Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
In the Dark  By  cover art

In the Dark

By: Cara Hunter
Narrated by: Lee Ingleby, Emma Cunniffe
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.80

Buy for $19.80

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

A pause-resisting suspense novel about the shocking secrets revealed when a woman is discovered held captive behind a basement wall - and it turns out no one is who they appear to be.

Do you know what they're hiding in the house next door?

A woman is found locked in a basement, barely alive, unidentifiable: the woman can't speak, there are no missing persons reports that match their profile, and the confused, elderly man who owns the house claims he has never seen them before. The inhabitants of the quiet street are in shock - how could this happen right under their noses? But Detective Inspector Adam Fawley knows nothing is impossible, and no one is as innocent as they seem.

As the police grow desperate for a lead, DI Fawley stumbles across a breakthrough, a link to a case he worked years before about another young woman and child gone missing, never solved. When he realizes the missing woman's house is directly adjacent to the house in this case, he thinks he might have found the connection that could bring justice for both women. But there's something not quite right, and the truth will send shock waves through the force that Fawley never could have anticipated.

A deeply unsettling, heart-stopping novel about long-buried secrets and the monsters who hide in plain sight, In the Dark will have you double-checking your locks and racing through the story late into the night. The second gripping novel in the DI Adam Fawley series.

©2017 Cara Hunter (P)2018 Penguin Audio

Critic reviews

“A tense exploration of manipulation and betrayal.... A solid psychological thriller with carefully developed characters and disturbing, cleverly masked revelations that will appeal to fans of Tana French and Sophie Hannah.” (Booklist)

“Arresting and unnerving... Hunter exposes human frailties such as social and governmental missteps and policemen’s personal mess-ups while celebrating the essential humanity of those sworn to serve and protect. Readers will eagerly await Fawley’s next outing.” (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

“[Hunter] gradually unwind[s] a case that is much more complicated that it initially appears. This slow-­burning procedural builds with tension as the narrative moves through several cunning twists, offering fans a pleasing follow-up to the first book in the series, Close to Home.” (Library Journal)