Regular price: $25.09

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Rick Dial was the best quarterback Putnam Hills High School had ever seen. Unflappable. Unstoppable. Number 12. But when a car accident left him crippled, Rick's life as he knew it ended. He disavowed his triumphant past. He ignored his girlfriend. He disappeared into his bedroom - and into the glowing video screen.

But Rick's uncanny gaming skills have attracted attention. Dangerous attention. Government agents have uncovered a potentially devastating cyber-threat: A Russian genius has created a digital reality called the Realm, from which he can enter, control, and disrupt American computer systems from transportation to defense. The agents want Rick, quick-thinking quarterback and gaming master, to enter the Realm and stop the madman - before he sends America into chaos.

Entering the Realm will give Rick what he thought he’d never have again: A body as strong and fast as it was before the accident. But this is no game, there are no extra lives, and what happens to Rick in the Realm happens to Rick’s body in reality.

In the tradition of Ender’s Game and The Matrix, MindWar is a complex thriller about a seemingly ordinary teenager who discovers a hidden gift.

©2014 Andrew Klavan (P)2014 Thomas Nelson

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Entertaining and I'm looking forward to the series

I enjoyed the concept and the cross over into a gamers world. However, that really opens the door for gamer criticism on attack method. If this was a movie you can skip those details due to timing but the readers/listeners want more details like limitations and why.... so we don't criticized the writer.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

One of the worst narratives...

I should have my license revoked if I listen to this while driving. This ranks just slightly below driving under the influence of alcohol. The story is good but the narrative is monotonous. If there is some other narrator for this story, get that instead.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The story vs The Performance

The narrator was a problem. I found myself constantly distracted by the soft tone of the delivery. Often times the action was not depicted in the narration. there was also very little differentiation between characters from the narrator.