Regular price: $36.20

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A pulse-racing terrorist thriller - perfect for fans of I Am Pilgrim, Bourne, 24 and Homeland.

Marc Dane is an MI6 field agent at home behind a computer screen, one step away from the action. But when a brutal attack on his team leaves Marc as the only survivor - and with the shocking knowledge that there are traitors inside MI6 - he's forced into the front line.

However, the evidence seems to point towards Marc as the perpetrator of the attack. Accused of betraying his country, he must race against time to clear his name.

With nowhere to turn to for help and no one left to trust, Marc is forced to rely on the elusive Rubicon group and their operative Lucy Keyes. Ex US Army, Lucy also knows what it's like to be an outsider, and she's got the skills that Marc is sorely lacking.

A terrorist attack is coming, one bigger and more deadly than has ever been seen before. With the eyes of the security establishment elsewhere, only Lucy and Marc can stop the attack before it's too late.

©2016 James Swallow (P)2016 Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd

Critic Reviews

"An intelligent, likable and, above all, believable hero is faced with a frighteningly credible threat in a thriller that hits the tarmac running and doesn't stop accelerating until its terrifying conclusion." (Ben Aaronovitch, author of the Sunday Times best-selling PC Peter Grant novels)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Riviting! Brilliant from beginning to end<br />

Once of the most riviting and exciting audio books ever. Gripping from beginning to end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely brilliant! Marc Dane is a thinking readers hero

A fast paced action thriller with a highly relatable lead character. Marc Dane has a credible combination of capability, fallability, bravery and fear. This book is very enjoyably brought to life by Colin Mace and begging to be made into a movie. I’m already enjoying the sequels in parallel.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-30-17

excellent narration

the narrator kept me listening for hours. exciting plot but narrator did the job excellently

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Robert Rawlins
  • 10-28-17

For lovers of I Am Pilgrim

I was recommended this after reading I Am Pilgrim and it didn't disappoint. Felt engaged with the story and characters early on, and the performance is first class.

As with all thrillers of this nature it's perhaps hard for it to be truly original in its plot and ideas, but it doesn't matter

Read it. Enjoy it

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • tony martin
  • 03-14-17

Nomadic odyssey

What a great story. Full of intrigue and thrilling set pieces. Can't wait for the next one

15 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Pen Name
  • 09-13-17

Brilliant.

Very well read and it had me hooked from chapter 1. I highly recommend it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Graeme Alderson
  • 06-06-17

Stop with the Americanisms

Any additional comments?

Generally a decent action thriller spoiled for me by the overuse of American expressions. I have no issues with our US chums and read a lot of excellent American writers but a British-based novel, featuring a British central character and written by someone I assume is a British writer should not refer to mobile phones as cellphones, to tarmac as asphalt and to council flats as apartments. There are loads more examples.
This really grates on me and rather spoiled an otherwise excellent and entertaining listen. Had I been reading the print version I suspect I would have been irritated by the spelling, too.
OK, I can see that the author has an eye on the American market but, come on, isn't it reather insulting to US readers to think they would be confused by the use of arcane Britspeak like mobile phones (what on earth could that mean, they would think).
Come on Jim, be proud of your mother tongue and quit the Americanisms.

23 of 26 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • James G. Hartman
  • 04-04-18

Implausible, even for a thriller.

What disappointed you about Nomad?

I know spy thrillers are supposed to be implausible, and half of the time that is half the fun, however, Nomad abuses this criterion. The right bit of not-yet-field-tested technology is always surprisingly to hand at just the right time and the slimmest of coincidences sees the hero cheat death over and over again. This occurs so frequently it becomes daft. Marc Dane is a relatively three-dimensional character, but all others are caricatures.

Has Nomad put you off other books in this genre?

No. I've recently been reading and listening to Mick Herron's 'Slough House' series. Infinitely better.

What does Colin Mace bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Colin Mace is a good narrator.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Revey
  • 04-17-17

Not bad for a Teckie

Relevant story of today's mad world and the people involved in mayhem for profit, a cause & a control of all theories associated with the bad things we see on the news and media..
A well written pacy story which gives an insight to what goes on within our, their & corporate secret and not so secret services. Our "hero" is fortunate but it is fiction and enjoy the read for that!
RA

19 of 23 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • B. L. Pinches
  • 07-28-17

James who?

Very James Bond. lots of action spread out across the globe with some good characters involved. good plot, but a hint OTT in places. great book though, would absolutely recommend for Bond and Bourne fans. brilliantly read by Mace.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • katof9tails
  • 06-02-17

High adrenaline adventure

I really enjoyed this book. A really fast paced thriller that keeps you guessing to the end. Quite graphic violence & language in places, but this is about ruthless people so it is in keeping with the story. I really liked the narration too. Made the characters really believable. This is crying out for both a movie & a sequel.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Birmingham WI
  • 06-06-17

A Phone Book Might Read Better

List after list of complex detail leaves out a story plot or entertainment it's impossible to get into.. it's just data .. this chap can not tell a story. There is no real link or thread of a story .. he's so focused on detail you loose the will to live....before he then moves on, to the next list

I say avoid this totally

6 of 8 people found this review helpful