Your audiobook is waiting…

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing

Length: 6 hrs and 5 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Join these two comedy greats and lifelong friends on their journey from recuperation to riverbank in this hilarious and heart-warming audiobook that gives you a front-row seat at an exclusive Bob and Paul production.

Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse have been friends for 30 years, but when life intervened, what was once a joyous and spontaneous friendship dwindled to the odd phone call or occasional catch up. Then, Glory Be! They were both diagnosed with heart disease and realised that time is short. They'd better spend it fishing.... 

So they dusted off their kits, chucked on their waders and ventured into the achingly beautiful British countryside to fish, rediscover the joys of their friendship and ruminate on some of life's most profound questions, such as: How did we get so old? Where are all the fish? What are your favourite pocket meats? What should we do if we find a corpse?

Following the success of the BBC's Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing series, this wonderful audiobook by two lifelong friends is a love letter to the joys of angling, the thrill of the catch and the virtue of having a right daft laff with your mates. On the fish, the equipment, the food, and the locations, Gone Fishing is the perfect audiobook for fans of Bob Mortimer, Paul Whitehouse and for anyone who wants to listen to a brilliantly written and endlessly funny joint memoir on life, friendship and joys of fishing.

Audio edition includes an exclusive fishing trip with Bob and Paul.

©2019 Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse (P)2019 Bonnier Books UK

Critic Reviews

"One of the best audiobooks of 2019." (The Guardian)

"Mortimer and Whitehouse natter away in the most enjoyable, natural way, with plenty of off-page asides and affectionate nitpicking." (Sian Cain, The Guardian

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb

I really enjoyed listening to this easy going, honest and at the same time, very funny audible book. I would say this book isn’t just about fishing - it is for anyone who enjoys being outside and enjoying the UK countryside; enjoys the easy going humour of Bob and Paul; may have had a serious health or heart condition and is happy to listen to their tales of fishing in a relaxed environment; and perhaps might want to give fishing a go. Their friendship really comes across well and their narration is excellent. Paul is teaching Bob the art of different types and fishing and Bob teaches Paul some healthy cooking!
I have had always thought of myself as a really bad fly fisherman but according to Bob I am a good fisherman because it is down to how much you enjoy it rather than how many fish you catch!
I would really recommend.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DalyRae
  • DalyRae
  • 07-15-19

I haven't even finished it...

...but I could honestly happily listen to Bob Mortimer describe the inside of a crisp packet for hours.

There are some really rare earnest moments in this book (so far!), which is very rare from comediens in general, but Mortimer particularly. I don't even think the TV show managed to squeeze the genuine Bob out entirely, maybe due to the format and that need to perform a comedy role in front of cameras (though I loved it, and everything they've done, they're brilliant). His fame has come from playing a part in a significantly surreal world exclusive to him and Jim, and even his truths are so bizarre at times it's hard to tell if anything he says is entirely honest! But this has some genuine moments when he breaks with that. There's a chapter where Paul is missing and Bob is talking about not wanting to ruin Paul's fishing day by being there and being inadequate as a fisherman and it is entirely honest, and from the heart. If possible it makes him seem even more affable.

I am not surprised viewers asked them if they could join them fishing after the show ended. I'm not glad they had their illnesses, obviously! But I'm glad Whitehouse finally had an excuse to drag Bob out fishing and back into the world in such a way.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jamie
  • jamie
  • 06-04-19

A book about friendship amazing!!!

I am not a fan of fishing or football but this book had my full attention from the first few words. It is amazing to witness a true friendship and joint love of mutual hobbies.
Thank you bob and paul.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mell
  • Mell
  • 06-24-19

