We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Unraveling Oliver Audiobook

Unraveling Oliver: A Novel

Regular Price:$17.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In this "compelling, clever, and dark" (Heat magazine) thriller, a man's shocking act of savagery stuns a local community - and the revelations that follow will keep you gripped until the very end. This work of psychological suspense, a number-one best seller in Ireland, is perfect for fans of Patricia Highsmith and Ruth Ware.

"I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her."

So begins Liz Nugent's astonishing debut novel - a chilling, elegantly crafted, and psychologically astute exploration of the nature of evil.

Oliver Ryan, handsome, charismatic, and successful, has long been married to his devoted wife, Alice. Together they write and illustrate award-winning children's books; their life together is one of enviable privilege and ease - until, one evening after a delightful dinner, Oliver delivers a blow to Alice that renders her unconscious and subsequently beats her into a coma.

In the aftermath of such an unthinkable event, as Alice hovers between life and death, the couple's friends, neighbors, and acquaintances try to understand what could have driven Oliver to commit such a horrific act. As his story unfolds, layers are peeled away to reveal a life of shame, envy, deception, and masterful manipulation.

With its alternating points of view and deft prose, Unraveling Oliver details how an ordinary man can transform into a sociopath.

©2014 Liz Nugent. All rights reserved. Originally published in Ireland in 2014 by Penguin Ireland. (P)2017 Penguin Audiobooks. All rights reserved.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (60 )
5 star
 (26)
4 star
 (17)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
3.9 (55 )
5 star
 (24)
4 star
 (16)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (5)
Story
4.4 (55 )
5 star
 (35)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Susanna 08-23-17
    Susanna 08-23-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    39
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Couldn't make it through"
    What disappointed you about Unraveling Oliver?

    Very slow and dull -- just not captivating or exciting. The narration pace was also far too slow. Could only make myself listen to an hour before I had to move on.


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Margaret San Francisco, CA USA 08-27-17
    Margaret San Francisco, CA USA 08-27-17 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    606
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    97
    65
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    239
    21
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Like an 80's Freudian novel..."

    The plot was powered by insane coincidences, which I guessed early on and hoped that wasn't where the book was going, but it did -- in order to explain to us exactly why Oliver did evil. Reminded me strongly of the way novels were structured in the 1980s. But the telling was good enough to hold my attention and I kept listening to hear how the Barney/Eugene story ended.

    This struck me as a first try at writing a book. Publishers ultimately reject it, but the writing is good enough for the writer to receive some encouragement, so he or she goes back to the drawing board and the next novel ends up getting published and off to the races we go. The first manuscript ends up buried out back under the apple tree which is exactly where Unraveling Oliver belonged.

    I didn't return it because I listened all the way through--so keep my credit. But I won't download/buy another book by Liz Nugent which is exactly why it's a bad idea to publish weak material as an introduction to readers/listeners. Win the battle, lose the war.

    Skip this one.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marijane Milton, DE, United States 08-28-17
    Marijane Milton, DE, United States 08-28-17 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    47
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fascinating."

    What a sordid tale told from so many perspectives. The narration by different people was spot on.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ruth Bain 10-19-17
    Ruth Bain 10-19-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1623
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    623
    616
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    82
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Portrait of a sociopath"

    I thought this was very entertaining, it moved along at a quick pace and kept my interest. The plot had some interesting turns, the characters were mostly interesting, and the author "answered" most the plot questions by the end. But that ending somehow was a bit unsatisfying to me; Not sure why, maybe I wanted more of a sense of justice being done ?
    I would still recommend this with that partial reservation. There are multiple narrators and all were good.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    felicia jones 09-21-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    44
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    180
    55
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow!!!!"

    I'll try to be brief and refrain from writing a soliloquy. I enjoyed this story, immensely. And I must say that, Oliver was the most complex and disturbed character that I've read about in quite some time. The unraveling of his troubled life was sad, and horrific; to say the least. Which prompts me to wonder - are sociopaths born, or created by circumstances? I enjoyed the narration, and the story was slow in unfolding, but it kept my interest. Just when I thought I can't bear this insensitive jerk anymore, something is revealed about his past; that stops you cold. Oliver is cold, calculating and completely, self-absorbed. Everyone around him is easily manipulated, especially the women. Their either so in love with him him, that their completely docile and submissive, enduring years of misery; or talking themselves into a sexual fantasy world; hoping that one day he'll come around. He won't! His life has so many twist and turns, that its hard to keep up. And in the very end, do you feel sorry for him; or come away thinking; perhaps he has some redeemable qualities after all. Well, written lots of mystery and shocking revelations. well worth the credit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sharise Thompson 09-16-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    26
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "this book was amazing !!!!!!!!"

    I am so glad I bought the audible version of this book. Excellent narrators with different accents really brought this book to life. The story is so well developed and I did not want it to be over when I finished it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Toni G. 09-13-17
    Toni G. 09-13-17 Member Since 2016
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    " very entertaining"

    I loved the voices of the different characters. It really helps the story come to life.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gerri 09-09-17
    Gerri 09-09-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    123
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent Book!!!"

    What an original story, it kept me mesmerized! The narration was amazing and I did not want it to stop!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    nancy c 09-09-17
    nancy c 09-09-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    32
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good twists. "

    Didn't see a lot of the twists coming. Fun and easy read Narrator was good

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SocialB 09-04-17
    SocialB 09-04-17 Member Since 2017
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    13
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Painfully Slow"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    The first chapter draws you in, but there are too many unnecessary details.


    Did the narration match the pace of the story?

    Yes.


    Do you think Unraveling Oliver needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    No. Not unless the pace picks up.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.