• One Day as a Lion

  • A Military Sci-Fi Series (Gordian Knot, Book 1)
  • By: Jonathan Hernandez
  • Narrated by: Ryan Kennard Burke
  • Length: 12 hrs and 43 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (29 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
One Day as a Lion  By  cover art

One Day as a Lion

By: Jonathan Hernandez
Narrated by: Ryan Kennard Burke
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Two civilizations clash. A rebellion grows. The fate of the galaxy hangs in the balance.

Technical Chief "Pappy" Gunther is a grizzled, burning out commando in the United Earth Armed Forces. He ponders a return to civilian life, yet feels a strong sense of belonging to his elite team. When colonists on a far-flung world request aid, a task force from several allied systems is assembled. Pappy and his crack unit are sent to investigate, and to engage a mysterious alien force from beyond.

Talks-to-His-Spear is the warrior-caste champion of a matriarchal space empire called the Regime. Leading an army of fanatical, genetically enhanced super soldiers, he dreams of dying in battle for the glory of his queen. However, he’s beginning to question the motives of this new campaign and fears that he may have to compromise his own deep sense of honor in order to fulfill his tasks.

Nobody expected the two alien cultures to have so much in common and for friendships and alliances to form alongside rivalries. However, when Pappy discovers a rebellion spanning worlds, everything changes. The growing insurrection threatens to tear the Regime - and the galaxy - apart.

Don't miss the exciting start to a military sci-fi series from debut author Jonathan Hernandez. It's perfect for fans of Rick Partlow, Jay Allan, and David Weber.

©2021 Aethon Books (P)2021 Aethon Audio