1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Winner of the Earphones Award, March 2022 - The award is given by AudioFile to truly exceptional titles that excel in narrative voice and style, characterizations, suitability to audio, and enhancement of the text.

Los Angeles, 1962.

Jimmy Dean, bit part actor befriends famed actress Marilyn Monroe. When Marilyn is found dead in her LA home, the ruling is suicide, but Jimmy thinks otherwise. As he starts digging, he comes up against those who wish to stop him from uncovering the truth.

Realizing that he's in over his head, Jimmy calls former business partner, Mississippi truck driver Elvis Presley. As Jimmy and Elvis search deeper, they uncover a potential link between Marilyn's death and the highest office in the land.

Jimmy Dean's Last Dance is an alt-history noir detective novel in the tradition of The Big Sleep and Chinatown.

©2021 Spectrum Publishing (P)2021 Spectrum Audiobooks

Critic Reviews

Winner, Earphones Award, March 2022

"I had a lot of fun with Jimmy Dean’s Last Dance. It is a thoroughly unconventional alternate history novel, and one of the very few published examples of pop culture alternate history. It is a surprising treat, and a novel that many writers in the genre could learn from." (Alexander Wallace, Sea Lion Press)

What listeners say about Jimmy Dean's Last Dance

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Jimmy Dean's Last Dance

Jimmy Dean's Last Dance an alt-history Noir Detective novelin the tradition of The Big Sleep, Chinatown and Once Upon a Time in Hollywood. Set in LA, 1962.

Jimmy Dean's Last Dance brings a uniquely striking twist on american and world history. In the mix is crime, conspiracy theories, and mystery. The imagery, historical events and character references in prose are descriptive and engaging. Keeps you intrigued from beginning to end.

A colorful cast of narrators including Johnny Heller, Neil Hellegers, Bill Lord, Joya Colucci Lord, Jo Anna Perrin, and Anneliese Rennie. The narration was fabulous. Characters persona were portrayed perfectly with the tone of the story and pace.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Super fantastic

This was a really fun listen with all the different narrators really bringing out the characters and making the story come to life

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An alternate history drama

History is a favorite and fascinating subject that I love. Alternate history is not however my normal Listen/read as I like facts too much to mix my reality with fantasy (though I do love fantasy on its own). Every now and then though, something crosses your path that you just have to try. The era of JFK, Marilyn Monroe, Elvis, Dean, etc. is a fascinating period Olof history rife with conjecture and conspiracy theories. So, I just couldn’t pass up this wild alternative romp through that period with these characters being seen in a whole new light of things had been different. The multiple narration creates that true audio drama, old time radio drama flare. The story itself quite entertaining. I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Riveting and brilliant!

When bit player Jimmy Dean takes up with Marilyn Monroe things look grand, till they don’t. When Jimmy calls on old pal and work buddy Elvis to help him get to the bottom of things, all hades breaks loose! Jimmy Dean’s Last Dance is a well written, fast paced, brilliantly narrated, alternative “what could have been” detective story centered on the death of Marilyn Monroe and features Jimmy Dean, Elvis Presley, a host of figures from history and others I wont reveal for fear of playing spoiler! This one will grab you quick, hold you fast to the edge of your seat, keep you guessing and asking yourself questions long after it’s over! I’m still asking myself questions! I loved it and I will be listening to it again!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story & Narration🎧 Intriguing & Enthralling!

This book came highly recommended, and I was told I would like it a lot, not only were they right but I will take it up a notch and say I loved everything about it, from AK Alliss’ wonderful writing style to the interesting characters and storylines he created to the perfectly cast team of narrators who brought it all to life from the pages to my ears. This is my first alt-history Noir Detective Novel and I enjoyed AK Alliss imaginative rewrite of history, not only of his use of well known historical icons bit the way he manipulates and changes the way some newsworthy and historical events occurred. Jimmy Dean, a small-time actor whose career never took off, he friended Marilyn Monroe and when she died, he refused to believe it was a suicide and he looks into it further, starting with what he thinks is her diary. But it appears he is not the only one interested in her death or there is someone who does not want him to find out the truth. He calls the one person he knows who will have his back, Elvis Presley, the two have history together and were once in trouble themselves. Elvis in this universe is a truck driver in Mississippi, he goes to meet up with Jimmy and once again the two find themselves in situations that are trouble. AK Aliss’ descriptive details and telling of this story brings you right alongside his characters, allowing you to see what they see, feel and think. It is a cleverly plotted story that thought provoking and keeps you on your toes the entire time. I highly recommend this book, it is a unique and original story that is captivating from start to end.


🎧📚🎧 And for the fabulous narration and amazing line-up of talent led by Johnny Heller, Neil Hellengers, Bill Lord, Joya Colucci Lord, Jo Anna Perrin and Anneliese Rennie join him throughout the book covering the different character roles along the way. They all had a complete understanding of the characters they were portraying, giving each a voice that suits the character’s persona perfectly, sounding believable in that role and just as I pictured them to sound. The perfect tone was set for the story and the pacing was spot on as well. These entertaining storytellers take an already great story to another level of greatness. Thank you for this exceptional audiobook, it was a pleasure to listen to.

Thank you Spectrum Audiobooks

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

History as it could have been

An interesting take on some very well known historical figures within an alternative timeline with a pinch of crime and conspiracy added

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

This one was different from my normal books but I really enjoyed it. I am looking forward to picking up a few more my this author

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for PATRICIA
  • PATRICIA
  • 12-02-21

Fun! Fun! Fun!

I love history and this time period has always interested me. The JFK-Marilyn Monroe relationship speculation and conspiracy theories around this time period make it all the more exciting. When I heard about this story, with an alternate time line, I was all in, and boy am I glad I listened. This all star cast brings us a fabulous rendition of Jimmy Dean's part that played in finding out the truth of Marilyn Monroe's death. An actor himself, when he heard the news about his friend Marilyn, he could not accept that her death was a suicide. Calling in the help of good friend, truck driver, Elvis Presley, the two are on a mission to find out the truth. Well thought out plot, exciting, mystery and twists and turns we don't see coming, Jimmy and Elvis keep us on the edge to the very end. AK Alliss has winner with this book, and I highly recommend it!

The multicast narration enhanced this story, giving us that old time radio feel. I loved the casting, lead by Johnny Heller and enjoyed each character as they came in. Neil Hellegers, Bill Lord, Joya Colucci Lord, Jo Anna Perrin, and Anneliese Rennie add flavor and intensity to this noir detective mystery. I truly enjoyed it.