Your audiobook is waiting…

Scared to Death

Cherringham - A Cosy Crime Series: Mystery Shorts 27
Narrated by: Neil Dudgeon
Length: 3 hrs and 4 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (197 ratings)
Regular price: $2.91
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

When classic horror movie star Basil Coates becomes the victim of a series of scary pranks, the local police put it down to a crazed fan. Just pranks, after all... But with Halloween only days away, the spectre of murder suddenly visits the ghostly Coates mansion on the hill outside Cherringham - and Jack and Sarah find themselves caught in a mystery worthy of Basil's spookiest roles...

Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new audio episode released every two weeks. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick listen for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham.

The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of DCI John Barnaby in "Midsomer Murders" and Jim Riley in "The Life of Riley". He is also known for his film roles in "The Nativity", "Sorted" and "Son of Rambow". In 2012 Dudgeon starred as Norman Birkett on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.

©2019 Lübbe Audio (P)2019 Lübbe Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    140
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    148
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    121
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just keep getting better...

In particular, Neil Dudgeon is an excellent narrator. He gets the accents perfectly, especially Jack’s Yankee New Yorker vocalization.
The stories are always interesting, quirky, and not easy to put down.
I do believe I have the complete Audible collection and I’ve been re-listening to them for the past months and enjoying them all over again!
Very enjoyable and I have recommended the Cherringham collections to friends and family.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marily
  • Aurora, CO, United States
  • 03-19-19

Old Movie Star

After following the set of characters to this the 28 th book, we have become friends. How will we ever know? WasThis death murder or of natural causes. Enjoyable story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I never get tired of this series!

Love each plot with the old characters as well as the new. Gives an interesting look into various personalities . Admire and enjoy Neil Dudgeon's narratives.


  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Trish R.
  • JACKSONVILLE, FL, United States
  • 03-11-19

I'd like to live in Cherringham..


This was about an old horror film actor who was having spooky things done in his home to his wife and him until it killed him, then it was up to Jack and Sarah to figure out who killed Basil Coates.

As to the narration: Neil Dudgeon does a fantastic job on the voices and the emotions he reads with.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I really enjoy listening to the Cherringhamm books

I enjoy most of these books that I have listened to but am really having a hard time listening to them because the sound is not as good as it was and I can't hear it all.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Charlotte Brown
  • 03-07-19

Wonderful Series

I love this series and have to say this is one of my favorites episodes so far. They just keep getting better and better. They are shorter than a normal audible book but there are compilations of several episodes together available. Wonderful characters and superb narration. There will be a new full length one coming out in April and I can't wait to spend longer with Jack and Sarah in Cherringham. I'm also insanely jealous of anyone just starting this series so much to look forward to.