adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP

Try our newest plan – unlimited listening to select audiobooks, Audible Originals, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
$7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.95

Buy for $29.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A riveting, darkly funny true story of illness and of learning to trust the Universe while living with pain and uncertainty 

“In a collective moment of loss and uncertainty, here comes Isabella Huffington to show us how to survive and thrive anyway. This book will be a balm to all in need of a little fiery hope.” (Glennon Doyle, author of number one New York Times best seller Untamed and founder of Together Rising) 

"Isabella Huffington’s Map to the Unknown captures her journey through illness with strength, vulnerability, and a great deal of good humor. Her wise-beyond-her-years memoir will inspire its readers to find joy amid all of life's challenges." (Sheryl Sandberg, COO of Facebook and founder of Lean In and Option B) 

One day, on her way to a date, Isabella Huffington gets hit by a bike. What begins as a concussion with a diagnosed recovery time of seven-to-ten days becomes more than two years of debilitating pain with no apparent end and a string of unhelpful doctor and specialist visits.   

In the wreckage, jobs are canceled. Leases are broken. There is no second date. What’s left is Isabella, her body, and her pain. Because the source of her pain cannot be located within the body, she is told over and over that her pain is psychosomatic. And Isabella believes it, over and over.   

What follows is a surprisingly funny medical and spiritual journey, during which Isabella must learn to trust in all that she cannot see or quantify: her pain, God, and her inner voice. Everything fell apart and then something new emerged.    

©2020 Isabella Huffington (P)2020 Audible Originals

About the Creator

Isabella Huffington is an artist and writer who lives in New York City. She graduated from Yale in 2014 with a degree in art history. She is interested in the question of art and accessibility and how to bridge the divide between fine art and everyday life. For more, visit isabellahuffington.com.

Dear Listener,

Why did I decide to tell this story now?
"This is one woman’s story, but the themes are universal. It’s the story of how I learned to live with the mystery, the uncertainty, the messiness of life, the unanswered questions—and accept it all: the pain and the joy, the disappointments and the magical moments, and most of all the not knowing what comes next. It’s the story of how I learned that everything in our life can serve as material to help us wake up to who we really are, which is so much more magnificent than who we appear to be. While the journey to that truth can be painful, the pain is never pointless. Indeed it’s the only way to heal our own darkness, a necessary and often neglected step before we can heal the darkness in our world. And the two qualities I found I needed most on this journey were patience and trust. There’s no final scene, no curtain call, no 'and she lived happily ever after.' Just a human being evolving through it all. Everything fell apart and then something new emerged." – Isabella Huffington, creator of Map to the Unknown: A Journey Inward

What listeners say about Map to the Unknown

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    328
  • 4 Stars
    149
  • 3 Stars
    102
  • 2 Stars
    39
  • 1 Stars
    25
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    412
  • 4 Stars
    110
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    304
  • 4 Stars
    120
  • 3 Stars
    100
  • 2 Stars
    38
  • 1 Stars
    31

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This book is a must listen!

This book is the story of Isabella's journey after she suffers a concussion and her subsequent path to healing. She miraculously turns the mundane into the profound, gravity into levity and her very personal crisis becomes a shared and relatable story. She weaves together so many aspects of her life in such a raw and vulnerable way that is was impossible not to be touched deeply. I felt like I was along for every moment of this ride with her. I laughed and cried and sometimes at the same moment. I think everyone should listen to this book. I

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just so wonderful!!!

As someone who has had various forms of chronic pain for many years I found this book all too familiar. The author puts into words what many of us struggle to explain how frustrating the medical community is to us, how frustrating the healing process or lack of healing process is to us and how frustrating the loss of our ability to think straight about the entire process is to us. All in all it is an absolutely wonderful book and I believe anybody who has chronic pain, who has had chronic pain, who treats people with chronic pain, anyone who cares for someone who has chronic pain, or anyone who is interested in the subject of healing or psychology should read this book and I believe you would enjoy it.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This author is so talented

I was captivated by Isabella’s story from the very beginning and couldn’t stop listening. I finished it in 2 days. I needed to know how her story would end and if she would ever get better. I loved the narrator so much, i never once “zoned out” because she does such a great job keeping you interested. Overall, very well written story that is humorous, honest, dark and even hopeful. I felt every emotion with her as Isabella took us through the last 2 years of her life. Thank you Isabella for sharing your story. I truly hope you get relief from your illnesses and pains.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen

Very addicting story.... makes you feel one way than another... if you’ve ever been down a road of medical problems like this it’s kind of a relief to know you’re not alone... the narrator is amazing... this audible was written very very well....much love to Isabella

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved it!!!

Isabella is an amazing writer. She makes you feel you’re sitting right next to her on the rollercoaster called Life Journey. Her narration colors paint a very realistic, yet beautiful aquarelle painting. While this book is masterfully crafted and courageously written, sprinkles of humor make it that much better. I read it in one breath this morning!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thank you Isabella

By sharing your own path you give hope to those who are navigating theirs.

A hopeful, honest, vulnerable story. A good example of the twists and turns of life and the importance of patience and the power of the “frame” we put on things. I loved the shift about moving from being scared about not knowing the future to being excited about it. Highly recommend.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Story of Hope and Preseverance

I enjoyed this authentic and naked look into the life and mind of the author. 💖

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Her own story... well written and read

We all have a story, and I found Isabella’s account of her life so far authentic, vulnerable, unfortunate (not pitying her), and interesting. I don’t know how similar the author’s voice and cadence is to the reader’s, but I found it easy to picture the author’s personality based on the reading.
Very easy listen, well written and read, and the humor thrown in here and there added to the charm of this book.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing new voice

A spiritual journey in the tradition of Joan Didion, and Glennon Doyle. Funny and deep, Isabella takes us deep into her journey and gives us a prospective so needed in today’s world which is filled with uncertainty where we are all trying our best ‘to figure out’ what’s next. Isabella offers a brilliant road map. The book is both healing and entertaining, a rare combination that has you turning pages, praying it will just go on. Thank you Isabella for this beautiful book.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Raw, Honest, Emotional, Funny and Authentic

I really love this open and honest journey that Isabella takes the listener on. I could relate to so many things and I'm sure many listeners will feel the same. Sometimes, I think we think, we need permission to be ourselves, for fear of not being accepted as we are. In listening to Isabella's inward journey, I'm reminded that we all have our insecurities and issues and it's okay.

6 people found this helpful