Your audiobook is waiting…

In the Dark

A Novel (A DI Adam Fawley Novel, Book 2)
Narrated by: Lee Ingleby, Emma Cunniffe
Length: 11 hrs and 22 mins
4 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)
Regular price: $28.00
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A pause-resisting suspense novel about the shocking secrets revealed when a woman is discovered held captive behind a basement wall - and it turns out no one is who they appear to be.

Do you know what they're hiding in the house next door?

A woman is found locked in a basement, barely alive, unidentifiable: the woman can't speak, there are no missing persons reports that match their profile, and the confused, elderly man who owns the house claims he has never seen them before. The inhabitants of the quiet street are in shock - how could this happen right under their noses? But Detective Inspector Adam Fawley knows nothing is impossible, and no one is as innocent as they seem.

As the police grow desperate for a lead, DI Fawley stumbles across a breakthrough, a link to a case he worked years before about another young woman and child gone missing, never solved. When he realizes the missing woman's house is directly adjacent to the house in this case, he thinks he might have found the connection that could bring justice for both women. But there's something not quite right, and the truth will send shock waves through the force that Fawley never could have anticipated.

A deeply unsettling, heart-stopping novel about long-buried secrets and the monsters who hide in plain sight, In the Dark will have you double-checking your locks and racing through the story late into the night. The second gripping novel in the DI Adam Fawley series.

©2017 Cara Hunter (P)2018 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

“A tense exploration of manipulation and betrayal.... A solid psychological thriller with carefully developed characters and disturbing, cleverly masked revelations that will appeal to fans of Tana French and Sophie Hannah.” (Booklist)

“Arresting and unnerving... Hunter exposes human frailties such as social and governmental missteps and policemen’s personal mess-ups while celebrating the essential humanity of those sworn to serve and protect. Readers will eagerly await Fawley’s next outing.” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) 

“[Hunter] gradually unwind[s] a case that is much more complicated that it initially appears. This slow-­burning procedural builds with tension as the narrative moves through several cunning twists, offering fans a pleasing follow-up to the first book in the series, Close to Home.” (Library Journal)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intelligent, Suspenseful Procedural

I can't say enough how much I like Cara Hunter's DI Adam Fawley series. In the Dark is a darn good book. I love the characters- they are realistic and not cookie-cutter cops. You can tell that these people have heart when doing their jobs. I love the 'mixed media' style with emails and news stories inserted throughout. The mysteries at the center of the story kept me listening late into the night. Details brought up throughout the book all link together as the book comes to its conclusion! The narration is spot-on and realistic. I think this is an excellent book in a great series and I highly recommend.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful