adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.00

Buy for $24.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A nest of espionage. A break for the border. A race to survive. An astounding WWII espionage thriller from a modern master of the genre, Sea of Spies is a triumph, perfect for fans of Alan Furst, John le Carré and Robert Harris.

The Allies are desperate to stop neutral Turkey supplying vital materials to the Nazis - materials which could help them win the war. But then a British agent makes a fatal mistake and disappears in Istanbul. In England, detective-turned-spy Richard Prince - back from a clandestine mission in Nazi-occupied Europe - is hunting for his lost son. Before long he is drawn into a dangerous follow-up operation, posing as a journalist in Turkey. The mission soon goes wrong. Out of touch with London and stranded hundreds of miles behind enemy lines, Prince will have to find evidence of the Turks secret trade with the Nazis, as well as a way out. Chances of survival? Low. Chance of completing his mission? Prince will do whatever it takes.

©2020 Alex Gerlis (P)2021 W F Howes

What listeners say about Sea of Spies

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fantastic

the breath of detail in the telling of the story of the spy, his adventures, his perils and achievements is quite masterful. Keeping you riveted for each nuance, to see where they lead.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Totally Captivating - like the series

This is the 2nd book in the series, and just as amazing as the first. It is the tale of a British police inspector who turned Spy. In this installment, he is sent behind Nazi lines to obtain intelligence on the Turkish (supposedly a neutral country) government supplying Germany with Chromium, an essential ingredient in armor and stainless steel. The detail takes you along for that ride. It is so good you have a hard time putting it down.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent WW II spy movel

Good plot. Characters well defined. The “bad” guys are not clownish or cartoonish, as in many novels. Highly recommend to anybody who enjoys this genre.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

another satisfying story with a good performance

The author weaves a good tale with some recurring characters interesting historical perspective. if you enjoy a good spy mystery with some historical background and place based settings you'll like this. The audio performance was well done.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen

Really enjoyed this book. Narrator was excellent. Story never bogged down. Arthur seems to be hitting his groove. Can’t wait to listen to the next one.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Robert
  • Robert
  • 08-18-21

Escapism, needing to suspend disbelief

The second in the series, this book stretches believability, but is well worth a listen in spite of that.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. Milton
  • C. Milton
  • 04-29-21

Richard Prince Compelling

Loved this second book. Would be a great TV series the setting is well researched.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dave Purse
  • Dave Purse
  • 07-07-21

Simple but engaging

My husband enjoys Alex Gerlis’ books, hence he downloaded the Prince books for me to enjoy. Although I found the story itself engaging and the reader was adequate for the task, I found the main character to be rather stupid and dare I say childish in many ways. Suspending my annoyance with many of the actions of Prince and there were many, I was finally able to just enjoy a very simply told tale. This helped me to pass many hours stuck in my car travelling and because the tale is easy it did not distract me from traffic. I liked the narrators voice which certainly helped when I found the script idiotic. I dislike giving poor reviews so try to be generous while understanding how difficult the process of writing actually is. Simply, in real life if Prince had been a spy he’d have been a very naive immature dead one in less than a heartbeat I’m sad to say.