Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $2.91

Buy for $2.91

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The elderly owner of Mogdon Manor, Victor Hamblyn, dies in a mysterious fire. But was it really an accident? Jack and Sarah are skeptical... The victim's three middle-aged children, who all live in the village of Cherringham, are possible heirs. And possible murderers... Did one of them set the fire?

Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new audio episode released every two weeks. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby.

Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick listen for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's "The Cat Who" series, Caroline Graham's "Midsomer Murders", and the American TV series "Murder She Wrote", starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham. The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of "DCI John Barnaby" in "Midsomer Murders" and "Jim Riley" in "The Life of Riley". He is also known for his film roles in "The Nativity", "Sorted" and "Son of Rambow". In 2012 Dudgeon starred as "Norman Birkett" on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.

©2017 Bastei Lübbe (Lübbe Audio) (P)2017 Lübbe Audio

What listeners say about Mystery at the Manor

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    196
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    183
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    161
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful mystery series.

I love the characters, the narrator and the stories. I enjoy that they are short adventures, but with each episode the characters develop and grow. Please keep writing them.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Much better

Notable improvement from the first book. Characters acquiring definition and the story, not a very good one, unfolded with ease. I'll read the next and get back on whether it's worth continuing.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this series!

I love the length of these! I like a story long enough and complex enough to keep your interest but short enough to finish in a timely fashion! Busy lives need these!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Loved it! Neil Dudgeon is one of my favorite narrators, he keeps the story alive!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just lovely

And very satisfying. Quite fun. I got the whole series. Just the listen for a winters day and a cup of tea.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Well done

Good story and characters. I enjoyed the story, the unraveling of clues. Great narrating by Neil Dudgeon.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I am addicted to these books

I simply can’t get enough of these Cherringham short mysteries. The narration is excellent as well.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderfully done!!

loved it, just as good as the first! What a pleasure to listen! Thank you!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mystery at the Manor

I somehow missed book 2 and am so glad I got it now, the murder was excellent as usual and the narration very good.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Enjoyable Series~I'm Hooked!

Enjoyable mysteries that are refreshingly clean! Neil Dungeon is excellent in narration and pleasant to listen to. The mysteries are simple and straightforward, not overwhelmingly complex, that is a plus for me. These days, the dynamics in some mystery fiction are such that it beggars belief in reality. These cases are very grounded in the real world and make sense. Also, "cozy mysteries" are not graphic~good for my blood pressure. Give this series a chance, it just may be "Your cup of tea." If you find you like it, there are 36 "cups" to enjoy!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mikey
  • Mikey
  • 06-23-19

A divided family...

What a great mystery this was. I love Neil Dudgeon's narration, he has the perfect 'easy listening' voice. Love the two main characters, they're not glamourous.. just normal! 10/10 based on the easy listening, great storyline and wonderful narration

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-28-20

Another great story

Another great story read superbly by Neil Dudgeon. Length of the stories is just right. Will be downloading more. Can't wait to hear another investigation by Sarah and Jack.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rae
  • Rae
  • 08-11-20

Fantastic story

Neil Dudgeon is a fantastic story teller. He gets u involved from beginning to end by painting pictures with his words. Doesnt hurt that I like Neil anyway and have been a fan for a long time. The authors are brilliant by keeping u guessing throughout. The characters are interesting and complex. A TRIUMPH!!!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-25-20

Another great story

as always beautifully read by Neil Dudgeon thank you Matthew Cosrel o and Neil Richards.plus here's hoping there are more Cherringham in the future?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sue glason
  • sue glason
  • 12-29-19

again enjoyable

second book read. I enjoy the punchiness if these books, they suit is you enjoy easy listening and short stories.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amelia Turner
  • Amelia Turner
  • 04-25-20

Very enjoyable

I love these stories, they're very well read by Neil Dudgeon and I recommend them