Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Lost in the Light  By  cover art

Lost in the Light

By: Mary Castillo
Narrated by: Mary Castillo
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

One October morning in 1932, Vicente Sorolla entered the white house on the hill and was never seen again.

Now, Detective Dori Orihuela witnesses his brutal murder in her nightmares.

Drawn to this tough but tender woman, Vicente materializes out of the butler's pantry and asks her to find his lost love, Anna. Dori wonders if she's not only about to lose her badge, but also her sanity. Dori has always been drawn to the mysterious Queen Anne Edwardian house in her hometown. But after a devastating injury that puts her career on the line, Dori isn't sure if she made the right decision purchasing this rundown old mansion.

Her wisecracking Grammy Cena has waited too long for her independent granddaughter to return home. She hires a kooky psychic to banish the ghost and a handsome contractor with whom Dori has an unhappy past. With a promise to Vicente, Dori may solve a forgotten Prohibition era murder. Or she may exhume secrets someone died to protect.

A modern gothic mystery woven with suspense, ghosts, and romance, Lost in the Light was nominated for the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Paranormal Mystery/Suspense.

Fans of Susanna Kearsley, Simone St. James, Diana Gabaldon, Mary Stewart, Kate Morton, and Victoria Holt will want to curl up with Dori on her journey to love, past and present.

©2012 Mary Castillo (P)2016 Mary Castillo

What listeners say about Lost in the Light

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

An Haunted House/Ghost Story



Dori is a police officer who's recovering emotionally and physically from from an officer involved shooting, where she shot and killed a crazed gun toting young mother.

While Dori is on leave she buys an old historical house that she is drawn to. The house is haunted by Vincent a probation era gangster who was brutally murdered in the house. Vincent appears to Dori and implores her to investigate what happened to the love of Vincent's life, Anna.

Dori has a zany, quirky grandmother, Grammy Cena who really makes this novel and adds comic relief.

The story is an okay listen and has promise for an entertaining series. The narration is also well done.

I received this audiobook at no-cost from Audiobookworm Promotions. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Lost in the Light (The Dori Orihuela Series) by Mary Castillo Lost in the life is paranormal mystery. Yep you get all the great things we red for. There is touch of romance, Ghosts, mystery, and the coolest sounding Granny on the planet. Dori is a police officer who was shot in the line of duty. While home recovering she decides to buy a old house and remodel it. Shorty after buying the the resident spirit Vicente steps out of the butler's closet. Not only does he introduce himself he also tells Dori what he wants from her. He wants her t find Anna, who was the love of his life. Vicente was murdered in 1932. While trying to find Anna, Dori also decides to find out who murdered Vicente so he can rest in peace as well. This story is basically 2 stories in one. You have present day as well as the story of Vicente and Anna in the 1920's and 30's during the prohibition. So you learn about the present and the past. And like I said you get the coolest Granny on the planet as well. I have to say she was my favorite character int he book. She is full of vinegar. She brings a lot of humor to the story. She is never short on smart comments. This was a very interesting story. I did really enjoy my time with Dori, her family, ad the ghosts. Ghosts are my favorite form of the paranormal genre, and Mary Castillo did not let me down. The ghosts are not scary. There is very little cursing and no strong 4 lettered words, nor any sex in this book. I would call it a clean read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Lost in the light

This was a good book.The story was good.Mary Castillo was a good narrator as far as voices but the sudden stops and starts,repeated words and phrases,etc were irritating.A good editing may be what it needs. Dory moves into a haunted house then hires her hig school boyfriend to rehab the place.The ghost tasks her with finding someone. I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Entertaining new series - I'm looking forward to t

I really liked this book. I love paranormal mysteries, historic fiction, and stories about haunted houses. This book hit all those points. The book has lots of interesting characters (I especially love Grammy Cena and Meg), and is a fun look back at the times of prohibition in California. I loved seeing the ghost's reaction to Dori's cousin and the way he described his appearance. I love thinking about all those historic homes in National City and the secrets they might hide. I listened to the Audible Audio version of this story that was narrated by the author. She does a great job narrating and giving everyone a unique voice. My only complaint with the audio was that during the second half, there were a lot of repeats of words and phrases - I don't know if that was the recording itself, or the device I was playing it on. It was a little distracting, but it did not interfere with my enjoyment of the book. I'm really looking forward to the next book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Story

Lost in the Light was a wonderful read(listen to). The story line was very well done and the author did a terrific job building each of the characters up with their own personality and quirks. I am looking forward to hearing more in this series, especially to see how/how not the relationship with Gavin develops.

The author is also the narrator, and in this case does a fantastic job with the character voices and the pronunciations correctly. However, I do feel that if you are going to narrate your own book that you need to sound proof your recording area and proofread (proof listen (not sure if that is a word) ) your work. There was so much background noise, turning pages, duplicated words, long (too long/not normal) blank spaces. This made this wonderful book seem not so professional and really took away from getting into the story.

I received this audiobook at no-cost from Audiobookworm Promotions. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Team Grammy Cena!

Wow, that’s all I can say, what a book! Dori is a police detective recovering from an injury that puts the badge she wears in jeopardy. Needing an outlet Dori buys an old house in her hometown, determined to slowly bring it back to life.

Unfortunately for Dori, that’s not the only thing to come to “life” in the old home. Vincent a prohibition era ghost enlist Dori to help him figure out what happened to his long-lost love, and just maybe along the way Dori will help solve a long-ago murder… If she's not declared crazy first.

Lost in the Light will make you feel sad, anxious and laugh out loud. I especially got a kick out of Grammy Cena, she’s the MVP of the book in my opinion.

Mary Castillo wrote and narrated this 8 ½ hour audiobook. I know what you’re thinking! "Lynda, I thought you never listen to audiobooks read by the author!" I know, I know, but the premise of the book sounded so intriguing to me and Mary did such a wonderful job on the sample, I decided to take a chance, and I’m glad I did! Mary was outstanding, she voiced so many different characters with a variety of accents including the character Meg, who was British! All of the characters in this audiobook were done well.

If you are looking for a different type of book that is part ghost tale, murder mystery and love story, you’ve stumbled across a gem of a book. Enjoy!

This audiobook was gifted to me exchange for an unbiased review!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intriguing Story and Author Nails Narration

I really enjoyed this story and the narration, performed by the author, is outstanding. She nails her distinct character personalities and their voices. There are some technical edits that need to be made to the audio file (repeated lines, background noise, etc.), and although they are distracting, the story kept me listening. Time well spent!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A fun escapist read

Would you try another book from Mary Castillo and/or Mary Castillo?

Yes, I would. I think she's a talented storyteller.

What other book might you compare Lost in the Light to and why?

The mirroring storylines kind of reminded me of "The Longest Ride" by Nicholas Sparks if there'd been bootlegging and prohibition.