• Out of Sight

  • DCI Warren Jones, Book 7
  • By: Paul Gitsham
  • Narrated by: Malk Willams
  • Length: 13 hrs and 2 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (77 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Out of Sight  By  cover art

Out of Sight

By: Paul Gitsham
Narrated by: Malk Willams
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $16.35

Buy for $16.35

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

His biggest mistake was trusting someone he shouldn’t have.... 

When a body is found abandoned under a bridge, teeth and fingerprints removed, DCI Warren Jones and his team have little to go on. And once they finally identify the victim, the case doesn’t get any easier.

Estranged from his family but desperate to reconnect, the victim led a solitary life—apart from secretive liaisons with a series of partners he met online. Could one of them be guilty of his murder? Or does the truth lie closer to home?

The more Warren digs, the murkier the picture becomes—rewritten family wills, sabotaged CCTV footage and black-market deals are just the beginning. Only one thing is for sure: whoever was behind the brutal murder, they carefully won the trust of their victim before ending his life....

A twisty, thrilling police procedural, perfect for fans of Peter James and Peter Robinson.

©2021 Paul Gitsham (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"A cracker of a page-turner.... Highly recommended." (Neil Lancaster, best-selling author of the Tom Novak thrillers and DS Max Craigie crime series)

"Engrossing...kept me guessing right through to the final twist." (Jane Bettany, author of In Cold Blood

"Tightly plotted...both clever and believable. Gitsham’s characters and story are as true to life as they come." (Karin Nordin, author of Where Ravens Roost)

What listeners say about Out of Sight

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another good addition to this series

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The four stars are for the long interviews with suspects. Sometimes my mind would drift. Otherwise, like the continuing follow up on regular cast of characters. Gitsham slips in commentary without the dreadful retelling of old storylines.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Problems With the Recording

Great story but the last two recordings of this series have been terrible. I have tried all of the recommended fixes to no avail. Hopefully Audible will check into this problem.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great

All of these books are great! The plot, the sub plots!!! Love the narrator too.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Never fails to entertain!

Lovely listening to this mystery during long distance driving. Fully engaging and the narrator is one of the best.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book

A great book in the series. The characters are all very believable. This author has NOT fallen into the trap that many police procedure narratives do, that each story has to be more extreme than the last. Most refreshing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent. The best of the series!

I really liked this book- a lot! I read the previous 6 books in the series which helped with the larger context and some of the background asides, but that isn’t necessary to enjoy the brilliance, suspense, and finely interwoven threads of the plot line. My only question is, how long will it take the author to craft a follow-up?
With regard to the narrator, Simon Prebble is my favorite (I’d listen to him read the back of a cereal box), but Malk Williams is right up there too. 5 stars for a performance worthy of the book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The least enjoyable of the 11

Far too much exposition to suit me. The poor narrator had to sound like a drone with pages of reports to recite. All the dates and names finally became meaningless. Made it to the end but with very little satisfaction.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 01-07-22

Not too bad

I enjoyed this although a bit long, a bit convoluted at times. Still I do enjoy this type of mystery’s