If you buy one book, buy this! It's perfect x

I'm bereft..I've come to the end of what has been a truly emotional journey. This programme, this book & these humans have ignited in me the passion I always knew my late father had for fishing. He died when I was 20 & I never got the pleasure of spending time learning from him on the river. I have all his old nets & reels & 30 years later I've bought my very first fishing licence & I'm ready to go out & start my fishing journey. I hope my old dad is chuckling at my enthusiasm which Paul & Bob have developed & nurtured throughout every chapter. I can honestly say listening to them has brought me closer to what it is my dad loved about heading out to fish, the anticipation, the peaceful riverbank, the thrill of the chase. I actually cried at the end of the last chapter it's been such a journey. I wish I had a fishing buddy to start my journey with but I'm prepared to do this on my own. I live in a gorgeous part of the North East and once I get my head around the local places I'm allowed to fish on I'm off. I cannot thank Paul & Bob enough for all their words of wisdom & wit. I'd buy them a pint or two if they're ever in my neck of the woods for sure. So looking forward to series 2. Stay well you two, may you be fishing together for many more years! Mell

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for H
  • H
  • 06-03-19

Gorgeous

Witty, charming and very funny.
As good as the television programme. Delighted it’ll be back

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for P. Hutchinson
  • P. Hutchinson
  • 06-07-19

SMASHIN MATE!

Format - Audiobook.
I loved this so much I have finished and gone straight back to the start , I am a fisherman along the lines of Paul with a lifelong childhood memory of fishing with dad , Its 5 stars all round.

The seriousness of near death experiences of Bob and Paul was a learning curve which has opend my eyes and mind to appreciate life more . A sincere funny honest look at life and fishing . Looking forward the the 2nd TV series.

Paul Hutch

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark
  • Mark
  • 06-08-19

Funny and Poignant

The TV show was a great success and I loved it so I was immediately drawn to the audiobook. You might imagine that it wouldn't be the same without the visuals but for me it worked just as well on an even more personal and intimate level.
The book, like the series, is really about friendship, health and getting old while still staying active through fishing. It's about best mates going out for the day, hoping to catch some fish, having some witty banter and then, at the end of the day, having a few drinks, some good food and a nice chat with your mate as you philosophise about the day and the meaning of life as the sun sets both literally and figuratively. As an invited eavesdropper on this lovely relationship I loved every second of it. Dare I say, two national treasures at the gentle peak of their powers. Delightful in every sense.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for solidair
  • solidair
  • 05-30-19

Great this !

Honest , funny , poignant , and it’s two blokes having a laugh and going fishing . And if you’re fans of these two, you’ll love it and don’t have to love fishing to even appreciate it . Am glad I got the audiobook version, with an extra trip out !! I really love it so thank you

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Graham G Grant
  • Graham G Grant
  • 08-23-19

Hook, line and sinker

I hadn’t seen the television series when I started listening to this audiobook, though now intend to catch up on it. There’s something relaxing and absorbing about the laidback but informed dialogue between the two, even if - like me - you’re not a fishing enthusiast. Some of the book is effectively memoir - for me, this was the strongest part - detailing the pair’s multiple, and very serious, health problems, which led them to make the programmes as a way of promoting the ‘healthy heart’ message to viewers, and now to listeners. It works so well partly because Bob Mortimer is a relative novice, or was before the show began, while Paul Whitehouse is a veteran angler. That means it’s accessible to all, even to those with no real interest in fishing; but it would be hard to finish the book and not feel like at least giving it a go. The book is largely dialogue, much of it with an ad lib feel. Towards the end, the level of technical detail about fishing does increase, and I found these segments a little less satisfying; but overall it’s unusual, nicely balanced, funny and well worth a listen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Frank Cummins
  • Frank Cummins
  • 09-17-19

Loved it

Loved the programme and love the book. It is basically two mates chatting easily with each other. Even if you are not into fishing, it is a great book to listen to. A book I will certainly return to

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nigel Marsh
  • Nigel Marsh
  • 09-16-19

Gone fishing? They ain’t working anymore

As I was not the greatest fan of their comedy and hadn’t seen the programme I was unsure whether to give it a try - but am so glad I did, as both Bob and Paul come across as genuine, likeable and honest blokes with a sincere friendship and a love for life in general and fishing in particular. Great job, gents - highly enjoyable - wishing you many more years fun on the riverside and in the pub thereafter. To quote Paul - life affirming!!