Regular price: $30.79

Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free, plus 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals to get you started.
  • After trial, you'll get 3 titles each month: 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals of your choice.
  • Don't like your audiobook? Swap it for free.
  • Cancel anytime and keep your audiobooks.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From the critically acclaimed author of Allegedly, Tiffany D. Jackson, comes a gripping new novel perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Gillian Flynn about the mystery of one teenage girl’s disappearance and the traumatic effects of the truth.

Monday Charles is missing, and only Claudia seems to notice. Claudia and Monday have always been inseparable - more sisters than friends. So when Monday doesn’t turn up for the first day of school, Claudia’s worried.

When she doesn’t show for the second day, or second week, Claudia knows that something is wrong. Monday wouldn’t just leave her to endure tests and bullies alone. Not after last year’s rumors and not with her grades on the line. Now, Claudia needs her best - and only - friend more than ever. But Monday’s mother refuses to give Claudia a straight answer, and Monday’s sister April is even less help.

As Claudia digs deeper into her friend’s disappearance, she discovers that no one seems to remember the last time they saw Monday. How can a teenage girl just vanish without anyone noticing that she’s gone?

©2018 Tiffany D. Jackson (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    108
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    106
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

4.5 Stars

I love that this novel highlights the injustices of missing black girls, but the time jumps confused me a bit and it wasn’t necessary. Claudia was a bit annoying with how clueless she was. The ending was not expected, but knowing the author and how ALLEGEDLY turned out, I should’ve expected the unexpected. Overall good book. Definitely worth a listen and recommendation.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Suspenseful with twists!

Although the language is a bit gratuitous at times, and the references to sex acts and body parts make this an upper teen read, the story is riveting and the writing style is on point!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderfully Heartbreaking!!!!

This book is tough on so many levels. reading this as a mother I was constantly infuriated. Im the type of mom that constantly worries about my children friends. If my child says something is wrong than something is wrong and I will get to the bottom of it. I wanted to reach in and shake so many people and ask them why the heck they weren't helping. This was such a good book though, I need this author to come out with ten more books asap. If you want to be wrecked even more than dive into the case out of Detroit that it is loosely based on.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Phenomenal

This is the second Tiffany D. Jackson book, I've purchased. I think its safe to say I am an official fan. I know this story, the real one it's based off. It happened in Detroit but I appreciate the voice she gave the characters and how she took a news story and turned it into an art. There's so much depth here, so many stories within a story. I'm very happy I stumbled upon this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome narrative!

Really emotional turn in this book. wasn't expecting the emotional connection in this story. Fictional story but felt very real as I read on. definitely enjoyed this story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Didn't see that ending coming

Loved it... this author is worth following . Looking forward to her next book. Highly recommended

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely loved it!

From beginning to the end, it made me smile, cry, and laugh, and jerked at my heart strings. The book, Claudia and Mondays relationship gave me all the feels. You never know what someone is going through, and you'll never know that your presence gives peace to those in storms.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jon Weimer
  • KANSAS CITY, MO, United States
  • 09-12-18

Outstanding thriller

Very Hitchcockian. Like A Lady Vanishes but with 13 year-old girls and a painful meditation on our broken child protective system.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic narrator, author, and story!

I read a LOT of YA/Teen fiction and I loved Jackson's first book. Given how much I read within this genre, I did NOT see the ending coming at ALL! For ME to be shocked with a book, you KNOW it's well-written. Read this! Now! Fantastic narrator, fantastic author, fantastic story!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I just can't with Jackson's stories.

Unlike others who've negatively reviewed the book, I did not find the timeline confusing, but like another reviewer mentioned, Jackson can drag a climax or plot reveal out like no other. It was beyond annoying and frustrating. I, like another reviewer, just fast forward to the end (I couldn't sit through 20 more chapters of is she or isn't she - I'm a truck driver btw, so that says a lot). I also don't like teenage angst stories, I just want to shake these characters, Jackson develops her characters really well and most realistically, that is why they frustrate me so!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful