Not That I Could Tell

A Novel
Narrated by: Erin Bennett
Length: 11 hrs and 44 mins
4 out of 5 stars (687 ratings)

Audible membership

$14.95 a month

Free with a 30-day trial
1 audiobook of your choice.
A monthly selection of Audible Originals.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.99

Buy for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An innocent night of fun takes a shocking turn in Not That I Could Tell, the next thrilling audiobook from Jessica Strawser.

When a group of neighborhood women gathers, wine in hand, around a fire pit where their backyards meet one Saturday night, most of them are just ecstatic to have discovered that their baby monitors reach that far. It's a rare kid-free night, and they're giddy with it. They drink too much, and the conversation turns personal.

By Monday morning, one of them is gone.

Everyone knows something about everyone else in the quirky small Ohio town of Yellow Springs, but no one can make sense of the disappearance. Kristin was a sociable twin mom, college administrator, and doctor's wife who didn't seem all that bothered by her impending divorce - and the investigation turns up more questions than answers, with her husband, Paul, at the center. For her closest neighbor, Clara, the incident triggers memories she thought she'd put behind her - and when she's unable to extract herself from the widening circle of scrutiny, her own suspicions quickly grow. But the neighborhood's newest addition, Izzy, is determined not to jump to any conclusions - especially since she's dealing with a crisis of her own.

As the police investigation goes from a media circus to a cold case, the neighbors are forced to reexamine what's going on behind their own closed doors - and to ask how well anyone really knows anyone else.

©2018 Jessica Strawser (P)2018 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

"Full of slow-burning intrigue, Strawser's second novel will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies and Jennifer Kitses' Small Hours." —Booklist

What listeners say about Not That I Could Tell

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    264
  • 4 Stars
    207
  • 3 Stars
    156
  • 2 Stars
    39
  • 1 Stars
    21
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    328
  • 4 Stars
    185
  • 3 Stars
    82
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    9
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    229
  • 4 Stars
    170
  • 3 Stars
    134
  • 2 Stars
    54
  • 1 Stars
    25

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pleasant - yet thrilly - companion to jogging

Any additional comments?

This book was my companion for a week, as I listened to it during my runs.
It was a pleasant listen, I really liked the narrator. It had enough suspense to keep me intrigued - it reminded slightly of the beginning of the series Slasher, on Netflix - and a (in my opinion) solid conclusion.
Not rating 5 stars ("It's great" instead of "I loved it") because I would have liked more plot twists and surprises, but that's just my personal taste. Still would recommend!

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Dull. Disappointing. Boring.

I hate to leave bad reviews but this book kind of deserves one. It’s completely honest anyway. This book was so boring. You keep waiting for something to happen. But nothing does. You keep waiting for a twist or some giant reveal and nope. To be fair, there is ONE slightly dramatic scene toward the end of the book by even that is a 3 on a scale of 1-10 in drama. And there IS a little “I didn’t see that coming at the end” but it wasn’t a wow moment.

You never get to know Kristin before she disappears. You never get to know the husband before she disappears. I couldn’t even imagine what the neighbors looked like in my mind because there was no real description. There was a side love triangle thing she tried to make work in the story but there is no point to it. The writing style was fine but the book was missing plot twists, drama, shock, emotion...it was just boring day to day lives of be neighbors and then wondering where Kristin went.

And by the way, it’s also completely predictable. Not even much of a hint of it being anything but what the author leads you to believe. This is not a thriller on any level so if that’s what your going for, stick to books like The Wife Between Us and The Last Mrs. Parrish. I’m so confused how anyone can think this a 5 Star book. NOTHING HAPPENS. Exactly what parts were so amazing? Again, I hate being ugly about a book but after reading her first book I was excited about this one. Skip it.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mix of small town story and thriller

I loved this book. There were so many little details about the relationships between this group of neighbours. I also liked the way that although the plot was open from the beginning, there was a weaving through the book to tie up all of the loose ends.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MS
  • 09-25-18

Easy listen

I enjoyed this book. Easy to follow. Highly recommend. Look forward to more titles by this author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read...

Excellent character development and a tough topic handled beautifully. Couldn't wait to get back in the car to keep it going.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

OMG.... Unbelievable story line

I so loved this book and will recommend it to all my family and friends.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the right mix

This was just the right mix of murder mystery, romance, and story. It also had a suspenseful ending I didn't see coming.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!!

This book was so intriguing. Very suspenseful, and had all the elements of a great family drama.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great book.

was good up until the end, then it was great. I enjoyed the story and have already suggested it to friends.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Blessings

It took me a little while to get into the story, but once I did I needed to finish. It was hard to pit it away once the characters and the connections developed. This hot close to home (wasn’t expecting it to be what it was) and was happier for the ending. My own mother was a version of Kristin. Many women..... are not.
I enjoyed this book. In a different way then I gotta joy others.
(Also randy and Roda are my favorites!! I could do with MORE of the ladies all together😍❤️)

1 person found this helpful