Your audiobook is waiting…

Monster

A Gone Novel
Narrated by: Amanda Dolan
Series: Gone, Book 7
Length: 10 hrs and 49 mins
Categories: Teens, Sci-Fi & Fantasy
4.5 out of 5 stars (96 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Acclaimed author Michael Grant delivers a stunning follow-up to the globally best-selling Gone series - perfect for fans of Stephen King's suspenseful writing.

It's been four years since a meteor hit Perdido Beach and everyone disappeared. Everyone except the kids trapped in the FAYZ - an invisible dome that was created by an alien virus. Inside the FAYZ, animals began to mutate, and teens developed dangerous powers. The terrifying new world was plagued with hunger, lies, and fear of the unknown.

Now the dome is gone, and meteors are hitting earth with an even deadlier virus. Humans will mutate into monsters, and the whole world will be exposed. As some teens begin to morph into heroes, they will find that others have become dangerously out of control...and that the world is on the brink of a monstrous battle between good and evil.

©2017 Michael Grant (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Great SciFI ideas overwhelmed by PC nonsense.

Fun concept with X-Men type of ideas, left me curious about the story. But the ill-placed, token PC shout-outs nearly ruined the whole thing for me. The world is maybe coming to an end and one character keeps wondering if she's a boy or a girl. Please..... This is just one example of many eye rolling moments in the book.
Would it make my review any better if I shared my conflict over what sex I was? Obviously not. It doesn't make the book any better either.

7 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Continueing stroy

The Gone Series is an exciting story from the first book all the way through the series. I could not stop listening to this book. Kyle McCarley narration is how I found this series and I am glad to say I did. Michael Grant wrote a very interesting story. While the premise is copy from other ideas I have read, heard, and seen. They way the story unfolds is very enjoyable. World building for the story is very well written.

While this is all still true the spin off series is very well story but set in the future.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love the series!

I really like this series. I found it because I love the first narrator, so I was relieved when I found I liked this one a lot as well. Five stars, all around!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Womensrights book hidden as fiction.

Ehh, loved the Gone series. This seems like a disingenuous attempt from the author to prove he's progressive.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

this is not close to Gone series.

i dont know what happed. it feela rushed. ota gory. nothing like the org series

1 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

crap

the two first chapters are about some tranny what pronouns it likes. I'm sick of this sjw shit and I didn't expect it from Michael Grant.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Switch of narrator

I really didn't like the switch of narrator, the first 6 books were great. Could have been better imo

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good

I enjoyed this book very much but I definitely preferred the previous narrator over the new narrator

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

“You are multiple choice in a true false world”

Monster was not as good as any of the Gone series in my opinion however I did not expect it to be. And it blew away my expectations. I was still engaged and wanted to keep listening! Also a non-binary character who also gets to be more than just their gender ! And just the fact of a non-binary character is so exciting. My two passions gender and YA sci fi. Thank you Michael Grant I will be awaiting the next book!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful