adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP

Try our newest plan – unlimited listening to select audiobooks, Audible Originals, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
$7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.99

Buy for $29.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Someone has a secret. A secret worth killing for....

When a series of suicides, linked to the Wellness Spirit Centre, turn out to be murder, it brings together DCI Whitney Walker and forensic psychologist Dr Georgina Cavendish for another investigation. But as they delve deeper, they come across a tangle of secrets and the very real risk that the killer will strike again. 

As the clock ticks down, the only way forward is to infiltrate the centre. But the outcome is disastrous, in more ways than one. 

For fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and M A Comley, Lethal Secret is the fourth book in the Cavendish & Walker crime fiction series. 

Includes a special bonus note from the author.

©2019 Sally Rigby (P)2020 Podium Audio

Critic Reviews

"Narrator Clare Corbett flawlessly creates the accents and setting of Lenchester, England, while introducing Detective Chief Inspector Whitney Walker and her polar opposite, psychologist Georgina Cavendish.... Corbett's best creation is pathologist Clare Dexter whose eccentricities add a bit of levity. The well-rendered step-by-step procedural, with its gripping conclusion, makes for an exceptional listen." (AudioFile Magazine, review of Cavendish & Walker) 

What listeners say about Lethal Secret

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    271
  • 4 Stars
    112
  • 3 Stars
    46
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    286
  • 4 Stars
    75
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    232
  • 4 Stars
    104
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cavendish and Walker: A welcome “audiction”

I attempted to listen to Book 3, “Death Track.” Unfortunately, there were audio problems in starting this book (I will try again). I then began Book 4, “Lethal Secret.” Once again, Cavendish and Walker work well together during an intense search for another serial killer. Two very different women, it is interesting to listen to their comical banter as they form a quirky and endearing bond. Again, I was thrilled to get this one in the Audible Plus section for no charge. Clare Corbett has become a new favorite narrator. Sally Rigby pens an intensely suspenseful and exhilarating novel. I will be checking for more from this literary duo. The audiobooks in this series is definitely worth credits or cash purchase. I do not use credits for lower priced books. Kudos to Rigby and Corbett, as well as an awesome thank you to Audible! Highly recommended and I look forward to more adventures from Cavendish and Walker.
NOTE: Author Rigby speaks at the end of this book. She explains more of the ending of Book 1, “Deadly Games.”

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another hit!

I really enjoy this series. The chemistry between Whitney and George is very likeable and funny at times. These books are fast paced and the narrator is amazing! I highly recommend these books!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lethal Secret

This series gets better and better as each book gets released I certainly will be trying to keep up with the series, would make a fantastic TV series. Getting to know the characters and liking them more. The narration is excellent.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Whitney and George

I really enjoy Whitney and George’s witty relationship. This story was a good read but, not as good as the first two books. The ending felt rushed and a little too simple.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

ALWAYS GREAT !!

Love this series! Rich characters that you get attached to and terrific storyline with mystery right up to the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great pacing and interesting premise

From start to finish, there was “nothing not to like” in this mystery. It’s always a bonus to learn something new to explore, in this case cults.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Complex Plot & Good Narration

We have the 4th book in this series, with a complex crime to figure out. Why three girls after being at a wellness yoga retreat hang themselves. Whitney and George. As they delve into this and find out what was really going on at this place.Giving us a tense filled plot and to stop before more lives are taken. The author gives us a nice flowing plot and keeps one interest to the end. Good Series
Enjoyed the narrator, which added to the tense feeling of the story.
Given ARC audio for my voluntary review and my honest opinion

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Lethal Secret

Very enjoyable murder mystery! I am really excited about this authors' work. I find it interesting and it keeps me guessing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

As expected another amazing book! I loved the twists and deception. I can't wait to listen to the next one! Keep writing!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

absolutely love it

I love the characters and stories and narration! the development of the characters has been wonderful and I especially love the narration!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gillian
  • Gillian
  • 08-09-21

Not good

The narration and accents in this book are awful. I couldn’t even get past the first chapter.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 09-02-21

repetitive

Loving the series but getting annoyed with repetitive sentences, like how 'Cavendish misses social cues' every time Walker cracks a joke.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for katie deacon
  • katie deacon
  • 09-09-21

excellent series and narrative

I thought series of books would be hard to keep interest of reader/listener but this series is quite addictive, same characters but great stories, narrator is excellent at voices and accents, I forget its only one person, also you can start to picture the looks of the characters. can't recommend this series enough, which I only started first in the INCLUDED category.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah Golbourn
  • Sarah Golbourn
  • 08-13-21

Excellent

Gripping story and Unexpected end. Narrator Clare Corbett was brilliant and I shall enjoy listening to her again. Well done Sally Rigby.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs C
  • Mrs C
  • 08-11-21

Another Fantastic and gripping listen

I can't praise this whole series enough. I have listened to the prequel and the first 4 books in the series back to back and have loved them all. I particularly enjoyed this one as I love anything which involves a cult and how they recruit new members. The story was gripping from start to finish and as always Clare Corbett's narration was superb.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen S.
  • Karen S.
  • 04-12-21

Different but still totally enjoyable

The storyline is so superb .. the narrator is going a superb job and now I feel like these characters are ‘ friends ‘ of mine now , you get up know them so well

Just downloaded the next book on the series. Have very highly recommended the series to my neighbour

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Esther
  • Esther
  • 04-05-21

A further Sally Rugby Novel

I did not find the story so enthralling as the previous ones in the series. Perhaps it is the Cult theme that is too predictable. However the narrator was as good as ever and a pleasure to listen to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brian Marriott
  • Brian Marriott
  • 02-14-21

cult classic

Really enjoyed this Cavendish and Walker murder mystery set inside a seemingly peaceful mindful centre.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for julie panther
  • julie panther
  • 09-15-20

Lethal Secret

another brilliant book once again, just love them amazing and fantastic i can't put it down when I start listening just love them. I am going to cry when they all finish 💖⚘👍🏾

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chris
  • Chris
  • 05-09-20

It did not end well

The narration was first class - very engaging with good pacing and clarity. The storyline was fine until the closing stages when it brought to, what seemed to me, a very rushed ending. That was a pity for it had been going well. Perhaps I was hoping that it would go on a little longer!

The preceding three performances were 5 star across the board, so hopefully this was just a blip.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Calliope
  • Calliope
  • 10-02-20

Loving the series!

Thoroughly enjoyed the first four books and looking forward to number five. Would definitely recommend the series to readers who like detective stories that have strong main characters with some great repartee thrown in.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cindy Churchill
  • Cindy Churchill
  • 05-04-20

Another great storyline

The author and narrator combination is fantastic, attention grabbing from start to end! More please!