Perfect Crime

A DI Callanach Crime Thriller, Book 5
Narrated by: Robin Laing
Series: DI Callanach, Book 5
Length: 12 hrs and 37 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (39 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.18

Buy for $14.18

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Your darkest moment is your most vulnerable....

Your darkest moment is your most vulnerable.... 

Stephen Berry is about to jump off a bridge until a suicide prevention counsellor stops him. A week later, Stephen is dead. Found at the bottom of a cliff, DI Luc Callanach and DCI Ava Turner are drafted in to investigate whether he jumped or whether he was pushed....

As they dig deeper, more would-be suicides roll in: a woman found dead in a bath; a man violently electrocuted. But these are carefully curated deaths – nothing like the impulsive suicide attempts they’ve been made out to be. Little do Callanach and Turner know how close their perpetrator is as, across Edinburgh, a violent and psychopathic killer gains more confidence with every life he takes....

Includes the short story 'Lost Property' read by the author. An unstoppable crime thriller from the number one best seller. The perfect listen for fans of Karin Slaughter and M. J. Arlidge.

©2019 Helen Fields (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"A tightly plotted tale of obsession and manipulation." (Woman

What listeners say about Perfect Crime

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another winner

Oh, wow, I like these books! One thing Helen Fields does in each book is make the reader connect with the victims. And she does that well. This book starts with a young man attempting to jump off the Queensferry Bridge. He gets talked down by a very kind civilian and the story explodes from there. There’s a new DI (I smiled at that announcement) and Tripp is promoted to DS. Good moves. Luc gets himself into potential trouble and Ava covers for him lining them both up for serious consequences. Just when I figured out who the bad guy was I was thrown in another direction. More good stuff. I must admit that the narration is good and bad. There was one section when the new detective was speaking and I thought sure it was Luc. I had to go back and listen again. The accents have improved in the last few books but the quality slipped a bit here. Can’t wait to see what happens after this ending.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not my favorite

Seemed like most characters had personality changes, and not for the better. I felt like the people all needed an attitude adjustment! Actual crime was easily predictable early on ! But I like the series enough to try the next!-

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lynnect
  • lynnect
  • 05-20-19

Absolutely brilliant

Another amazing book in this series. So believable, I feel like I’ve met the characters. These are by far my favourite books and I am really looking forward to 2020 for the next book

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joanna
  • Joanna
  • 07-08-19

Brilliant

I have just finished the 5th book in this series. I read them all in order and they are just brilliant. I cant wait for the 6th in the series and hope there is going to be another one. I think there probably will be as it was left open and ready for the story to continue. If there is, I hope the narrator remains the same as he makes Callanach sound very sexy, although when he was narrating the voice of Ingrid, I am sure he sounded a bit welsh rather than french !! The characters are all very believable and I have enjoyed all of the books immensely. I would highly recommend.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracey wolf
  • Tracey wolf
  • 06-27-19

Brilliant

Kept me wanting to know who did the murders from the start,well written and well read.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vicky
  • Vicky
  • 06-12-19

Brilliant

Another none gripping story , I couldn't stop listening to it. Can't wait for the next one 👍

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jk
  • jk
  • 06-07-19

Brilliant !

They just keep getting better and better . What a great series this is. Helen Fields is a great author , and the books work great in audio form . I know the characters very well now . I always think that’s the sign of a good book and I was sorry to finish it ! Looking forward to the next “PERFECT “ book!!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs Claire Carter
  • Mrs Claire Carter
  • 05-25-19

Gripping!

Couldn’t stop listening to this one. Characters develop in such an interesting way. Love the humour around Overbeck and the relationship between Eva and Luke. But the plot is gripping. Dramatic irony with the reader suspecting before the team know keeps the tension taut. Can’t wait for next instalment!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda
  • Linda
  • 08-26-19

Another good one in the series

Even though I spotted the murderer fairly early on in the story this instalment in the Callanach series certainly didn't disappoint. Extremely well read by Robin Laing.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kate Hassler
  • Kate Hassler
  • 07-21-19

Amazing

I binge listened every one of this series after getting hooked on book one. Superb storylines and characters and the narration is superb. Can’t wait for book six in December.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-10-19

Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant !

Another fantastic book from Helen Fields ! Keep them coming Helen !!!! Bereft now as don't have another of this fantastic series to listen too ! Brilliant story line and beautifully narrated! Didn't want it to end !!!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss Ruth
  • Miss Ruth
  • 06-05-19

Love this series......

I waited for this audiobook for aaaaaaages and when it was finally released I couldn’t bring myself to listen.... With the previous books I enjoyed them so much that didn’t want them to end, I was so immersed.... and so I didn’t want another long wait for the next one once I’d finished this one...... This is a series that is well worth listening too....so much more than regular crime fiction. (if you can get past book one with the comical narrator with the Inspector Cluso accent) Book 2 narrator is a lovely to listen to.

2 people found this helpful