Scared to Death

Cherringham - A Cosy Crime Series: Mystery Shorts 27
Narrated by: Neil Dudgeon
Length: 3 hrs and 4 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (361 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $2.91

Buy for $2.91

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When classic horror movie star Basil Coates becomes the victim of a series of scary pranks, the local police put it down to a crazed fan. Just pranks, after all... But with Halloween only days away, the spectre of murder suddenly visits the ghostly Coates mansion on the hill outside Cherringham - and Jack and Sarah find themselves caught in a mystery worthy of Basil's spookiest roles...

Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new audio episode released every two weeks. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick listen for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham.

The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of DCI John Barnaby in "Midsomer Murders" and Jim Riley in "The Life of Riley". He is also known for his film roles in "The Nativity", "Sorted" and "Son of Rambow". In 2012 Dudgeon starred as Norman Birkett on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.

©2019 Lübbe Audio (P)2019 Lübbe Audio

What listeners say about Scared to Death

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    263
  • 4 Stars
    70
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    276
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    224
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just keep getting better...

In particular, Neil Dudgeon is an excellent narrator. He gets the accents perfectly, especially Jack’s Yankee New Yorker vocalization.
The stories are always interesting, quirky, and not easy to put down.
I do believe I have the complete Audible collection and I’ve been re-listening to them for the past months and enjoying them all over again!
Very enjoyable and I have recommended the Cherringham collections to friends and family.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Vampires never Die

Love these books!
Would you believe a small Cotswold town holds an old dark castle?
Love this reader who brings these stories to life!
Can you believe old and new vampires never die? Or do they?
On Halloween two old actors whose fame was built on playing Dracula awaken old wounds and deceptions to bring a close to their anger.
All this takes place in quiet peaceful Cherringham.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great cosy mystery

I enjoyed the characters and plot very much in this one. The haunted/horror movie theme was fun. I'm not a fan of horror movies but enjoyed the memorabilia collection and old actors as a base for the mystery.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This short is also in compilation Book 9

Because the descriptions for the shorts don't tell you when they are also included in one of the Cherringham Cosy Crime Series compilations, it's easy to buy the same stories again, if you buy Cherringham compilations and shorts. This short is also #26 in the Cherringham Cosy Crime Series Compilations - Book 9. So if you have that compilation, you probably don't want to buy this short again. Just FYI.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

another one...

as usual, this story is very well done.o i didn't disappoint. next one up please...

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Story included in another Cherringham compiliation

I bought this title in March and then bought the Cherringham - A Cosy Crime Series Compilation - Cherringham 25-27 the following month in which this story is one of the three stories. I didn't realize my mistake until I started listening to this title in June. Don't order this title if you intend to get Books 25-27 in the one title.
I love the Cherringham series for the stories, the characters, and the narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

How do they do it?

The Cherringham mysteries are so good. I never guess “who dun it”. I type I love and with great characters and an excellent reader too

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I never get tired of this series!

Love each plot with the old characters as well as the new. Gives an interesting look into various personalities . Admire and enjoy Neil Dudgeon's narratives.


  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointed in this one

I have listened to most of the Cherringham series. This audio book seemed more cheesy and absurd than the others and, while I have never been a fan of this narrator, his gravelly voice was just more grating to my ears this time. I don't know if I will continue with the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I'd like to live in Cherringham..


This was about an old horror film actor who was having spooky things done in his home to his wife and him until it killed him, then it was up to Jack and Sarah to figure out who killed Basil Coates.

As to the narration: Neil Dudgeon does a fantastic job on the voices and the emotions he reads with.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Claire Kendall-Price
  • Claire Kendall-Price
  • 08-08-19

Another Good Yarn from Cherringham.

Sarah and Jack, an aged Horror actor, a little suspension of disbelief, and you have another Cherringham mystery solved.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Victoria Clifford
  • Victoria Clifford
  • 04-01-19

Scared to death

The weakest story of this wonderful series- but still entertaining, and good characters.

Enjoyable chemistry of our hero and heroine cooking together , and pleasant depiction of teenagers , but not convincing that stars of horror movies would be terrified to death by special effects.

But still a comforting cosy murder!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 03-07-19

Wonderful Series

I love this series and have to say this is one of my favorites episodes so far. They just keep getting better and better. They are shorter than a normal audible book but there are compilations of several episodes together available. Wonderful characters and superb narration. There will be a new full length one coming out in April and I can't wait to spend longer with Jack and Sarah in Cherringham. I'm also insanely jealous of anyone just starting this series so much to look forward to.

1 person found this helpful