Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A victim? Or a killer?

One icy cold morning, the remains of a woman are discovered. She has been abused, then butchered. DI Kelly Porter knows this is the work of a monster. One who has killed before - and will do so again.

Kevin Flint is a young man with no friends and a reputation for being odd. He explores the hidden corners of the Lake District and likes to creep and watch. He witnesses depravity, and it excites him. But will he cross the line from bystander to perpetrator?

Despite her personal life taking unexpected turns, Kelly’s detective instincts tell her that the answers lie with Kevin - if only she knew the right questions to ask. Will Kelly miss her chance and have blood on her hands? And will she ever be the same when it’s over?

A stunning new DI Kelly Porter crime novel that is perfect for fans of Patricia Gibney, L. J. Ross, and Angela Marsons.

©2020 Rachel Lynch (P)2020 Rachel Lynch

What listeners say about Lost Cause

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh dear

I have listen to all the books in the series. Excellent stories! BUT in this one the narrator has made the most dreadful attempt at a Scottish accent it really detracts from the story. If re-recording, make that officer English!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-17-20

Would make any Scot cringe

The story as usual was very good. I have listened to and liked them all. This one unfortunately was ruined by the most awful attempt at a Scottish accent I’ve ever had the displeasure to hear. For future reference Scottish people really do speak normally. They pronounce all the letters in every word! Honestly we do! Clare Kissane do some real research and listen to some lovely Scottish speakers. That was an embarrassment to every Scottish listener.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christine Jankowski
  • Christine Jankowski
  • 02-27-21

Love this series

I have listened to the whole series now and loved every minute of it. can't wait for the next instrumental to see how all the characters progress in their new rolls

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-03-21

Shockingly bad accent

An otherwise decent story marred by a truly appalling attempted Scottish accent by Claire Kissane.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for E.C
  • E.C
  • 01-28-21

Good story but;

I have read all of the Kelly Porter books and loved them all. Enjoyed the stories, the characters and the narrator. This last one did not disappoint, but the narrator did a poor job copying a Scottish accent, it’s sounded more Irish than Scottish, but that said it’s a good book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie
  • Julie
  • 01-21-21

I couldn't stop listening

Such a good book, Bit gory now & then. Clever plot, I was on the edge of my seat near the end.
So sad these terrible things do happen in our world.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Peter Johnston
  • Peter Johnston
  • 12-21-20

Disappointing

Totally agree with Sandra! The story dragged and was not believable. Worse, the narration, of some characters, was grating, to the point of almost not wanting to carry on. This promising series has taken an extreme nose-dive and, I fear, is about to descend into “nappy-valley”! I will not be so quick to get the next in this series, if there is to be one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs Kaye I Coles
  • Mrs Kaye I Coles
  • 01-25-21

Sorry to see this series end

I have so enjoyed following DI Kelly Porter and I do hope Rachel Lynch revisits this character so we can see how she copes with work and motherhood.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-11-21

Loved it

I disagree with some of the other reviews, I really enjoyed this book. Part of what I like about the Kelly Porter series is how we are getting to know her more and interweaving her personal life is part of it!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeanette NORMAN
  • Jeanette NORMAN
  • 01-08-21

This will be the last in this series l will read.

I have up to now enjoyed this series from Rachel Lynch. But I began to question my respect for this series and Bk 8 has confirmed this is the end for me as it seems to have become a "goody twoshoes" series.

I cannot recommend this book at all.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandra
  • Sandra
  • 12-20-20

Don’t know

What happened to this series? This book dragged on and on with too much of what was really not needed, and the narration did not help. I think this is the last of this series I will bother with. Lost Cause really is a fitting title for this book.