adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $34.99

Buy for $34.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

 Winner, Earphones Award 2020  

Has the Lenchester Strangler returned?

When a murderer leaves a familiar pink scarf as his calling card, Detective Chief Inspector Whitney Walker is forced to dig into a cold case, not sure if she's looking for a killer or a copycat.

With a growing pile of bodies, and no clues, she turns to forensic psychologist Dr. Georgina Cavendish despite their relationship being at an all-time low.

Can they overcome the bad blood between them to solve the unsolvable?

For fans of Rachel Abbott, Angela Marsons, and M A Comley, Last Breath is the fifth book in the Cavendish & Walker crime fiction series.

Includes a special bonus note from the author.

©2020 Sally Rigby (P)2020 Podium Audio

Critic Reviews

"Narrator Clare Corbett flawlessly creates the accents and setting of Lenchester, England, while introducing Detective Chief Inspector Whitney Walker and her polar opposite, psychologist Georgina Cavendish.... Corbett's best creation is pathologist Clare Dexter whose eccentricities add a bit of levity. The well-rendered step-by-step procedural, with its gripping conclusion, makes for an exceptional listen." (AudioFile Magazine, review of Cavendish & Walker) 

What listeners say about Last Breath

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    115
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    130
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    104
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Dull-Thud

I really enjoy this series but this one was disappointing.
For one thing there was no mystery or suspense, your told who it is then it ends. Felt like the storyline wasn't looked over, a outline that needed filling in. And the other thing I didn't like was the drawn out nasty bickering between Whitney & George. It broke my connection with these characters.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good and annoying

the mystery part of this wasn't bad, but wasn't as good as the previous ones. George and Whitney's relationship was annoying as hell in this story. ugh

Be careful because there's a spoiler comment

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

not the best episodes so far.

I did not really like this episode that much. I didn't quite understand why the original Strangler did what he did. It would just seem too easy to figure it out. And then once we figured out who the real killer was or even suspected in it seemed like the author just wanted to wrap the book up and get it over with. It wasn't much character development on the killer himself and it just seemed way too easy and too obvious. I hope more books in the series a little bit more complex and that the conclusion isn't so obvious from the beginning or in the middle of the book and it takes a little bit to try to figure out what is actually going on. incidentally, I was kind of hoping that the author would have written about dr. Cavendish and Ross's visit to the wedding. I was interested to see how doctor cavendish's parents were going to treat him and they just completely glossed over that. I felt that that would have helped this story be a little more interesting and not so much the whole back and forth about the daughter wanting to run off to Australia.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

last breath

this I'd a great book and I love the series. keeps tmyou interested and would recommend it highly

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Intriguing crime, frustrating relationships

I heard the author explain that she wanted to put our two heroines at odds with each other, but I found the premise for their falling out to be thin and frustrating. At some point, won't we address that Dr. George seems to be on the autism spectrum? It is very confusing how she can be such an astute study of body language and interpret forensic psychology, but still miss nuance in interpersonal relationships. Their relationship in this book was so tense and difficult it made the book less enjoyable.

That said, the crimes themselves were a real puzzle. I enjoyed the copy cat killer premise and trying to figure out who could possibly be the killer. What fell flat for me was the issue of the money that the presumed original Strangler had stashed away. I spent half the book trying to deduce how he'd gotten that money. This was the second book it which the big reveal landed flat. I was just thinking, really, huh, that's all? There's all this time spent on all these potential criminals and red herrings. When we find out who done it I'd like there to be more of fleshed out sense of why, more of the passionate energy that drove those involved. I'm hopeful for the next book, but I think I will take a little break after listening to these first 5 (really 6) back to back.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Twists and Turns

A twist in the narrative of the main characters, who have a serious falling out . This additional bump in the story
keeps the mystery edgier than usual and I enjoyed it that much more. Highly recommend it for your mystery reading pleasure.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Great book! Can't wait for the next one in the series! Love seeing this duo.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

boring

wanted to finish it because it was a good series but it was so boring! it reiterated half of what the other books said so it seemed soooo repetitive

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting and Engaging

I love these series and especially the humble connection to the great author we readers are given. As readers we are given top rate suspense and mystery writing with fun characters to identify with; then as an added treat, the author herself chats with us in a genuine and engaging manner giving us some insight into the mysterious and magical world of writing. Thank you!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Winner

I appreciated that the author went with a story line thar cause friction between the main characters. it made the back story more believable in .you opinion.
I also liked that it centered around a cold case. I am looking forward to the next one in the series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen S.
  • Karen S.
  • 04-18-21

What a fantastic storyline

Once again another book superbly written by Sally and wonderful narration by Clare .

The relationship with its high points and low points between C&W intrigues me and so now to purchase the next book

Highly recommended

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Esther
  • Esther
  • 04-08-21

A Great Listen

Book number 5 with all its twists and turns held me until the end. Whitney and George have an amazing rapport and their characters have developed so well in the books I feel I know them

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Denis Davies
  • Denis Davies
  • 09-28-20

Wow Great

Brilliant I listened to All 5 books on Audible so far , wonderful plots and great characters all brought to life by Clare Corbet ,Thoroughly enjoyable. Cant wait to listen to book 6.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andromeda's Twin
  • Andromeda's Twin
  • 08-07-20

Overall it's a good listen

This is an enjoyable listen all round but it is not, and I need to emphasise this, a great read. It's a very basic police procedural, the story starts out interesting and then fizzles out towards the end as everything comes together in far too neat a package in the last hour or so, all of this series is the same, I do keep coming back for more though so I do recommend it on that alone.

My biggest gripe with this particular story is that Whitney's old boss, a retired cop, leaves a message on his answerphone announcing to the world that he's gone on holiday and will be away from date a, to date b. Nobody in their right mind would do that (announcing to all and sundry that their house was empty which is an invitation to burglars), never mind a retired cop. That annoyed me from right there, but I still enjoyed the story because it's fun, in a perverse kind of way, the interplay between George and Whitney is fun in and of itself, I imagine that many listeners come back simply for that, it's just a shame that the author does not put a little more effort into making the stories a little more involved.