masterful Serpentwar Saga off to a spectacular start with Shadow of a Dark Queen. Feist’s classic epic fantasy adventure returns listeners to ever-imperiled Midkemia, a breathtaking, richly imagined realm of magic and intrigue, where two unlikely heroes must rally the forces of the land to stand firm against a malevolent race of monsters intent upon conquest and annihilation. 

Locus magazine calls Shadow of a Dark Queen, “the place to start for those yet to discover Feist’s fantasy worlds.” For fans of Terry Goodkind, George R. R. Martin, and Terry Brooks - and for anyone not already in the thrall of this astonishing author’s literary magic - that is excellent advice indeed.

©2020 Raymond E. Feist (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Shadow of a Dark Queen

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    383
  • 4 Stars
    107
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    358
  • 4 Stars
    74
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    354
  • 4 Stars
    80
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator isn't that bad

I almost didn't get this book because of all the negative comments about the narrator. He does pronounce some words strangely but not so bad that you don't understand what he's saying. The characters have different sounding voices, they aren't all the same as others have said. Don't let the negative reviews of the narrator stop you from purchasing this book. He's not the best but definitely not the worst narrator I've listened to.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book. Terrible Narrator.

The book was fantastic but the narrator was terrible. Mr Joyce was not a good fit for this book. I had to speed it up I've never had to do that to any other book I've listened to but it needed to happen. The voices all sounded the same there was no difference save one voice and then he made him sound like a girl. There has to be a better Narrator out there like Nick Podehl or George Guidall just to name a couple. Fiest is one of my favorite authors and to hear like this sucks.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of my favorites

Having read the book numerous times, I was thrilled to listen to this book. The performance was well done, and ready to listen to the next.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Yes!!! A really good one!!

I love when a audio book starts so full of promise and just grabs your attention immediately so you can close your eyes and live it without falling asleep!!!
Great book!! Very glad I tried it!!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, less than adequate reader.

No differentiation between the characters. It’s even worse when it comes to characters from differenlt ethnicities! He keeps pronouncing “Luis” (LooEES) as “Louis” (Lewis) as if he’s never heard of the Spanish language. The character even curses in his native tongue in the text and yet still refers to him as an Englishmen named “Louis”. His last name is De Savona, for Christ’s sake...:And please don’t get me started on the fake ass, Jamaican accent he tries to use with Jason! He half ass knows a Jamaican accent, “mon” but can’t even try to use a Spanish accent?!! PLEASE don’t use this narrator for the rest of this, otherwise, amazingly written, story!

Where is Simon Vance when you need him?!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic - Worth the Wait

Narrator is hard to listen to at first, but give it a few chapters and you won't be able to stop. Great listen, so excited for the next one!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Remember reading this back in Highschool

Just as I remember from reading this book just after it was released. A very good series and all of the books are just as good. I still get a laugh out of it in places. Really good book.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Feist is a master.

his stories come alive with vibrant energetic prose which weaves a compelling naritive. Enjoy the ride.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The book is much better than the prologue

I was considering abandoning this audiobook, Shadow of a Dark Queen, based on the prologue which did not hold my interest very well. But when I got into chapter one, I loved it. Some really interesting characters and story. Am several chapters into Book 2 and really enjoying it as well.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Low hum when the narrator is talking.

It's kind of annoying but during the book you forget about it. You hear it again sometimes, but then it fades with the story, so it's not enough to be distracting.

2 people found this helpful